We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Dump!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North
Ranked #89 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My family and I just spent $450 dollars for a 3 night stay at this hotel. I have been a Marriott rewards member for 13 years.

This hotel was filthy and neglected. The elevator had various stains on the carpet, and peeling veneer on the wall trim. The hallway on the 3rd floor was very soiled with various food stains. The lower half of the walls on the 3rd floor had many gouges revealing peeled wallpaper and sheetrock.

My room had wallpaper peeling next to the TV, and a stain on the couch.

The dining room where breakfast is served had threadbare chairs that were peeling as well.

When I brought these conditions up to the staff I received an apathetic response. Tabitha in particular informed me that the carpets are proffesionaly cleaned every 3 months. Additionally, she informed me that the property was a whopping 6 years old, and wear and tear are to be expected.

There is no attention to detail at this property.


  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feetofclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. We wanted to explore the city but not spend a mint on hotels. Price was good. Hotel was clean. Very close to hwy, there was some noise but had no trouble sleeping and we were on the side right next to the hwy. Front staff very helpful in helping explain transit.
Unfortunately power went out early morning. ( not hotels fault) so we had the extra cost of driving to where there was power and eating out instead of having breakfast at the hotel as planned.

After spending day touring city excited to go sit in pool when we got back to the hotel. Found out the pool was now out of service after the outage. They said we could use the other hotels but didn't want to get changed go outside across parking lots in bathing suits and then traipse back. One of our party had slight mobility issues as well and we all decided not to go to the other hotel. It was a disappointment.
They said they would be taking 10% of the bill of the first night.

Breakfast the next day was good. Had the usual hotel breakfast but also eggs and sausage parties.

It was hard to find the entrance of the hotel. They should have better signage.
Location was great - walk to the yellow line not even 10 min away.
Or they can shuttle you if available.
I felt bad for the staff having to deal with all the people about the outage, we were lucky there was some things working as there was a generator at ours. ( 2 hotels behind us didn't )
They were very professional and helpful and had a smile on even though you knew they were having a rough morning.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daypassdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This Fairfield Inn is set in a complex of other Marriott properties (both a Residence Inn and a Courtyard are right there). There's little to complain about. The inn was clean, in good repair and the staff were friendly and helpful. The price was reasonable and, while breakfast had no real surprises, it was complete with yogurt, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs and sausage patties in hot trays, make-your-own waffles with both maple and strawberry syrup, cereals, bagels, cream cheese, a variety of breads for toast, danish rolls, coffee, orange juice, apple juice, etc.

An unusual extra touch was a white noise generator on the nightstand next to the bed that could be set to recreate the sounds of a rainforest, surf at the beach, rainfall and a number of other options intended to be relaxing. It wasn't needed as the location was quiet (at least my room was) but still, a nice touch. There was a note on it offering them for sale at the front desk.

Wi Fi was available and easy to access (no need to call the front desk for help as I've experienced in other places).

Access isn't exactly straightforward since it's located on a side street off the junction of the 99E and I-5 and the ease of getting off those major highways and onto the right side street is more or less difficult depending on the direction you're coming from.

There isn't a lot in the way of restaurants within walking distance, though there are a few. Plan on driving for meals if you want much choice.

All in all, while not a standout, very pleasant and I'd return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrayBeard001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Good things about this hotel are price and location. It is a good value for the money, but nothing special. It is close to the airport and not too far from the downtown. Price was very good compared to the downtown hotels. The breakfast is great (fresh fruit, yogurt, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, bagels,...), plenty to choose from. The bad things are that this hotel is located right next to the highway, and the noise is noticeable. They do provide you with the noise canceling device (it provides different sounds that I think are more annoying then the traffic itself). We ended up turning the fan "ON" at all times, and that helped. The room is very simple, but it was clean. They do not provide lotion.

Room Tip: Third floor away from the highway! Ask for the end of the hallway room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamasanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Spartan (in the literal sense) - not a lot of frills, but clean and serviceable. Hard to find - limited signage, tucked back past several "Dead End" street signs adjacent to two other Marriott-branded budget properties. Along a highway and near the airport, but I didn't find the noise objectionable (and I'm normally sensitive to it).

Helped by being new - still feels fresh. I wouldn't have minded a more comfortable desk chair - they went as cheaply as they could there. Wifi decent - not as bad as in most similar hotels, but not strong. Breakfast typical of this kind of hotel. Fitness center is small and crowded, but they make it easy to go to one of the adjacent sister hotels and use those. Friendly staff knowledgeable about Portland, lots of suggestions about things to do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talisker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had great weather in Portland and the staff of the hotel made it even more enjoyable. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the breakfast is a great way to start your day. We'll be back to Fairfield Inn North Harbour on our next stay in Portland

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucky-we-live-Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Very enjoyable stay (family gathering for high school graduation) in clean (nicely made up daily), refurbished King suite - Gold Member upgrade at check-in for 2 rooms. 2nd & 3rd floor units well-appointed (micro/refer) + spacious bath w/ requested ADA accessible shower. PRO's: great price - 2 nights cash (no sales tax in OR!) + Marriott's 4 nights (10k pts/nite with 5th night free; all staff members day/night well trained, very accomodating & pleasant; excellent hot breakfasts (M-F: 6:30-9:30am; S/S 7-10) included: convenient exercise room & indoor pool (not used); great freeway location/access into Portland. CON's: our king bed softer than firm preferred; older construction w/ thin walls and occaisional overhead rug rats plus freeway noise, tho white noise machine included without asking. Enjoy Portland!

Room Tip: At reservation request non-freeway side, corner room to improve odds for quiet night/s sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UPRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North
Residence Inn Portland North
#80 of 146 in Portland
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland North
Courtyard Portland North
#64 of 146 in Portland
49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Jantzen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland Airport
6.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North

Address: 1200 N Anchor Way, Portland, OR 97217-7579
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £75 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Portland North Harbour
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour Hotel Portland
Fairfield Inn Portland
Portland Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing