We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but terrible road noise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North
Ranked #88 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here because had an event at the Portland Expo, which was a short walk away on the bike bath and we didn't have to worry about parking. I had read the reviews on the road noise and had requested a room facing the parking lot, but didn't get one. Our room faced the road and boy, was it noisy! Like everyone says, get an odd number room facing the parking lot away from the road. The white noise machine in the room did help drown out the road noise, so we kept that on all night. The hotel itself is very clean, bright and comfortable and the big desk and extra outlet plugs in the room was nice! Breakfast was really good; scrambled eggs, waffle machine, toast, bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt, fruit, and biscuits and gravy (the first morning), and sausage (the second morning). Staff was professional, but not very friendly. I would stay here again if we were guaranteed a quieter room, and if we had an event nearby, otherwise would probably stay closer to downtown. Pizza Mia and Subway was within walking distance of the hotel. Definitely go to Pizza Mia (great pizza and really friendly staff).

Room Tip: Ask for an odd number room, as these rooms don't face the road and should be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yurikaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFISGenManager, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and HoMEDics Soundspa. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you next time your visit Portland. We make every effort to honor guest requests for room selection as well. Thank you again.

Best Wishes,

Karilyn T.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean. The breakfast is decent for bieng free with a selection of continental fair and eggs and sausages along with the waffle maker.

The rooms facing the street are horribly loud. The constant drone of engine brakes and motorcycles accelerating at all hour of the night was unbearable. The friendly staff relocated us to the other side and it was phenomenally quiet in comparison.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Bozilla Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFISGenManager, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are glad we were able to accommodate your requests.

Best wishes for happy & safe travel,
Karilyn Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Delightfully comfortable beds, excellent breakfast, fairly clean. Two desk clerks were courteous and friendly; the one who checked us in was bored and almost asleep at the wheel.

Hotel sits in a cluster of Marriott hotels and apartments on a dead end street north of airport. Our modest room had a commanding view of the freeway but noise wasn’t a problem (they have a sound machine). Really missed having a mini-fridge and other small amenities such as a shower cap and make-up remover would have been nice. Shower and bathroom floor tile could use a good scrubbing. Volume on TV didn’t work well but maybe that was intentional. Coffee in the room was abysmal.

No decent restaurants within walking distance and neither the guest guide nor their website reveals any food options so do your research first.

On the plus side: there is a path down to the river, the décor was okay, pretty exterior flowers, easy access to I-5 and FREE guest parking.

We would not stay again, however, because of its strange location and complete lack of charm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madcapmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFISGenManager, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us in Portland. We are delighted you were able to appreciate and enjoy the breakfast and landscaping. We appreciate any opportunity to improve our service and amenities. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The place is relatively clean and accommodating, but very cheaply constructed. Sorry the builder/owners thought we wouldn't notice. Yes, you can hear street noise, but I can sleep through anything so I was unphased. The iron wouldn't work and the thermostat and the wall unit didn't agree. It was hard to get the room to a decent temperature. The a/c-heater unit was also very loud every time it kicked in. Cheap, cheap, cheap!
Overall, this budged Marriott property is well under par for the chain even though it is new.
I've stayed at all three Marriott properties on these grounds and for some reason they all use towels that feel like sand paper. Unless you're trying to slough off a patch of eczema, BRING YOUR OWN TOWELS. Completely ridiculous, but seriously... the towels are brutal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluestang65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFISGenManager, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Portland. I apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We appreciate the opportunity to resolve any issues when they arise during a guest's stay. Thank you for the opportunity to address these issues for future guest stays.

Best wishes for happy & safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked this hotel thinking it was close to downtown. bang wrong again, not only was it 30 mins from downtown on a good day, but if you get a room facing the hyway, you can forget about sleeping. the staff was nice, but what good is a nice staff if you do not sleep. plenty of free parking, and breakfast was passible,nothing great, standard fairfield food.would I ever stay here again, doubtful, unless I want to party all night

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank srimanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFISGenManager, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. Our apologies that our location wasn't more suitable to your travel needs. Our close proximity to I-5 usually provides easy access to downtown Portland in 15 minutes or less when not during heavy traffic times, I apologize this was not the case during your stay. I am pleased to hear that the things within our control (staff service and amenities) were satisfactory, though we will continue to strive towards exceeding expectations on these areas within our influence.
Best wishes for safe travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Guest service staff at this hotel are extremely friendly and accommodating, Kaitlyn in particular. The rooms are clean and are equipped with your standard hotel room features; desk, flat screen tv, free WiFi(slow) coffee maker, blow dryer and iron. Rooms facing the highway are guaranteed for no sleep. The complimentary breakfast is amazing, with food choices from scrambled eggs and sausage, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, to "make your own waffles". The hotel is equipped with a small, indoor swimming pool and hot tub. It also has a gym and a few arcade games if your traveling with youngsters who are looking for something to do, while on the premises.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, be sure to ask for an odd numbered room. Even numbered rooms face the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is not up to Marriott standards. It is noisy, particularly if you are in an even numbered room facing the freeway. Odd numbered rooms face the parking lot and seem to be quieter. The breakfast was fine. The biggest issue we had in 2 rooms was horrible WiFi. If you are lucky enough to connect, the signal is so weak or you automatically disconnect. After 5 complaints in 2 days, they couldn't make it any better. If WiFi doesn't matter to you, this hotel is fine.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFISGenManager, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Guest satisfaction is important to us, as well as providing a room and amenities that meet your needs when you travel. Our sincerest apologies that you were unhappy with the solutions we offered. As discussed with you at checkout, our internet provider was contacted each time the staff was notified about an issue and checked our equipment to ensure it was functioning properly. The provider provided a possible solution to try on the device which was relayed to you as well. We will continue to discuss the issues you experienced with our service provider in an attempt to prevent this from happening in the future.

Best wishes for happy & safe travel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North
Residence Inn Portland North
#80 of 144 in Portland
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland North
Courtyard Portland North
#65 of 144 in Portland
42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Portlander Inn
Portlander Inn
#96 of 144 in Portland
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Jantzen Beach
0.5 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North

Address: 1200 N Anchor Way, Portland, OR 97217-7579
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £81 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Portland North Harbour
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour Hotel Portland
Fairfield Inn Portland
Portland Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing