We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap but gross”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Portland Downtown
Ranked #127 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cheap but gross”
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Chose this hotel because of its convienent location to the convention center. It was both cheap and gross. Bathroom was covered in mold and there was moss growing on the porch. Light in the bathroom never worked. Stay somewhere else.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    9
    17
    17
    28
See reviews for
13
15
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed there because it was cheap and I didn't know any other hotel in Portland. I've got bed bugs bites all over me in the morning. When I asked the receptionist what was happening, he told me that those were probably "mosquitoes".
To make things worse, I carried them home with me and now I have to call pest control to eradicate them from my house.
A total disaster. Avoid this place at any cost.

Room Tip: Check for bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BojanDoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This hotel was the cheapest I could find by a fair margin. It's conveniently located (in the Rose Quarter, a short train ride from downtown, and the ride is free though that's going to change soon). It's clean and reasonably well-maintained and wifi is free.

However, it's beyond basic. The clerk is less than friendly, and refused to let me store my bags for a few hours after I checked out, which is something I tend to rely on in many hotels. There's no laundry on site; when I asked the clerk where I might find one, he said "down that road a few miles." I pointed out that I didn't have a car and couldn't just walk "a few miles" and asked if there was, perhaps, a laundromat in downtown Portland; he said there wasn't. Obviously, it turned out there was; just a quick train ride away although perfectly walkable in a pinch.

Next time, I'm definitely going to consider alternatives, though if the price is still substantially cheaper, I'd book it again; $50/night is not bad for Portland.

Room Tip: I'd prefer a top floor room, if only for the perceived safety benefit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scatterburst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stopped in at the Motel 6 "Downtown" for a night on our way down to San Francisco. The reception received from the front desk was mediocre at best, and a follow up visit to inquire about nearby dining options and WIFI password left me feeling like an inconvenience. The room itself was a let down, but given the price and market it seemed like a good deal. I'm not sure why this is called "Downtown", as downtown is actually located across a bridge (the motel location would be better named "Convention Centre"). Thankfully a free train - which runs down Holladay- was able to take us downtown for an amazing meal (review to follow). However, said free train passes the hotel and is quite loud. At one point I was in the shower and wondered why the walls were shaking before realising it was the train going past. If you want a bare bones cheap out-dated slightly run-down place in a decent location with free internet for a night (I'd not recommend it for more than that), then this is a decent option. However, I'd suggest looking for a cheaper deal at a nicer place through one of the many online discount hotel booking sites first.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyrtletheTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Wa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Don’t be fooled by the cheap price ($60-$90)... This place is a dump, floor to ceiling. We stayed in room 214 which has 2 beds. The bed closest to the door was in a U shape, practically had to lie on pillows to have somewhat of a level surface. The other bed was not as bad, but the edge had metal trim that was easily felt when sitting on the edge. Of course, we pulled the mattresses up and looked for signs of bedbugs and did not see any. There are two electrical plugs in the room and they are overloaded as it is... The bedding is stained and the mattress pad had a large cigarette burn in it. We left the bedding in a pile in the corner; no way was I letting that touch me.
I pulled the bed to access one of the plugs for my laptop and noticed that the lamp cord (circa 1970) was bent with wire exposed (I left the bed pulled away from the wall so I wouldn’t burn up during the night). The microwave was a small mid-80's model that I did not use. The mini-fridge was sufficient and cold enough to store my bottled water (was NOT going to drink what came out of the faucet).
The worst was the bathroom, the 'under the counter sink' has a broken seal and has massive amounts of silicone caulking to fill the gap along with mold of various dark colors. The tub is narrow and the bathroom vent doesn’t do a thing. The walls are dirty, torn wall paper and they give you a couple bars of Motel 6 labeled soap. The whole motel room has a smell to it and all my clothes had to be washed when I got home to get that odor out.
The only positive (and negative thing) is that the motel is next to The Max and free parking. I didn’t notice the sound so much but others might be more sensitive to the rumble all night. Easy to hop on and head downtown so that saves parking fees while shopping and dining.
Figure it’s just a place to sleep and shower. Bring your own water, pillows, blankets, air-freshener and Lysol.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

If nothing else Motel 6 has always been consistent you get what you pay for and most are decent
this Motel 6 was unbelievable we got what we paid for and more
after refusing to take the first room given to us not able to over look the fact that the bathroom door had been kicked in the door frame just hanging there by one nail the counter top surrounding the sink was cracked in half long ways the entire length and the sink was full of water
2nd room not as bad but the noise above was ridicules the office not answering the phone when called to complain we called the police our selves the 2nd and 3rd nights we asked to be put upstairs
we turned on the vent and left for a few hours returning the smell of mold was overwhelming the light in the bathroom did not work looking up it has water spots all over it like the water had run down to a point and dripped the wallpaper in the corner rippled with water behind it I looked over in the shower area and seen a piece of wallpaper sticking out low and behold black mold the blow-dryer ground fault interrupter was broken no plug on it. our keys were not turned back on after the maid cleaned our room the office not answering the door or the phone someone has to stay in our room our entire last 24 hours so we could get back in oh yes to add insult to injury the motel rents out the parking spaces in the day time so there is no parking for guest I complained to motel 6 and got an e-mail telling me they are sending a certificate to use at any motel 6 Wow really like I want to go through that again

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasureitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
357 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Where do I start? Motel 6 is so hit and miss these days and this one is definitely a miss. I felt comfortable reserving a room here since it was AAA approved in their book. Seeing the AAA plaque in the office was encouraging. The room was spacious enough. The tram noise didn't bother me as much as some people. Being on the tram line was a great plus. Patrick, who checked us in, was wonderful. Too bad he was only filling in for 2 days. The housekeepers seemed efficient, but there were places throughout the room that could have been cleaner. There was a musty smell at times. We could never figure out exactly where it came from, but we think it may have been the sheets or blankets. Even after changing them out didn't get rid of it. One of the plug ins was dangling from the wall which can be a potential fire hazard. Even the TV could have been in better shape. CNN was totally mute and with ESPN you get blasted out of your seat. Even though Motel 6 is pet friendly, this one does not allow pets in the office. I can understand that a bit because of my allergies, but we have never had that issue come up at a Motel 6. After Patrick, any interaction with the office whether it was myself or my other family member was not quite as memorable. They acted like they cared, but we're not sure if they really do. To top it all off when I returned our keycards the manager, who lives on site, looked like he just got out of bed and this was almost 10:00 in the morning. I can see it with a mom and pop place and maybe early morning, but this is not something you see at a national chain as much. I took a risk with an extended stay at a Motel 6 and it looks like it will be the last unless it looks more promising. I'll still use them for stopovers. As for Downtown Portland and near the Convention Center, I will look elsewhere for a place to stay if and when I get back down there.

Room Tip: Depending on your budget, look elsewhere to spend the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainier72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#71 of 140 in Portland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.5 mi away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#63 of 140 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Portland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portland Downtown

Property: Motel 6 Portland Downtown
Address: 518 NE Holladay St, Portland, OR 97232-2020 (Formerly Shilo Inn)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portland Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Portland Downtown is minutes from Portland Intl Airport and within walking distance of the Portland Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena, downtown Portland, and a variety of shopping, dining and entertainment. Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Portland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portland Downtown Hotel Portland
Shilo Inn Portland Convention Center
Portland Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing