We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great neighborhood restaurant”
Review of Sanborn's

Sanborn's
Ranked #393 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

really friendly and helpful service. good breakfast. the german pancakes (our was Bing Cherry) was GREAT. build an omelet, build a breakfast burrito. good corned beef hash (but not the best ever). but the german pancakes were GREAT (worth repeating).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bseidca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice breakfast/brunch menu”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

During our short stay in the Brooklyn area, we ate there twice, so the place can't be all bad. The food is above average and it's nice to have a breakfast menu available until early afternoon. It can get very busy during the week-end and the dining room management is somewhat strange. They seem more concerned with maximizing the use of tables rather than seating customers as they come in. The second time we ate there we were ushered upstairs to one of three very cramped tables next to the loud kitchen/drink preparation area although they were tables available in the main dining area (much nicer). We eventually asked to be moved downstairs and did so quickly. There is an art to making guests feel welcome and Sanborn's needs to work on this no matter how good their food is. Go when the place is not too crowded and skip the upstairs tables.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Great food (local/sustainable) and great atmosphere. Had the biscuits and gravy which was outstanding!! Was recommended by a friend in Portland and it's a can't miss if you like having breakfast!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve6179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good find!”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We just stumbled onto this place. And we're glad we did! The waiter was very kind and helpful. The good was really good. My sister got the blue pear pancake which is a German pancake baked with blue cheese and pears. She loved it. The value was great too. Happy as clams about this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MollyLeadbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
174 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Our Breakfast Go-To Place”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Consistently good breakfast fare emphasizing seasonal fruit-based pancake specials such as Mango German Pancakes, Apple Dutch Baby , Eggs Benedict, two styles of bacon (peppered or smoked), house made sauces and jams, etc. The wait staff is always friendly and coffee "conscious". Though weekends can be very busy, we never felt hurried. This restaurant consistently delivers good food and service at a fair price in a family-friendly, neighborhood environment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elgreco251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanborn's also viewed

 

Been to Sanborn's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing