We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy, functional, very comfy beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #100 of 141 Hotels in Portland
england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy, functional, very comfy beds”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here, just used it as a base while we explored Portland. Rooms were clean and tidy, bed was huge (by English standards) and sooooo comfy. Breakfast was average, small room and very basic but this is common I think for the US. Hotel staff were polite and very helpful

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scoob5022002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    73
    92
    37
    45
See reviews for
58
73
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I needed to stay one night in town and found this place on Hotwire for a reasonable rate. It is the kind of motel that is decades old and was constructed out of cheap materials and blah architecture. Much of the place does look dated and worn. To their credit, the management has taken some pains with fresh paint and new tile in the bathrrooms. The bedding and pillows are attractive and comfortable. My checkin clerk, Julio, was most cordial and when I returned to the desk to ask that the chirping smoke alarm needed the batteries replaced, he was most concerned and even offered to come help me move my baggage, which was kind of him but not necessary. It could not be repaired at that time as the maintenance person was gone for the day. I slept comfortably last night, but found the breakfast so-so. I did not use the pool or tiny fitness center. The hotel is easily reached by public transit, which I used to join friends for dinner downtown and left my car parked at the hotel. There is a $5 charge per parking, but I was expecting it to be more. All in all,it served my purpose, but I prefer hotels with some more class.

Room Tip: Don't expect the Ritz and you will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Check bill after you check out, I received a pet charge even though I explained I was on a business trip and it was not possible for me to take a pet with me. I was accused of lying and I was treated rudely when I tried to explain. I will never stay here and do not recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GapBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager431, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
During your stay, our housekeeper saw a small dog on your bed. Housekeeper reported to front desk after you had checked out. You were in our non-pet room. We charged you for having a pet in our non-pet room. Many guests are allergic to pets and because you had a pet in the room, we had to do extra cleaning of the room. When you called we informed you that we charged you because the housekeeper reported the incident to us. As a courtesy, we did remove the charge and no pet fee was charged to you after our discussion. In the future, please let us know if you are brining a pet so we can give you a pet room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portland hotels

Mankato, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Because we travel with kids, a pool is one of the requirements of our hotels. This isn't normally a problem, but in Portland, it was pretty hard to find in our price range. The Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center was the only one near downtown that we could afford. The hotel is two blocks from the red/blue Max line that takes you downtown or to the airport. It's also near a line that can take you to the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry. The rate was super low, parking fee was nominal, and the room was exceptionally clean. Robby at the front desk was very friendly.

The pool we searched so hard for was pretty cold, even though it was billed as heated. The area isn't very pretty, but I didn't feel like it was dangerous, either. Lots of fast food restaurants nearby and a Walgreens only a short walk away. The hotel breakfast was not great and the room is tiny, but there is a Denny's across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRVMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed at this location found used open soap in the bathroom on the sink and hair on the counter and on the shower surround and many other issues then found out to top it off they don't even have a manager on site to talk to I will never stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottc83gp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager431, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay. You stayed with us for three nights.First night prior to your check in, our housekeepr did check the room to make sure the room was clean. After check in, several hours later you came at the front desk to report the problems in the room and that you wish to check out because you were not happy with the room. Because you had booked the room thru expedia, front desk staff advised you to contact expedia so you can get your money back as they had charged you, not the hotel for your stay. We did approve the check out without any charge. You did not ask that a manager needs to be contacted and that you wanted to talk to a manager specifically regarding your issues. I am available 24 hours a day for any of my guest and front desk will call me at any time if any of my guests have issues during there stay. In the morning when I found out that you were having issues, I contacted you immediately and see if you had contacted expedia to check out. You told us that you did not want to checkout but instead wanted a free nights of stay. We had told you that we could not do that as expedia is the one that had charged your card and we did not charge anything to you and we cannot offer a free night stay for these issues. You decided to stay for the next two nights and did not have any further issue. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel is within a couple of blocks of the light rail, so getting to and from the airport is a breeze (and, as of this writing, only US$2.50). It's also very close to the convention center, of course. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, as well as a Walgreen's and a Safeway.

As for the hotel itself, what's to say except it's a standard hotel room. No in-room safe, but the wi-fi is good. Pillows and mattresses were a bit soft for my taste, but your mileage may vary.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jde1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager431, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Yes we have the best location in town and are only two blocks from the convention center stop for the MAX light rail. We are glad that you had a pleasent stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next trip to portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is so conveniently located in Portland...close to Convention Center, and the MAX light rail system which will take you almost anywhere you need to go. Hotel is clean and breakfast is really good!! Rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, flat screen tvs and hair dryers. Beds are comfy and rooms seem to be pretty soundproof. I feel pretty safe in this neighborhood, too. I used to stay here when it was a LaQuinta and then Quality Inn took over. There is an indoor pool if you have kids, too!! Best of all, it is a place you can stay near downtown Portland for $100.00 or less!! That combined with location is why I stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendi934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#75 of 141 in Portland
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 141 in Portland
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Property: Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Address: 431 Northeast Multnomah, Portland, OR 97232-2010 (Formerly La Quinta)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Portland Hotel Portland
Portland La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing