We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #102 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Bad for the Price”
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I'm torn between recommending this hotel or not. For the low price, it's not a bad place, but there are similarly priced hotels in the area that are better quality.

We had just flown in but grabbed lunch and took a walk around downtown Portland while we waited until we could check in. (The location of the hotel in relation to downtown Portland is convenient.) The staff was very friendly and helpful on our arrival. Our room was mostly clean (a small hairball by the sink), but in good shape otherwise. I don't think I've ever slept on such a squashy mattress, but we were so tired from our flight we fell asleep pretty quickly, and the mattress proved to be more comfortable than we expected.

Unfortunatly our night was not filled with dreams of sugar plum fairies. The room was on an end by the street and I suppose there must have been a grate, drain, or manhole-cover near by because all night we heard a loud CLUNK CLUNK sound. Add lots of trucks cars speeding by, car alarms repeatedly going off, and slamming doors, and you get a hotel that is not good for a light sleeper. Middle rooms might be better.

If you're traveling on a budget and want to be close to downtown, this certainly isn't a bad place to stay. However, as for myself, I'd check out my other options first before choosing to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    73
    93
    39
    45
See reviews for
60
73
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boardman, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We chose this La Quinta hotel because it was close by, the price was good, and it had an indoor pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The elevator and parking areas were a little creepy. The hallways and room were fine. We looked in the fridge and there was a gallon of milk and a bottle of powerade from the previous guest!!! There were also boxes from frozen dinners on top of the microwave. We decided to leave. The staff was very friendly and apologetic about our room and giving us a refund. We left less than 15 minutes from when we checked in. Staff was very friendly, but hotel did not have a good appearance.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avoidestehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portland hotels

seattle
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Be careful - Our brand new, touch screen, cell phone disappeared from our room at this La Quinta. We have no proof that it was stolen, however it was left on the dresser when we left the room, and it was gone when we came back. Spoke with the head housekeeper and the manager who were both very polite, but unhelpful. The maid that cleaned our room apparently called in sick the day after we left, and then went on a scheduled vacation, and was unable to be contacted for over a week. We are now going to do a police report and file a formal complaint with La Quinta.

If you go, guard your valuables.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sun-in-the-city
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

My husband, brother and son (uses wheelchair) visited the first weekend in September. We stayed a total of 3 nights and mainly used the room for sleeping. The front desk staff was ever so pleasant. Especially the manager who was on staff. Wow! She was super energized and so nice to speak with. I need to send them a comment card about her great customer service.

We weren't expecting much for the location and cost. The rooms were clean. Thankfully, our room wasn't one where a previous guest had smoked or brought a pet. But since we were travelling with 4 other family members, each with their own room, we did find some of their rooms to be too stinky for us. The staff did change a room for one of our family members whose room stunk like cigarette smoke.

The pool was clean, but crowded with extremely noisy kids. No jacuzzi.

The free breakfast is a treat. It got crowded on Sunday and Monday morning - so running out of food was expected. That's okay, we were not there for the free breakfast. There's a Red Robin and another restaurant (and Starbucks) just across the street. Any many more fast food joints a block or two away.

Overall, we got what we paid for. A clean place to sleep, and as an extra, a great staff.

-janet

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County,California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We stayed at the La Quinta NW for 2 nites before we left for our prebooked 2 nite stay at the Downtown La Quinta.This was like travelling 30 years back in time.What a DUMP
from the outside.It only got worse.1st room- blood splatter by our tub. Brown smear marks on our wash clothes.2nd room -clearly finger marks dragged down the wall (obviosly fecal) next to toilet.Staff was RUDE! And acted as if we were being a pain. Had to have an employee walk through the 3rd room before we moved 3 X in 10 minutes! It was noisey and when I had to walk my dog there was several shady people around.They should have PAID US to stay here.This place made my skin crawl.Bring a blacklight!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pokersetup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sangasong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Great location, great price. It also came with a fridge, microwave, and free internet, as well as free parking. The room was over-scented with the smell of those room deodorizers, but once inside, we got used to it quickly and didn't even notice it. The free breakfast is mostly carbs and low-protein (sorry, no scrambled eggs, bacon or sausages), but you can make your own waffles! It was easy to navigate the city using the tourist map we got from the front desk, and we enjoyed our stay very much-- especially the many places there were to eat at!

There are so many eateries to choose from! Look online for good places to eat for any type of food you like. We ate a delectable Thai/Vietnamese meal at Pok-Pok, and had some surprisingly delicious to-go dishes from the numerous food-carts located on Alder and SW 10th Street in downtown Portland!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sangasong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

First, when we got there at 10:30 am on Saturday, the lady who helped us (sorry, wished I could remember names better) was kind and very, very nice. She said we could not check in yet, but we could get our tickets to the zoo (we had the zoo package). We were ok with not being able to check-in yet because we expected that. They let us keep our ice-cream in their refrigerator which was nice (we came from a rental house on the coast). We went to the zoo and didn't get back to check in until around 6:00 PM. Once again, very nice people to help us check in and made it very easy, peasy, breezy. My parents and I stayed in one room which was very nice and big (#139). However, my brother and his family stayed in a smaller room #141. He felt claustrophobic. They only had a shower and we had the full bath. I wished we could have swapped rooms with them, but we didn't think about it at the time. My parents and my brother and his wife went to the rose garden and I took the kids to the pool to play. They had a blast and it was great! Very, very nice pool area, warm water and had a great time. The Internet WI-FI and the cable TV was a hit. The breakfast was also a hit (waffles, bananas, apples, cold and hot cereal, hard boiled eggs, toast, juices, bagles). I thought the beds were comfortable and soft. But, if someone needed a harder bed, they would have been out of luck because the beds were pretty soft. But, you can't please everyone. I definitely saw the painting over old stuff and mold in the bathrooms and the old door hinges. I think La Quinta needs to gut the place and start over because it's not up to par with the La Quinta name. It's not in the best area of town, but you need to use your card to get in to any area (breakfast, pool, elevator, any outside door). My mother was sitting down in the lobby the next morning and a gentleman walked in to get a room and he was charged $70 (with AARP). We were charged $104 for our room (with the free zoo passes). Which knocks our room down to about $70, so really we actually ended up paying for the zoo, just not at the gate, which to me wasn't all that fair. So, good points - good breakfast, good beds, good pool, good customer service. Bad points - needs major renovations, some rooms way to small and not fair pricing on the rooms. Red Robin right across the street saved us after getting back from the zoo. We were starving and tired and it was nice to go there and eat an then walk across the street to our room. The MAX was only a block down the road which was nice because we took that to the zoo. Just to let people know, the zoo has the Africa area closed down for renovation. We were very, very disappointed with the zoo.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idaho_Travel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#75 of 142 in Portland
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 142 in Portland
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Property: Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Address: 431 Northeast Multnomah, Portland, OR 97232-2010 (Formerly La Quinta)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Portland Hotel Portland
Portland La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing