We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Ranked #40 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We travel every summer to the IPortland Dog show for thh past 5 years. We have always stayed at the Best Western and encouraged friends we travel with to stay there as well. It is a bit more expensive than the hotel next door but we have always felt it was worth it. This year we changed our mind. We checked in as usual on Wednesday evening, walked the dogs, left a nubmer at teh front desk and headed across the street for dinner. The dogs were left in the room in crates (which they are used to traveling in) and our number given to the front desk to call if any concerns or barking, we have always been able to do this and never had a call. The outside temperature was over 30 degrees celcius. We planned to spend part of Thursday at the outlet mall, and again were planning to leave the dogs in thh room giving the front desk our phone number to call if any concerns. We were then told this is not allowed any more and would have to take the dogs in the heat with us. We walked over to the Days Inn and were unable to get a room, but they assured us if we leave a number and the dogs are crated this would not be an issue (as in the past at the Best Western) over the few days we stayed there were many occasions we noted dogs barking in rooms, and left alone-not even in crates. We tried to be honest and follow the rules, and were disappointed-Next year and in the future we will book next door
Not a "pet friendly" hotel

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank tumbleweedoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPortland, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn At The Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hello Tumbleweedoes,

I am sorry that you had issues with the change in our Pet policy. We are very pet friendly and have just had to alter some of our policies due to past issues. We always love it when the dog show comes to the Expo Center. I hope that we can move forward for next year's show as we always like seeing familiar faces; both human and canine.

Thanks,
BEST WESTERN Inn at the Meadows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,229 - 1,235 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

It was my first time to stay at a Best Western and I was pleasantly surprised at the large and lovely room. The facility had a fresh look, and the service was friendly and efficient. It could use an additional elevator but was otherwise a great value. Location was convenient to Rte 5 which connected to all areas of Portland within a 15 minute drive, and close to Columbia River Gorge Historic Highway. Free breakfast was plentiful and had an automatic pancake maker that will delight children.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelliemaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPortland, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn At The Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hello nelliemaryland,

We are glad to be your choice for the first time you stayed at a Best Western! We have recently, and are still in the process, of renovating the hotel. We are really close to many attraction, as you said, we are only a 10-15 minute drive from most places in Portland, we are really glad that it worked out for you. We really hope to see you again!

Thanks,
BEST WESTERN Inn at the Meadows Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have just returned from attending the Portland Dog Show at the Expo and this hotel couldn't have been better or more convenient! My 2 queen bed room was spacious with amenities that I was surprised to see like make up remover pads. The housekeeping staff was diligent and thorough. Even though the hotel was filled to capacity our room was wonderfully quiet and we were on the first floor. Two fairly decent restaurants were within walking distance as was a host of retail stores. Breakfast was typical and the A/C was excellent! I will stay here again, absolutely.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor, at the end of the hallway, are conveniently accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank uptik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPortland, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn At The Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hello Uptik,

We are all so happy that both you and your dog had a great stay at our hotel. We always love to have pets in the hotel and like it twice a year when the place goes to the dogs. It is great to see you loved our spacious rooms. Also for the great tip on the 1st floor at the end for pet rooms. We always try to assign guest's with pets near the exit so they can easiely go outside. We hope to see you at next year's show or even before that.

Thanks,
BEST WESTERN Inn at the Meadows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Friends were staying in Portland centre and paying a lot so we opted for a BW hotel a little ways from centre and were not sorry. We obtained value for money, nice king room with microwave and fridge. Nice clean modern bathroom, and good if crowded free breakfast for much cheaper price. Easy access to Portland and much cheaper. Room did not have any kitchen utensils, dishes etc although it had full kitchen cupboards, drawers etc. a bit more light would have been nice. Room smelled fresh. Breakfast room very busy and some items ran out but fairly good selection for free.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacremedelacreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPortland, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn At The Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello lacremedelacreme,

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the compliment. Cleanliness is something that we highly value here. We are very sorry that we have no silverware in the rooms but they are always available at the front desk. We hope to see you on your next trip up.


Best Western Inn at the Meadows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

From check in to check out and everything in between this has to be the BEST we have ever stayed in. Super clean, super comfortable, super good breakfast. I think absolutely the best experience we have had.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Casey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPortland, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn At The Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hey Casey,

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the compliment. Cleanliness is something that we highly value here. We hope to see you on your next trip up.


Best Western Inn at the Meadows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Very nice motel with a good location. The check in and check out was easy with no problems. Hotel staff answered questions and were very helpful. Rooms and beds were comfortable. The breakfast selection and quality was better than most motels I have stayed at. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPortland, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn At The Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hey Charles,

Thank you for your stay with us. We always try to answer questions to our guest who are visiting from other areas. There are a lot of great things to do in Portland and we try to remain knowledgeable about them to best help our guests out. We hope to see you again.


Best Western Inn at the Meadows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

For the price this hotel is quite good value, especially as you get free parking. The rooms are large and comfortable but overlook the car park, other hotels, shops etc.

The breakfast was at best OK but served a purpose.

The biggest plus point was the location. Just of the main road so easy to find. Close to the rail system in to downtown Portland. Also, easy access to the Columbia River Gorge, which was our main reason for being there.

A few food outlets in the area - not fine dining but perfectly OK for a decent well priced meal.

We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: No great views in the immediate area so doesn't really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BILLYVILLAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPortland, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn At The Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello BILLYVILLAN,

We are so glad you had a great stay at the BEST WESTERN Inn at the Meadows. We love to hear when guests have a great stay. Thank you for letting everyone know about our great location. We feel that our location is easily accessible from downtown and the freeway and the MAX is always a great option.

Thanks,
BEST WESTERN Inn at the Meadows Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
1.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
5.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
6.3 mi away
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn At The Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn At The Meadows

Address: 1215 N Hayden Meadows Dr, Portland, OR 97217-7559
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#14 Green Hotel in Portland
#23 Family Hotel in Portland
#30 Business Hotel in Portland
#33 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £69 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn At The Meadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Inn at The Meadows is just a 10-15-minute drive from downtown Portland, and parking is free at the Hotel. It's also three blocks from a MAX Yellow Line light-rail - Delta Park stop, 8 miles from Portland International Airport, and steps from the Portland Expo Center and Portland International Raceway. A Hot Breakfast and Wifi are included with the rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Inn At The Meadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn At The Meadows Hotel Portland
Best Western Portland
Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing