We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Beds in an old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #104 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Needed a quick place to stay for the night while in Portland. The hotel is older, the rooms have recently been painted and it is clean. The bathroom was tiny. But I have to admit the bed was amazing.. It was very comfortable, I slept perfect for that one night..

Room Tip: There are not elevators that I could see and lots of walking. If you have mobility concerns ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager431, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you had a great stay at our hotel. Yes, all our rooms have a new coat of paint. We are also working on many other improvements. We will see you on your next visit to Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Convenient location - MAX train stop is nearby (about two blocks). Close to downtown area. Unfortunately noisy at night. Parking is $5. Generally it is OK to stay for one night there, but next time won't stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sergeiusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel is within walking distance to Stadium.

If you need a rollaway cot. Stay away from this hotel. The cots suck. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great. This hotel doesnt cheap out by watering down the orange juice.

Hotel is a couple blocks away from the train that takes you into the city.
Would stay here again just not in a cot :o)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arrius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our experience can be summed up with these pros and cons:
Pro
While surrounding area is not impressive, proximity to Convention Center, Moda Center, and Center City via Max is excellent. Max is two short blocks away.
Bed was comfortable, room was clean.
Parking is available for a $5/day fee, although website says it is free.
Wifi worked very well.
Price was good.

Con
While hotel website notes recent remodeling, this appears to have been cosmetic only. Layout is odd, gives overall dated impression.
Breakfast was okay, although fairly limited, but breakfast room is very small. Overflow seating is available in an adjacent meeting room, but it was freezing when we tried to use it one day.
No guest laundry facility.
As other reviewers have noted, the height and angle of the shower head are very odd and not convenient.

All in all, just average, at best.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking central opening will be quieter than those overlooking MLK Blvd or Grand St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granddadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here after a Blazers game. Upon entering the room we noticed a very musty, moldy smell. Upon inspection I noticed black mold growing on the ceiling in the bathroom. Yuck! However, it was late, we were tired, and the hotel was packed so I didn't ask for a different room. We checked out early the next morning. When our credit card bill arrived we noticed that we were overcharged by almost $50. The front desk had not applied the AAA rate we booked under. We called the hotel expecting an easy fix. However, it has been over two weeks and we are still fighting with them. We now have to fax in a copy of our AAA card so they can rectify their mistake.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager431, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your review. You did book a room at our AAA rate, however, at check-in you did have your AAA card. The AAA card with the name on the reservation must be presented at check in to qualify for AAA rate. Since you did not have a card we gave you our Best Available Rate at the time of check in. You accepted the rate and we have the registration card with your initials accepting the rate. After checkout, when you contacted us we informed you that we will change the rate as long as you can send us a copy of your AAA card. To this date we have not received this copy and that is why we have not been able to change the rate. As long as you can get us AAA card with the registered guest name on it, we will be happy to change the rate for you and refund the difference.
As for black mold you mention in this review, none of the correspondence from you so far with us nor during your stay it was mentioned to us. We also checked the room and we found no mold.
Thank you and we hope to help resolve your issue as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had a decent stay, nothing memorable. Front Desk agent was all business and little in the way of smiles for us. Room was decent, we booked an accessible room using my employee discount through choice hotels

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWestkdub52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed there for over a week in 2012 for personal business. We chose it because we wanted to be on the east side near the Trimax train, plus we did not want to pay too much. I guess you get what you paid for. The place was old, room could be cleaner. The breakfast guy was very friendly but unfortunately the breakfast is not so good, same stuff everyday. Most are packaged items except for some eggs or biscuit and gravy which did not have much flavor. There is a small pool which I swam a couple of times and was ok. May be next time I will spend a little more for a more updated hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somewhereoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#75 of 144 in Portland
341 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#13 of 144 in Portland
416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Address: 431 Northeast Multnomah, Portland, OR 97232-2010 (Formerly La Quinta)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £83 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Portland Hotel Portland
Portland La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing