We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #101 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Washington State
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

This hotel was DISGUSTING!!!! Staff was extremly RUDE! Pool was the only good part about the hotel. Parking area was small, they even had to have security around the hotel. When you walk down the hallways, it looks like all of the doors have been beat in. Rooms smell like mold, they are small and not very clean. Please, Stay somewhere else!!! P.S. Breakfast was not good either.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyjtravels17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    69
    88
    36
    42
See reviews for
54
67
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

My husband and I have stayed at this LaQuinta Inn several times when he has had medical appointments at the VA Center or OHSU, both on the west side of the Willamette River. It is easy to get across the river, and staying on the east side means saving money on accommodations.

The hotel is very well run, with efficient check in, friendly staff, and a good breakfast with a lot of choice. There is an indoor pool and workout facility that look quite nice, although we haven't used them. Walking is my preferred fitness endeavor, and this is a great area for walking. Lloyd Center, a shopping mall, is only 3 blocks one way, the Rose Garden and Convention Center only a few blocks in another direction.

The rooms are adequate in size, and have both a refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom has a shower stall rather than a bath, but that is what we prefer. Remember to ask for a room that is not on the side facing Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., where traffic can be a little noisy, although not enough to keep you awake at night.

There are plenty of restaurants, fast food and otherwise, within walking distance. While this may not be a glamorous facility, we choose it frequently because of the value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeschutesSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

If you happen to stay on the west side of the hotel, you are located directly off of what has to be one of the busiest streets in Portland 24/7. It is LOUD, you can hear conversations from the street and the entire room shakes and shimmers (similar to a small earthquake) as any vehicle larger than an SUV passes by. There is no noise barrier separating street noise so good luck getting uninterrupted sleep. Thanks for the mini fridge and all but that noise can get annoying as it runs its cycles. Other than the noise issues, the rooms are clean and the staff is ultra friendly and helpful. You're close to the Max station which takes you just about anywhere and there are food options nearby which make it convenient since this is a minimal amenity hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justbusiness27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

I traveled here for a 2 night stay the end of April with my partner and my dog. The rooms were roomy enough, shower/toliet area very small. Secuirty of doors adequate. The hotel has one elevator that was very dirty. Pool was large, but I never went in there. The breakfast they had in the moring, was not bad for a morning free breakfast.

The staff was not overly friendly and they looked very "tired" but they did provide me with any directions I asked for. Little business center available for your use. Free USA today papers in the lobby.

The hotel had no security that I could tell and some kids were running loose down the halls unattended by parents, which made things quite noisy at times.

Very convenient to public transportation and parking was plentiful and free.

Traveling with dog: Dog rooms are on the 1st floor on one side of the building and they didn't seem to be remodeled rooms and they smelled kind of musty and old. I assume that they don't shampoo carpets because I had to wear socks because the bottoms of my feet turned black from the carpets. Bring your slippers!!

I would stay here again if need be and the price is right, but wouldn't go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puttersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

I'm torn between recommending this hotel or not. For the low price, it's not a bad place, but there are similarly priced hotels in the area that are better quality.

We had just flown in but grabbed lunch and took a walk around downtown Portland while we waited until we could check in. (The location of the hotel in relation to downtown Portland is convenient.) The staff was very friendly and helpful on our arrival. Our room was mostly clean (a small hairball by the sink), but in good shape otherwise. I don't think I've ever slept on such a squashy mattress, but we were so tired from our flight we fell asleep pretty quickly, and the mattress proved to be more comfortable than we expected.

Unfortunatly our night was not filled with dreams of sugar plum fairies. The room was on an end by the street and I suppose there must have been a grate, drain, or manhole-cover near by because all night we heard a loud CLUNK CLUNK sound. Add lots of trucks cars speeding by, car alarms repeatedly going off, and slamming doors, and you get a hotel that is not good for a light sleeper. Middle rooms might be better.

If you're traveling on a budget and want to be close to downtown, this certainly isn't a bad place to stay. However, as for myself, I'd check out my other options first before choosing to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boardman, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

We chose this La Quinta hotel because it was close by, the price was good, and it had an indoor pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The elevator and parking areas were a little creepy. The hallways and room were fine. We looked in the fridge and there was a gallon of milk and a bottle of powerade from the previous guest!!! There were also boxes from frozen dinners on top of the microwave. We decided to leave. The staff was very friendly and apologetic about our room and giving us a refund. We left less than 15 minutes from when we checked in. Staff was very friendly, but hotel did not have a good appearance.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avoidestehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portland hotels

seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

Be careful - Our brand new, touch screen, cell phone disappeared from our room at this La Quinta. We have no proof that it was stolen, however it was left on the dresser when we left the room, and it was gone when we came back. Spoke with the head housekeeper and the manager who were both very polite, but unhelpful. The maid that cleaned our room apparently called in sick the day after we left, and then went on a scheduled vacation, and was unable to be contacted for over a week. We are now going to do a police report and file a formal complaint with La Quinta.

If you go, guard your valuables.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sun-in-the-city
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#71 of 138 in Portland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.7 mi away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#65 of 138 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Property: Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Address: 431 Northeast Multnomah, Portland, OR 97232-2010 (Formerly La Quinta)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Portland Hotel Portland
Portland La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing