We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored old mansion with fine host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portland's White House
Ranked #2 of 35 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored old mansion with fine host”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

We were very pleased with our one night stay in Portland's White House, which was built around 1912 by a shake shingle magnate to look like the White House.

The current owner, who has run the place for the last 20 years, has painstakingly restored the house and furniture and even serves a fine breakfast on Meissen porcelain. Our bed was a comfortable and very stately, high four poster. The neighbourhood is filled with fine old houses and the White House is only a stone's throw from various restaurants on Broadway.

The only downside to the antique focused approach is that the mechanics of the house, notably the air conditioning and bathroom facilities, are somewhat dated. The air system in our room made various creaking and wheezing sounds that were a bit distracting at night and the floor tile in the bathroom showed its age, but these are minor quibbles. We will certainly return on our next trip to Portland.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank selmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    47
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
276
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This very grand looking house, designed by its original owner to resemble to White House is located in a quiet, leafy residential neighborhood, across the river and some distance from downtown Portland. There's not a whole lot around, but it's only a short walk to a bus route with frequent service into downtown, the Pearl District etc. The first floor of the main house, including the dining room and sitting rooms for use by guests resemble a museum with many pieces having been collected over the years by the current owner. The house has two very secluded courtyards and in a very nice touch, a fresh bottle of "bubbly" was placed on ice in our room each day together with some fresh cookies all to be enjoyed in the courtyard

Room Tip: We had a good sized room (although a small bathroom) on the first floor in what must have originally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdsaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I traveled to Portland Oregon from South Carolina to see the Columbia River Gorge, Mount Hood, and the Oregon Coast. The highlight of our trip was the two nights we spent at Portland's White House Bed & Breakfast. Lanning Blanks and his staff went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one. The Inn is on the National Historic Register and you can spend hours just admiring the antiques and fine art. The. Breakfast we were served rivaled and in my estimation surpassed five star establishments we have visited. Make sure you book early and stay at Portland's White House, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carolina ROOM which was part of the guest house. Each room we saw looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This place is situated in a gorgeous neighborhood within easy walking distance of some good restaurants. The building and furnishings are beautiful and interesting. Our room, the Balcony room, was comfortable and clean with nice touches. Loved the shower and toiletries. Exceptional breakfasts, attentive staff, friendly guests. I will go out of my way to stay here again, and so should you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonden-in-Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline,
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple of days in late July and loved it - the White House is located in a cute neighborhood on the east side of Portland (Downtown was very accessible via short cab ride). We loved the breakfasts and enjoyed getting to know the other guests. Lanning was a great host and helped us choose some great restaurants for dinner. Favorite part was that he got us a reservation last minute for our "honeymoon" -- it wasn't our honeymoon but we loved the place, the free appetizer we received, and funny story we got to share at the next morning's breakfast! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We just hosted our family and bridesmaids at the White House for our wedding weekend. Lanning, Myra, and the staff were so accommodating, gracious and helpful. All of us felt at home as we took over the house as our "home base" for a wedding at the Maysara Winery. Lanning hosted a beautiful Welcome Reception for us - where the food was beyond what we had anticipated. What a fun way to launch the weekend. The bridesmaids enjoyed a Bridal Brunch on the patio the morning of the wedding and we loved gathering around the table each morning for an amazing breakfast (NOT your typical B&B spread - more like an elegant 5* restaurant each morning) The Bridal photos at the White House looked like something out of a high end fashion/location magazine. They were truly breathtaking. Our stay was much more than accommodations. Our stay at the White House became a very special part of our memories of this Wedding Weekend. Thank you Lanning, Myra and Staff. You are the best!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DTohline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The house is beautifully done. The proprietor is very friendly and the staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was large, delicious, and served quickly. Our only complaint would be the room size, which was very small. If you aren't planning on spending much time in your room this wouldn't be a problem. Even though the room was small our bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trafficnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,699 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 142 in Portland
1,046 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 142 in Portland
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland's White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland's White House

Property: Portland's White House
Address: 1914 NE 22nd Ave, Portland, OR 97212-4705
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the image of the White House and opulently furnished by Chef/Owner/Collector, Lanning Blanks. Every room is uniquely different and beautifully appointed. Come enjoy our fresh baked cookies... Chocolates and full amazing breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portland`s White House Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing