We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for business travel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Ranked #74 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place for business travel!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is very nice for the business traveler. Especially nice for the value, Comfortable and safe especially for the woman travelling alone.I was able to leave my car and it was very well taken care of. Great staff and good food. I'll be back!

Room Tip: If you want really quiet, ask for a room away from the pool if you're booking during the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    183
    167
    96
    60
See reviews for
167
190
90
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here the night before our early morning flight. Room was comfortable and surprisingly quiet. Left our car here for 11 nights, excellent and prompt shuttle service to the terminal, only took 5 minutes. Great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Room was ok- clean and no issues. It is pretty close to airport, but we weren't bothered by the planes. Driving to hotel, traffic was kind of congested, so give yourself a little extra time to get around. Bring your own hair products.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kv52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisbee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Came through and they helped find some rooms that were probably reserved for walk-ups... was able to get lodging for the busy sold out 4th of July weekend, and the hotel staff did it with a smile. I made the band do a nice blues set in the lounge to say thank you... we threw a damn part, and the guests at the hotel loved it!

Veronica at the front desk gave us above and beyond customer service as did everyone else. Ted the Mgr on Duty was stellar in helping us get the rooms we needed. Way to show how to do it right, Red Lion!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourwonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VERONICA H, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
It was our pleasure having you and your band here at our Hotel and we can't for your next stay with us!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night, thank goodness, because the hotel was so noisy! Dog barking in a room, vacuum running at 9:30 pm, cars coming and going, then an ongoing sound of banging in the parking lot. Thanks to Ariana from the front desk who got the dog to quiet down and brought us a TV remote, which was missing. Room was clean and comfortable and staff was helpful. Hallways look worn, but noise is the biggest problem.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VERONICA H, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
I am sorry to hear about the noisy night you had at our Hotel, this is definitely not the experience we want our guest to have. I am happy to hear however that the staff was prompt on addressing the situation. Thank you kindly for your review as this will help us with future guest experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownhills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

All in all, very good...
Another property where its a good idea to park out front, check in and then drive round to the closest door to where your room is (if driving of course) as the property is quite spread out...

Only real issue is that there was some airport noise (planes) from my room... it actually made the window frame shake...

Wifi good and strong. Would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123NeilyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VERONICA H, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
123Neily B,

We are happy to hear that you would join us again in the future! We are sorry about some of the noise issues you heard in your room, however we're happy to hear that the noise would not keep you from coming back. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had an event in Vancouver and decided to stay in Portland because the rates for all of the nicer hotels in Vancouver were too pricey. We have never been disappointed at the Red Lion chain and we got a fairly good deal. We chose the airport location because it was in our price range and nearest to the Vancouver destination.
We were checked in quickly and offered airport shuttle service. She also asked if the 2nd floor was acceptable, which was nice. We were able to park right outside of the back entry way to our room.
The room was clean, fairly spacious, and the beds looked an felt clean. The beds are firm, but it was comfortable. There was a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The refrigerator was hot, and even after we got it going, it never really cooled. There was a flat screen TV. I know people complain about the a/c units, but honestly, it was fine.
The things I notice about all of the Red Lions I have stayed at are the thin walls and the door issues. You can hear your neighbors through the walls, especially in the bathroom and from the hallway. It didn't bother us, but it made me conscious of the stomping around my kids were doing. And the doors into the hotel room always seem to need to be secured - they don't shut by themselves. It makes me worry about my stuff when I'm not there, but when we are in the room, we just put on the secondary locks and we feel safe.
Location - It's right by the airport. If you listen for it, you can hear the planes rumbling in and out. But again, once we had the TV on and lights out - we didn't notice. It might be important to light sleepers, though. Other than that, it's right by the freeway.
Restaurant - we arrived late, after our event and were hungry. We ventured to the bar/restaurant. The waiter/bartender was a perfectly nice man, he and the other patrons looked like bikers. But they were all pleasant and we were served quickly and the waiter was very attentive and friendly. The food was not horrible, but I probably wouldn't eat there or recommend it.
Overall: I give it an 8 out of 10. Red Lion gets extra points for their friendliness. (I also used their telephone customer service to verify that the room was non-smoking and they were very nice.) The front desk staff was super friendly and the sketchy restaurant staff were super nice. It was clean, which is my number one priority. I didn't walk around with a black light or take samples, but as far as my naked eye could see, the room had been cleaned. This the 7th hotel room I've stayed in this year, and it's right up there with the Hilton chain. I'd recommend it for quick stays.

Room Tip: I have a select list of chains I use, and they haven't let me down yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VERONICA H, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review , you just made are day here comparing us to the Hilton. Here we love to go out of our way to please our guest and make it the best and most comfortable stay possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#38 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205)
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport

Property: Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Address: 7101 NE 82nd Ave, Portland, OR 97220-1310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a half mile from Portland International Airport and just a short trip from Downtown Portland, our hotel boasts one of the most favorable locations among Portland Airport hotels. Whether you're staying with us while you wait for your flight or embarking on a fun Portland adventure with the family, take advantage of our convenient and enjoyable airport hotel amenities, including complimentary Portland airport shuttle service, two on-site Portland hotel dining options, a 24/7 fitness center, free WiFi and heated outdoor pool (seasonal). Red Lion Portland Airport is also conveniently located near the MAX light rail system so you can easily keep connected to popular Portland area attractions like the Lloyd Center Mall, the Oregon Zoo, Oregon Convention Center, MOOA Center, and the Veterans Memorial Coliseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing