We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to start the day”

Flying Elephants at Fox Tower
Ranked #239 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Drop by Flying Elephants at Fox Tower for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Enjoy our outdoor seating overlooking Director Park. Browse our great selection of sassy gift cards, candy, wine & chocolates from around the globe.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
94 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great way to start the day”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had breakfast here three times during our stay in Portland. Once we dined outside at the little table; the others took back to our hotel room. Scrambled eggs with chorizo, eggs with vegetables, fresh salsa, croque madame were standouts. Quick and fresh

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jatenne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    58
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Imitation of something that used to be good.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Yes, it was convenient because it was a stones-throw away from my hotel....but it was over-priced (because they claim organic-products), lack,.. or I should say, very little amount of protein (turkey, ham, tuna, egg) in their sandwiches (another cost-cutting technique).

This company is an imitation of Pret A Mange....which originated in London back in the 80's. Pret has infiltrated America and it has degraded as a result. It WAS great back in the 80's...but Flying Elephants is just a copy of Pret how it is today...not a good thing! In Portland, you are better off going to Safeway and purchase better ready-to-eat foods and other groceries, at a better price point. The food from Flying Ele was tasty, but not worth the price and lack of proteins in their sandwiches and salads.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeerBackwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantsDeli, Owner at Flying Elephants at Fox Tower, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear BeerBackwash,
We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our food on your recent visit, and we appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to improve on what we love doing so much. While we haven't tried Pret A Manger in our travels East and abroad, we've been making great foods from scratch here in Portland since 1979. We work hard to provide delicious foods, using quality ingredients, and everything is made daily by hand. We also invest in our employees, so our prices reflect their labor, and the wages and benefits we're proud to provide. We will continue working to make great foods, and your input is part of that process. Thank you for visiting.
Safe travels,
The Elephants Herd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Perfect Grab and Go”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a great spot to go for a grab and grow that is made with great ingredients and fresh. It is a staple of mine when I go to Portland.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for a quick lunch”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for a quick lunch. They have a huge selection of great looking sandwiches and salads. They also offer hot soups and grilled sandwiches. I had the tomato and orange soup with a grilled cheese. It was a perfect combo for a rainy Portland day. I also had the peanut butter, oatmeal and chocolate cookie. Very tasty!

Helpful?
Thank WDWRocksMySocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick and easy”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

You can be in and out of this restaurant in no time. I rated them 4 out of 5 stars just because there is somewhat of a limited menu.

Helpful?
Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying Elephants at Fox Tower also viewed

 

Been to Flying Elephants at Fox Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing