We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #102 of 139 Hotels in Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

The bed was so soft that it gave me a backache. The room had stale air. The Internet is not "free" if you need to watch an ad every time you log on, especially if it keeps hanging every time you try to watch the ad.

The underground garage did not feel safe, with people rifling through the garbage repeatedly and a likely drug dealer taking off when we entered the lot one afternoon.

I was not happy with my stay at all.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    71
    88
    36
    44
See reviews for
54
69
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

It is to the Portland Quality inn..the bed was saggy and bumpy. The swimming pool was like revenge for never cleaning my gold fish bowl when I was a kid..it was alge coloured and smelled off. The free wifi was a manor of speaking. It was only free after you are forced to watch an advertising video..that is not free..but the insulting thing is that the wifi is so slow that the ad would hang so you could not get on. If you do get on it will kick you off every few minutes..and it is also extremely slow.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portland hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I noted a wide range of reviews before I booked in here (alone, for context) so I was somewhat nervous, but my room smelled absolutely fine, it was extremely roomy, the bathroom was brand new and clean, I had a microwave and kettle available to use and a flatscreen television fully equipped with lots of channels. It was fairly well located, just a brief walk across the river on the bridge or a bus ride to the city centre. I stayed here two nights and had to leave at 2am to get to the airport for my next flight, so the concierge booked my cab for me, which I appreciated. I had a really nice experience here!

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LizieJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We liked the comfortable beds, some of the best we have found in a budget hotel. Our room on the second floor smelled just fine and was clean. The breakfast buffet had a nice selection. We were able to find parking each time we came back to our room. Movie theater and mall very close by and Red Robin right across the street. No problems with management or check in. The walls are thin though and other guests can be quite noisy. Turn on the fan to drown out the noise and you will be fine. You are downtown so there are a lot of homeless people, quite common in Portland. No one troubled us though. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Our room had a funky smell. Room was just the standard kind of room you'd expect. Big enough, comfortable enough.. Just stinky!!! I don't know how safe the area is (doesn't seem safe) and their parking lot doesn't feel all that safe/secure. We never had a problem but were nervous leaving our car parked overnight. Pretty close to the city though so that was good. Breakfast was pretty non eventful, nothing to write home about.. Front desk staff were nice enough, even if they were just a couple of 20 something year olds. Probably wouldn't recommend this hotel or stay here again, just because I'm sure there are nicer places. And again, the funky smell!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaoh11596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mooresville, nc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

i am a travel agent. i got a call from the mgr that one of my clients cc was declined. the client was flying there that day and supposed to check in that night. i left a mess for him and told the mgr that he would call in a new cc. the mgr wanted my clients flight schedule. when i told him i couldnt give that out -he told me the reservation is cancelled and hung up on me. i called back to get a cancellation number and he was so rude and told me that "He didnt need our business". I would NEVER give my money to someone like this! I will NOT book any of my clients there. I would not trust this manager not to try to charge my cc for things that i didnt do.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlinround1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager431, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
We have a 24 hour cancellation policy. We require a valid credit card to guarantee the room. In the morning of your client's arrival date, we tried to authorized the card to make sure the creidt card is valid. The credit card declined. This is done so that we do not get left with a non-guaranteed room at the end of the day if your client does not show up. You failed to provide, as a travel agent, any information regarding your client in the reservation itself, so we had to call you to get the information so we can inform your client that his reservation was non-guaranteed and therefore will be canceled. I apologize if i came across as rude to you, that was not our intention. Our intention was to inform you that because there was no valid credit card, reservation cannot be honored as we were completely booked and there were other customers that were willing to purchase the room. In the future, please make sure when making a reservation, in order to get a guaranteed reservation for your client, you provide us with a valid credit card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

This location is very good. I though would be to far from Downtown but it is a nice area and close to everything. They accept pets which is a big plus.
The Hotel itself was OK but I feel bad spending over $100 to a "OK" place (hotels are sooooooooooooo expensive). The entire hotel smells like mold, my room, that suppose to be a non smoking room , felt like an ashtray. It was so bad we had to use loads of Febreeze.
The bed was really comfortable and clean and staff was nice but they could not really solve the issue we have with the smelly room.
Plus our room 114 was close to the main entrance so it was a little noisy as every time someone arrives we would hear them, annoying when it is late and you want to sleep.
It was a long weekend and the place was really busy, so busy that we could not find a place to park!( And one of the main reasons we chose this hotel it was the parking facility).
Again staff was nice but they did not solve the problem, we ended up parking in the handicapped parking.

I saw the reviews about the breakfast but the place was packed and there was a big line in such an snall area so we decided to just skip the breakfast.

The wi-fi works ok but I absolutely hate when you have to keep login over and over again. If you did not use your PC for 10 minutes ut would ask for the password and takes few minutes to start over.

Overall was ok, but the smell of the place really made this hotel lose a lot of points.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBraga_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#72 of 139 in Portland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Property: Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Address: 431 Northeast Multnomah, Portland, OR 97232-2010 (Formerly La Quinta)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Portland Hotel Portland
Portland La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing