We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite bakery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helen Bernhard Bakery

Helen Bernhard Bakery
Ranked #11 of 80 Bakeries in Portland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Our favorite bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We always stop for a treat after we go to our favorite breakfast place, the Cadillac Cafe!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MynBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Longevity a good indicator of quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Memorable cakes, breads, and specialty sweets are available at this neighborhood bakery. It has been pleasing families for over 50 years. Frostings are tasty without being bland, and fillings are ! Discounts on Sunday for day-old items. Weddings a specialty

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JanieandWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This must be what Heaven is like...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Had lunch at The Broadway Grill & Brewery and notice this little bakery across the street so we figured, why not. Boy are we glad we did, you walk in the door and it smeels like Heaven! The sights & smells of the baked goodies & cakes loft you into a dream of sugar plum fairies. We decided on something small, even though I really wanted the tray of pecan rolls. The employees are friendly & helpful, prices are very reasonable for a small shop and the taste, oh the taste was delicious to the very last crumb... A MUST visit when in Portland. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dkbeachlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

This bakery is the best one I've found yet. The treats are all so very good. I've recommended this place to lots of people.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jsta1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reliable cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

Reliable cake

Helpful?
Thank Jameslaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Helen Bernhard Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Helen Bernhard Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing