We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant little hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Brilliant little hostel”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hostel really was very nice. There is a feeling as though you are staying in a guesthouse. The building is very nice and cosy and has lots of places to sit and relax, including an outdoor terrace. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious and have nice big lockers for everyone. I found the place to be very clean, especially the bathrooms. They have free wifi and internet access for a small fee. There is also a phone which can be used for incoming calls or making free local/1-800 calls too. For longer distance calls the reception sells good value phone cards. If you have a phone card which allows you to dial a toll free number then this could be used here too. As long as it's a free call, they didn't mind! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They helped me when I had a bit of an emergency during my stay. The hostel has a lot to offer in terms of local activities, such as pub crawls and walks (I recommend the walk to the Pittock Mansion which leaves on Wednesday Mornings). All in all this is a great value place to stay in Portland and a really nice hostel too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish_LON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    87
    31
    11
    2
See reviews for
14
47
104
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was travelling by my self from vancouver, and i stopped here enroute to 101 . the location is convenient, located in the NW district . You can easily walk down to 21st street for the local food or walk down to the pearl district or down town. The front desk has an amazing bunch of people available 24*7 ( which worked for me since i didnt know what time i would check in ) They guided me to some of their favourite places around town too. The rooms were spacious and clean, although the dorm did have 8 beds sharing a bathroom which could get problematic in the mornings . And for those travelling in their car, they have spots available but at first come first serve, The first time around i got a spot but on my way back i had to look for street parking . But i would definitely recommend this to anyone. .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sehaj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Nice little hostel in an old building which is nice, although you can tell the place is getting on years with a couple of creaky floorboards. Good value overall and decently located near some good breweries. They also have free walking tours and other activities which are great for discovering Portland and meeting some fellow travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember112420141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hostel is in a beautiful old house....that has been divided into dorm rooms.

From the outside the hostel in stunning and when you walk through the kitchen, dorms, bathrooms....it has real homely feel to it and has kept its originality and style....which is different from most hostels I have stayed at.

The place is clean, plenty of space to relax and its in a great neighbourhood - close to public transport, shops and ideal for exploring.

The beds are a little uneasy.....I found even the littlest movement made so much noise and they didn't seem to sturdy....but hey I got some sleep so I cant complain.

One thing I did get from this hostel is that the people staying and some of the staff are not the friendliest.....it seemed like no-one wanted to mix and communicate and just kept themselves to themselves, which is fine but isn't what hosteling is about. Some of the staff I didn't even see crack a smile...but hey each to their own

All in all a good hostel, clean and perfect location

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenbolfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

For the solo female traveller looking for a private room I absolutely recommend this hostel. I stayed 6 nights (an extra one because I didn't want to leave it or Portland). I stayed in three different private rooms (I didn't know how long I'd be staying). Each was spacious, large double bed, high ceilings with a view of the street trees. The rooms, kitchen and bathrooms were kept to a high standard of cleanliness. There was a good atmosphere in the hostel - ie. mixture of ages with staff and travelers being respectful of each other. I found the staff very helpful. The hostel is located in the trendy alphabet district. It is only a 7 mins walk the the Pearl district and a bit longer to get to downtown. While staying in a private room is not cheap. It was worth it for me. No hesitation recommending these rooms.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank thosedancingdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I guess for the price you can't expect much. Paid about $60 for a private room but it didn't really do much good. The walls are paper thin and there are unsealed door connections between rooms so I could hear every snore, sneeze, and sound from all the rooms around me.

The staff were nice and the breakfast was ok, but I wouldn't spend any money on the private rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed for two nights with my wife in a private room. The room we got was great, very large and had a couch and table. Pretty good at $80 given the location. We were on the second floor and there were two full bathrooms and a separate toilet, plenty available and we never had to wait for a shower or to use the toilet.
Staff were friendly and helpful with suggestions for dinner. They actually seemed like they were interested and happy to be there unlike other hostels we have been at.
Location is excellent quiet area in the NW district of Portland. Close to some good pubs, Fred Meyer supermarket (the best I've ever been to) and MAX station near Jeld-Wen field.
We were very happy here and would definitely stay again if ever back in Portland.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme_Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,483 reviews
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#49 of 142 in Portland
724 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Northrup Station
#9 of 142 in Portland
1,066 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel

Property: Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel
Address: 425 NW 18th Ave, Portland, OR 97209-2217
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private rooms and dorms, common kitchen, outdoor courtyard and gardens. Central location in NW Portland near the Pearl. Portland's best bargain! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing