We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not An Ideal Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #20 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife and I are frequent visitors to Marriott properties. In the past whenever we’ve been in Portland we’ve stayed at the Portland Marriott City Center. However, for a change we decided to try the Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront.

To its credit Marriott is now spending many millions of dollars to upgrade this 30 year-old property and is clearly making an effort to have the property’s employees brush up on their skills.

However, in my view it won’t be enough to make me want to return to this hotel. First, in comparison with the City Center location, it’s not in a very good spot. The walk to the Pearl District where most of the notable restaurants and brew pubs are located is more than a mile distant – twice as far away as the other hotel.

Secondly, the standard rooms at the Waterfront property are painfully small, and the bathrooms even smaller.

So, when in Portland, if there’s no overriding reason for you to stay at this hotel (e.g. a convention), choose something more in the core of downtown.

Room Tip: Views over the river provide lots of noise; at the back no views but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bytowntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,286 - 1,292 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here to be closer to downtown and based in it being "waterfront". Room looked out over a parking lot and the roof of another building. Combine that with the pretty steep nightly rates, $30 valet parking, $14 Internet , $4 convience water and it quickly becomes a horrible value. Plus management did nothing about the partiers hanging out half the night in the hallway. The doors are so thin and poorly insulated it sounds as if you've left them open all night. Needless to say we'll never be back here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pg37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Hotel under construction. Only 4 elevators for thousands of people. We had to wait 10-20 minutes to get in an elevator to go from the lobby to our room. NO STAIRS! Stairs were only for emergency and exited to outside and they wouldn't let us use them. Do not stay at this hotel right now!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeaStarSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Excellent location for business at downtown Portland OR. Getting there from PDX, you have the options of cab for $40 or shared van for $14 or redline light rail to downtown for $2.40
The front lobby is currently under renovation. View of the river is good. On clear days you can see Mt Hood from the city.
Restrurant VQ around the corner has a good combination of travellers and locals. Bartender knows the local wines well.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunjoe075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed in the Portland Marriot Waterfront twice last year. The first time we booked online through the Portland Perks program. We got a free room upgrade on checkin, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was large and comfortable. When I booked, I was a bit concerned that we'd be a bit far from downtown, but downtown Portland is amazingly compact and walkable. We were only a few blocks from the light rail line, but there was no problem strolling down to the Saturday market or over to the Farmer's Market on campus. We even walked back from Powell's one evening, which is on the far side of downtown. When we decided to return to Portland 6 months later, I checked online and got a great deal on the room, so we stayed here again. Usually I'm a budget traveller, but the combination of the location, staff, and the price I could get by booking online made staying here a no brainer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mb_vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff - a stone-throw from the Sunday morning market which was very nice and nicely located for public transport or walking around the city to explore.
Would probably go there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurelism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed for three days. Pool was heated and amazing. Great location. Beds were really comfortable and the room was very nice though a little small.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#25 of 146 in Portland
304 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#4 of 146 in Portland
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Address: 1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £129 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan a memorable getaway to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront. Our upscale hotel in Portland, Oregon sits along the Willamette River in the heart of the action offering city and waterfront views. Enjoy our perfect location near Keller Auditorium, Riverplace Marina and Portland State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing