We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad location for an Airport hotel but the price is right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205)
Ranked #51 of 139 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
620 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Bad location for an Airport hotel but the price is right”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is older but updated. It has a very nice lobby with a small cafe with coffee which is nice. Then you walk down a long hall that needs some paint and updating. The room was updated but should its age. It was clean and did not have any smells like some other reviews. They do have a nice lounge on the 8 th floor with soda and a snack

My complaint is the location you seem to drive in a crazy big circle to get here and once you figure out where you are at and that you are on the back side it's to late

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biztravr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles_holt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205), responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Portland Airport! We appreciate you taking the time to offer a review of our hotel and appreciate your compliments, as well as the constructive feedback that we will use to help us improve. While we cannot affect location, we can work with the State to access better highway signage to provide easier access to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn, if your travels bring you to the Portland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    139
    92
    22
    34
See reviews for
76
67
30
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hi - I wanted to take a moment to give praise to two of the waitresses in the hotel restaurant. My company travels the country and therefore, stay at all kinds of hotels every month.

Your wait staff is one of the kindest, most accommodating that I have experienced in the last year.

Specifically, Carla and Wanda. They're top-notch, 5 stars!!

Thanks - Joe Mager (staff at REI Academy)
room 118 6/26 - 6/30/2014

Room Tip: not applicable, only stayed in one room, no issues except thin walls in bathroom
See more room tips
Green Features: Love this! Green Hotel. Being from Seattle, this is important to me!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205), responded to this review, 28 June 2014
The Holiday Inn Portland Airport is always grateful when a guest takes the time to note an exceptional stay or experience. We believe exceptional guest service is a hallmark of our brand and culture and to note two people by name is wonderful. We will be sure to recognize them.
Thank you for the feedback, and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms are updated but still smell musty and old. Our room was noisy and could not open a window to get fresh air. There is no refrigerator or microwave in the room. You have to rent one for 30 bucks a pop. When making our reservation we requested a fridge and we were told that we would have one. To our surprise on arriving in our room we discovered that we have no fridge. The lady said first come and they don't reserve fridge, told two different things. Will never stay here again and waste money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205), responded to this review, 28 June 2014
The Holiday Inn Portland Airport apologizes to you for the inconsistent messages. We will certainly review our reservation communications to more clearly convey the correct information that every reasonable effort will be made to honor all requests, but a request is not a guarantee. We apologize that our miscommunication impacted the quality of your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This older hotel has nice updates BUT those decorative touches don't cover up the moldy-mildew smell. We asked to check out another room but it had the same scent--OLD/mold/YUCK! We were not offered any sort of discount but they did give us a can of deodorizer. The room was clean but the smell makes you feel that it isn't. The pool and lobby were nice and did not smell. Stayed here to park and fly. The shuttle service was great, fast and friendly! Before arriving we felt the rate quoted was great. Unfortunately we will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennobrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205), responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We apologize that the scent in your room was not acceptable, and yet glad to read that it was isolated and not prevalent in the hallways, lobby or other public spaces.
We are glad you were able to take advantage of the Park and Fly program, and found the complimentary shuttle service a nice benefit as well.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My last visit at the holiday inn portland airport was a good one. The staff is incredibly friendly and very helpful. The front desk was happy to help me contact the rest of my party when our flight was delayed. They even set up a new shuttle time for us. I had breakfast and Wanda was making me laugh. We had an instant connection for our love of homemade jams. She was very sweet and attentive. I changed my order to to go and she made up a great plate for me and anticipated everything I might need. As someone who has worked in customer service for almost 15 years, I was impressed.

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit musty but the service makes up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasrok29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205), responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are very gracious to read your review. It sounds as though there were a number of instances where the details of your trip could have been a big frustration but many of the great employees of the hotel helped make things better.
We will be glad to share your review throughout the hotel so the Front Desk, Bell, Kitchen and Restaurant employees receive the proper recognition.

We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.
And, thank you for signing up at TripAdvisor to write your first review, that says a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
212 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our group was bumped off the shuttle both inbound and outbound for airline crews. Clearly the hotel caters to that crowd first and foremost.

No reservation for me when I arrived though the other 8 in my party had theirs. Discomforting wait to resolve situation.

Trina in the small bar is an excellent employee.

Carpets in hallways need work

Train noise on one side of hotel is CRAZY loud in middle of the night

Room Tip: Ask for room away from train side of hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSD47630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205), responded to this review, 24 June 2014
The Holiday Inn Portland Airport extends and apology. We are sorry that your arrival and check-in experiences were not as they should be. It is our standard to offer an extra shuttle service van for arriving airline crews to prevent exactly that experience. We try to balance to ensure both parties enjoy timely service.

We are delighted that you had a good experience in our dining outlets and are very fortunate to have many great employees working here.

We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is right next to the freight train tracks and a busy road. To complement the constant train and traffic noise, it has old, crappy windows which provide zero sound insulation. I wouldn't stay in this place again if they pay me for that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jake m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205), responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We apologize that you were not able to get a restful night sleep. We gladly make every attempt to honor requests and will also gladly change rooms, as available, if the accommodations are not well suited to your needs. Please help us make your experience better and note any requests when making a reservation or at check-in, or even after you've gotten to the room.
Thank you for helping share this important information to the traveling community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#49 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#38 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205)

Property: Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205)
Address: 8439 NE Columbia Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-1327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Portland
#48 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205) 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only two miles from the Portland Airport, the Holiday Inn Portland Airport Hotel & Convention Center is just minutes away from Cascade Station.This Portland Airport Hotel is minutes from Downtown Portland and all the attractions of the Rose City, including Portland's famous annual Rose Festival, the Rose Garden Coliseum & Portland Convention Center, Washington Park's world-famous gardens,the Oregon Zoo, OMSI and more are easily accessible from Portland's speedy MAX light rail and award-winning public transportation service. Our Portland, Oregon hotel is a full service facility offering extensive amenities including a complimentary Portland Airport shuttle, Portland Airport parking packages, business services and recreational facilities. Come enjoy a great night's sleep with our new Dreamscape premium mattresses and deluxe bedding package! We offer complimentary wireless Internet access in every room. We invite you to dine in our on site restaurant, serving breakfast , lunch and dinner, or through in-room dining via Room Service. We are also located only minutes from the Vancouver, Wa area and the Columbia Gorge. For the business traveler, our executive floor offers complimentary newspapers and magazines, and even a sitting area with complimentary sodas, water & snacks. With all this and more, we invite you to let the Holiday Inn Portland Airport Hotel-Conference Center be your home away home when visiting Portland,Oregon. Always remember-'Green is Inn!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland Airport (i-205) Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing