We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff and most comfortable rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portland's White House
Ranked #2 of 36 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
220 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Awesome staff and most comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Portland's White House is a super treat. Came for a romantic weekend and was very happy. Such friendly staff, superb room and the art throughout the property is simply stunning. The breakfast was fantastic and we can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    47
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
273
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We traveled w/ another couple. Arrived very tired in mid afternoon and wanted to be able to just take a break which, upon arriving, we were able to do. Beautiful home, very accommodating welcome. Our room was in the carriage house - very cozy (small), very comfortable, darling windows, we wanted for nothing - there was water, fresh cookies and chocolates! The other couple were in the main house - their only comments were they thought the bed was a bit soft - we liked that, and they had no robes in their room (an oversight) which, they would have enjoyed. There was a lovely, private (from the street) patio that we sat out on, immediately, surrounded by some beautiful plantings. Comfortable lounge chairs/chairs. We had wine and they helped us to a cooler of ice, opener, glasses and let us enjoy our respite. The breakfast was lovely, the dining room is a beautiful setting, food - delicious and the coffee was outstanding!!! We struck up a conversation with the inn keeper. The history of the home was very interesting and made the visit all the more enjoyable. I would definitely go back. I would plan more time in that neighborhood (it is residential, architecture looked intriguing) to explore and walk around and more time in the comfy room! The drive to downtown Portland was a breeze.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be fun to try. I did love the carriage house. It also depends on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otisina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

From the delicious cookies welcoming us into the well appointed, beautifully maintained historic room to the enthusiastic warm welcome from the owner, Poettland's White House is a truly special experience. We felt like we were living the life of luxury, but with the comfort of home. Lanning considers every detail when ensuring you are comfortable and happy. And he can cook! Delicious breakfast with beautiful fruit and a strong cup of coffee!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portlandswhitehouse, Owner at Portland's White House, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks Julie.... so great to hear you like us!!!! We LOVE YA! Hurry back, I want to try some new breakfast dishes for you!
Lanning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We only had a single night stay but the welcome and service were second to none. The room was very clean and plush and the original historic features added charm. The chocolates, cookies and wine an excellent touch. Our room was upgraded as a courtesy. The bed was extremely comfortable and the amenities included in-room climate control, tv and wi-fi.
Only one word describes the breakfast - WOW! dutch babies with lashings of fresh fruit, cream and really good bacon. Very well prepared and plated. We would thoroughly recommend the White House to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the house and the carriage house are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P-and-N62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portlandswhitehouse, General Manager at Portland's White House, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Wow.... and THANK YOU!!! We love hearing back from our guests here at Portland's White House Inn. I am so happy you liked us... and only a few miles away! It was great having you stay with us and we look forward to your next stay! Big hugs, Myra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Third stop on our 6 day Washington --> Oregon extravaganza trip. It was: totally great.

Got a call the day of our stay telling us that they were going to upgrade us to a nicer room. OMG thanks! But really, that was super nice.

The whole place was gorgeous. We stayed in a treehouse in Washington the night before (I know, right!? It was awesome), so this was pretty different. This place, literally, is a giant White House. It was filled to the brim with all sorts of neat stuff. Apparently, the vases in the front entrance are from the 1600's, take that for cool!

Every morning there is a different and delicious breakfast served on China. So fun. We ate at lots of yummy restaurants on our trip (pok pok, andina, food trucks, etc) and our meals at the White House measured right up, which is a lot to say for a B&B. First day was a veggie filled omelet (I'm talking like brussel sprouts, mushrooms, onions, and cheesy goodness), potatoes, and fruit. Second day was bread pudding French toast yumminess with homemade whipped cream and fruit heaped on.

Free parking. Cookies, chocolate, and water in room. Friendly staff. Awesome other guests (shout out to the couple from Munich who gave us lots of awesome travel tips!).

Stay there. It rocks.

Room Tip: Rose room was the bomb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matanitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portlandswhitehouse, General Manager at Portland's White House, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank You!!!! We so appreciate you taking the time to write such an amazing review... The Vases are so cool here at Portland's White House.... where else can you hang out with1600-1700 circa 5 foot vases? You made each and everyone of us here at the inn feel so special! Come back...We love you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hermiston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We were disappointed. We had stayed there several years ago and loved it but this time, it was so so. The amount of vases/statues/nic naks was overwhelming. It was very clean on the surface but as we were laying in bed could see the floor under the dressers had not been vacuumed and the rugs in the bathroom needed cleaned badly. Also, parking is an issue. We were told several times to park on the right side of the street. There is no off street parking and not much in front of the home. I hate to give a bad review but I also rely on truthful reviews when I am looking for a place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hermiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portlandswhitehouse, General Manager at Portland's White House, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review of Portland's White House Inn. We have the Persian rugs cleaned regularly... 2-3 times a month and weekly during the summer months. With several back up clean rugs we change out during the week. We have completed our spring cleaning and the house looks absolutely fabulous even under the Armoire (thank you for that insight) . Flowers are in bloom everywhere with lots of outdoor spaces to enjoy while we have had some wonderful sunny days. We hope you will give us another chance? We like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashlandgirl8
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Was in Portland for one night.
The White House was so amazingly welcoming and friendly. The house is gorgeous and has a very nice patio, which my friend and I enjoyed glasses of wine and the sunshine.

We stayed in the Chauffeurs quarters. The room was beyond amazing. When we arrived we were greeted with cookies, chocolate and a lovely bottle of Champagne. Music was softly playing, which I thought to be a very nice touch. The bathroom was very simple and the shower was one of the best I've ever experienced. This particular room has a nice one person jetted tub, I was not able to experience the tub; however, the shower had two heads, I had to force my self out of the shower because it was just so relaxing.

The next amazing thing about this room, and i'm guessing the others as well, was the amazing king size bed. It has to be one of the most comfortable beds I've EVER slept in. My friend and I were joking around that we wanted to take the bed with us, or never leave. We also agreed that had we not gone out for the evening, staying in the bed and watching movies would have been just as or more fabulous of a night. One note,there is a stair case to a room above, I was a little worried about noise, but to my happy surprise I heard nothing.

The morning greeted us with a delicious breakfast, which we almost missed due to the bed's comfort. We were served coffee and a choice of juice, the meal was a great bread pudding french toast topped with fruit and served with a side of bacon (always a plus!). It was a very filling breakfast and a great way to start the day.

The last thing is the staff. Myra and Lanning are so welcoming and friendly, Very helpful and willing to help even with the smallest requests.

There are some great little restaurants in the neighborhood, Found a great little sandwich place just about eight blocks away called Petisco, amazing happy hour.

Overall, I highly recommend staying at the White House. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Inn at Northrup Station
#6 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland's White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland's White House

Property: Portland's White House
Address: 1914 NE 22nd Ave, Portland, OR 97212-4705
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the image of the White House and opulently furnished by Chef/Owner/Collector, Lanning Blanks. Every room is uniquely different and beautifully appointed. Come enjoy our fresh baked cookies... Chocolates and full amazing breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portland`s White House Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing