We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome location, friendly staff, great breakfast and value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #102 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Clarkston, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome location, friendly staff, great breakfast and value!”
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

This Hotel was one of the cheapest for the area-so I was pretty nervous about it. It's nothing fancy and lavish, but the room was clean, the staff were awesome and the bed was soft. It's a five minute walk to the RoseGarden Event Center. Two minute walk to Starbucks, and thirty seconds from Red Robin(yum) the free breakfast had waffles, donuts, fresh fruit, juice-and much more! It was well stocked. The pool was average, but indoors so it's always open. I felt like my car was safe. I'd stay here again before paying twice as much for one of the other Hotels close by.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Courtney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    71
    88
    36
    44
See reviews for
54
69
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

The bed was so soft that it gave me a backache. The room had stale air. The Internet is not "free" if you need to watch an ad every time you log on, especially if it keeps hanging every time you try to watch the ad.

The underground garage did not feel safe, with people rifling through the garbage repeatedly and a likely drug dealer taking off when we entered the lot one afternoon.

I was not happy with my stay at all.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portland hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

It is to the Portland Quality inn..the bed was saggy and bumpy. The swimming pool was like revenge for never cleaning my gold fish bowl when I was a kid..it was alge coloured and smelled off. The free wifi was a manor of speaking. It was only free after you are forced to watch an advertising video..that is not free..but the insulting thing is that the wifi is so slow that the ad would hang so you could not get on. If you do get on it will kick you off every few minutes..and it is also extremely slow.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I noted a wide range of reviews before I booked in here (alone, for context) so I was somewhat nervous, but my room smelled absolutely fine, it was extremely roomy, the bathroom was brand new and clean, I had a microwave and kettle available to use and a flatscreen television fully equipped with lots of channels. It was fairly well located, just a brief walk across the river on the bridge or a bus ride to the city centre. I stayed here two nights and had to leave at 2am to get to the airport for my next flight, so the concierge booked my cab for me, which I appreciated. I had a really nice experience here!

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LizieJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We liked the comfortable beds, some of the best we have found in a budget hotel. Our room on the second floor smelled just fine and was clean. The breakfast buffet had a nice selection. We were able to find parking each time we came back to our room. Movie theater and mall very close by and Red Robin right across the street. No problems with management or check in. The walls are thin though and other guests can be quite noisy. Turn on the fan to drown out the noise and you will be fine. You are downtown so there are a lot of homeless people, quite common in Portland. No one troubled us though. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Our room had a funky smell. Room was just the standard kind of room you'd expect. Big enough, comfortable enough.. Just stinky!!! I don't know how safe the area is (doesn't seem safe) and their parking lot doesn't feel all that safe/secure. We never had a problem but were nervous leaving our car parked overnight. Pretty close to the city though so that was good. Breakfast was pretty non eventful, nothing to write home about.. Front desk staff were nice enough, even if they were just a couple of 20 something year olds. Probably wouldn't recommend this hotel or stay here again, just because I'm sure there are nicer places. And again, the funky smell!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaoh11596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#72 of 139 in Portland
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 139 in Portland
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Property: Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Address: 431 Northeast Multnomah, Portland, OR 97232-2010 (Formerly La Quinta)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Portland Hotel Portland
Portland La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing