We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Bakery in Portland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helen Bernhard Bakery

Helen Bernhard Bakery
Ranked #9 of 80 Bakeries in Portland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite Bakery in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I 've been a fan of this bakery for over 30 years. The cakes just melt in your mouth. The donuts are wonderful, not too sugary, just right. I buy the commuter boxes to take to work. Once everyone sees that they are from Helen Bernhard's, they are gone in less than 20 minutes. I like that they have half-price Sundays for their day-old goods. Really, the day old goods do not taste day old at all! All in all the best bakery in Portland.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Coastie_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I love their thumbprint cookies, the jelly filled glazed doughnuts, the wedding cookies, well everything I've eaten. The ladies are very friendly and welcoming, and they know how to satisfy asweet tooth. A great place to get your fix. I do it often.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donald J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great local bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Have stopped in before to get a treat & decided to order cakes from them for a big party. Lots of options for cake & frosting flavors & decorations, crazy good prices ($30 each for 2 layer decorated 9" cake). On time for pickup, moist tasty cake, lovely frostings (recommend chocolate ganache dropped over bored frosting), light fluffy not-too-sweet frosting. There's a reason this place is always so crowded!

Helpful?
Thank Sympetrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
202 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT BAKED GOODS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We love this bakery. Their goodies are so desirable that many times they are sold out. So go early, or order ahead to insure you will enjoy your own favorite treats.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bdsbjmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best cakes and desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

If you need a cake for a special occasion, or even some cupcakes, maybe a donut for yourself or a loaf of bread -- this is the place to come!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank greeneyes08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helen Bernhard Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Helen Bernhard Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing