We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hurray for Wanda” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205)
Ranked #54 of 138 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Hurray for Wanda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My last visit at the holiday inn portland airport was a good one. The staff is incredibly friendly and very helpful. The front desk was happy to help me contact the rest of my party when our flight was delayed. They even set up a new shuttle time for us. I had breakfast and Wanda was making me laugh. We had an instant connection for our love of homemade jams. She was very sweet and attentive. I changed my order to to go and she made up a great plate for me and anticipated everything I might need. As someone who has worked in customer service for almost 15 years, I was impressed.

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit musty but the service makes up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasrok29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205), responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are very gracious to read your review. It sounds as though there were a number of instances where the details of your trip could have been a big frustration but many of the great employees of the hotel helped make things better.
We will be glad to share your review throughout the hotel so the Front Desk, Bell, Kitchen and Restaurant employees receive the proper recognition.

We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.
And, thank you for signing up at TripAdvisor to write your first review, that says a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    132
    88
    21
    30
See reviews for
71
64
29
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our group was bumped off the shuttle both inbound and outbound for airline crews. Clearly the hotel caters to that crowd first and foremost.

No reservation for me when I arrived though the other 8 in my party had theirs. Discomforting wait to resolve situation.

Trina in the small bar is an excellent employee.

Carpets in hallways need work

Train noise on one side of hotel is CRAZY loud in middle of the night

Room Tip: Ask for room away from train side of hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSD47630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205), responded to this review, 24 June 2014
The Holiday Inn Portland Airport extends and apology. We are sorry that your arrival and check-in experiences were not as they should be. It is our standard to offer an extra shuttle service van for arriving airline crews to prevent exactly that experience. We try to balance to ensure both parties enjoy timely service.

We are delighted that you had a good experience in our dining outlets and are very fortunate to have many great employees working here.

We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is right next to the freight train tracks and a busy road. To complement the constant train and traffic noise, it has old, crappy windows which provide zero sound insulation. I wouldn't stay in this place again if they pay me for that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jake m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205), responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We apologize that you were not able to get a restful night sleep. We gladly make every attempt to honor requests and will also gladly change rooms, as available, if the accommodations are not well suited to your needs. Please help us make your experience better and note any requests when making a reservation or at check-in, or even after you've gotten to the room.
Thank you for helping share this important information to the traveling community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is beautifully decorated and modern. Very close to the airport and has a free shuttle to the airport. They have a medium sized indoor pool but no jacuzzi which would have made it better.
They have a exercise room, a restaurant and a coffee bar. A very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205), responded to this review, 24 June 2014
As a senior reviewer and seasoned traveler, we are grateful for your review of the Holiday Inn Portland Airport. We appreciate the four star posting and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Recently I had to make a 2 day trip to Portland and stayed at this hotel. Having never been to anywhere around this area I assumed being close to the Airport would mean lots of amenities close by. Boy was I wrong. There is nothing around there, if you are not familiar with the area. I returned my rental car the night before because I had a 6 am departure and spent over 45 minutes looking for a gas station, even with a GPS. Anyway, the hotel itself is decent. Room service was reasonably priced ($19 for a medium pizza, which was actually not bad). The service at the front desk was good although when I arrived at 4am to check out, they were only just getting bills ready and had to sift through a large pile. The shuttle to the airport only takes 10 minutes so it is not so bad.

Room Tip: Take a room on the higher floor to minimize the sounds of people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSlaterFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205), responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are grateful for your review. Our location is close enough to the airport to offer typically a five minute shuttle ride, but also just far enough to offer the benefit of not under noisy flight paths. Our complimentary shuttle service also will take our guests to the local Cascade Station mall and light rail system.
We are pleased to hear that you took advantage of the in-room dining option and found the quality and price a good value.
We apologize that GPS was not of great assistance locating a gas station. Please call the hotel directly and we can offer directions. The nearest gas station is just one mile from our location.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Portland Airport and we hope to be your host again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Busy hotel. No hot tub in pool area. Lots of housekeeping staff using regular elevators on first and third floors. Hotel was quiet, friendly front desk staff. Would stay again. Booked it off priceline for 66$ night king room. Workout room with Acela treadmills and elliptical machines. Did not eat at restaurant ordered out for pizza

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cantja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205), responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Portland Airport.
We are glad that you enjoyed the exercise area and hope you were able to enjoy the indoor saline pool. We are a short light rail ride from the downtown Portland expereince without the downtown price, or from the Airport, making our Park and Fly program a great option too.
We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This property has a friendly staff and are very convenient shuttle to PDX which is why we stay there occasionally. My last stay, however was pretty bad. I woke in the night because something was crawling on my feet....fleas. I was leaving the next day for a vacation in a warm climate and I had 26 flea bites on one foot alone. I usually leave pre dawn, but on this trip I had a later flight so I checked out the breakfast buffet and found it to be clean and nicely displayed but really bad. The omelet was in edible, the bread and muffins were stale and the waffle maker was broken. I settled for coffee which was fine. This hotel needs to clean up its act.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wine76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205), responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are grateful for your review. We take the comfort and enjoyment of our guests very seriously so when we hear of these situations we react immediately. I have reached out directly to learn the room number to correct this.
The comments regarding the breakfast buffet are very helpful thank you. We do not put a waffle iron out on the buffet so guests do not burn themselves so we offer French Toast instead. We appreciate the comments so we may continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#49 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205)

Property: Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205)
Address: 8439 NE Columbia Boulevard, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Portland
#48 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205) 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only two miles from the Portland Airport, the Holiday Inn Portland Airport Hotel & Convention Center is just minutes away from Cascade Station.This Portland Airport Hotel is minutes from Downtown Portland and all the attractions of the Rose City, including Portland's famous annual Rose Festival, the Rose Garden Coliseum & Portland Convention Center, Washington Park's world-famous gardens,the Oregon Zoo, OMSI and more are easily accessible from Portland's speedy MAX light rail and award-winning public transportation service. Our Portland, Oregon hotel is a full service facility offering extensive amenities including a complimentary Portland Airport shuttle, Portland Airport parking packages, business services and recreational facilities. Come enjoy a great night's sleep with our new Dreamscape premium mattresses and deluxe bedding package! We offer complimentary wireless Internet access in every room. We invite you to dine in our on site restaurant, serving breakfast , lunch and dinner, or through in-room dining via Room Service. We are also located only minutes from the Vancouver, Wa area and the Columbia Gorge. For the business traveler, our executive floor offers complimentary newspapers and magazines, and even a sitting area with complimentary sodas, water & snacks. With all this and more, we invite you to let the Holiday Inn Portland Airport Hotel-Conference Center be your home away home when visiting Portland,Oregon. Always remember-'Green is Inn!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland Airport (i-205) Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing