We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place4 to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #26 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Place4 to stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at the Marriot for a conference. The hotel is located close to the waterfront. We even had a room with a view of the river and Mount Hood. The room and bed was very comfortable. All of the hotel employees were extremly helpful.

Room Tip: If possible get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    553
    205
    69
    24
See reviews for
217
329
83
543
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We arrived late evening and were pleasantly surprised that our fax request had been noted - a "quiet area & fridge needed". We booked the "two double" room (not sure why some think they will get "queen" beds as they are not offered - just the 2 doubles or King). It is true that the bathroom was small but you're not in it for long! We definitely received our request as we did not hear any noises at all - hall/overhead/plumbing/ice maker/elevators - totally quiet! All staff were attentive/helpful. Our room was booked including breakfast - you could choose from the menu or have the buffet. Definitely opt for the buffet - it could not be improved!! As others have noted, the parking cost is $30 which seems to be fairly standard in many cities - one thing I would like to see (as did many) is free WiFi in the rooms -$13 per day is out of sight!! Our timing for this trip was excellent as the downtown transport line was free - as of the beginning of September they will be implementing regular fares. We enjoyed the Saturday Market (Burnside Bridge area) and the huge Powells's Book Store. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mutumia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

A solid Marriott that is great for business. It is not in the high energy section of downtown. You will need to walk 10 minutes to get to Pioneer Square and other downtown attractions. It is close to the water but I would have liked to be closer to the popular downtown restaurants.
Check in was long and they could not find us rooms. I was disappointed about this as I had called earlier and offered to use my credit card to check us in. I was told that was not necessary. They eventually did find us all rooms.
The building is older but it was just renovated. All of the rooms have window ac units and my room had a very dirty air filter.
The gym was very hot and very busy in the morning. The pool was nice.
This is a average Marriott in a sub-prime downtown location. I would only stay if I had a very good rate and I was on business.

Room Tip: Try to get a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaFreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE
(1) Not your standard Marriott room or bed. We needed two queen beds- with our small kids along, and unfortunately the queens are not queens--must be twins or oversized twins--
Bottom line --2 adults cannot sleep on this bed!!
(2) Plus, air conditioners are the "window" type---not normal--and they are very loud as they kick on and off all night long.
(3) Bathrooms are incredibly tight
We purchased an upgraded room with riverview, and we got a "less than normal" Marriott room --I know--I have over 400K points with them.
Very bad night for the family--no sleep
And I won't bore you with Circque de Soleil maneuvers to get in and out of the the shower/bathroom.
Very un-Marriott like

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you check in......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevanmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
202 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Hotel is very close to the river, so there are a lot of nice walks to be had along the river - or you can easily walk into downtown Portland, because it is only several blocks away. Don't be fooled by some of these reviews talking about "how far" downtown is, Portland is not a big city, it is very walk-able and this hotel is walking distance to just about everything. Restaurant here is quite good, with really good views out the rear windows. Rooms are nice sized, always kept clean and the staff here is always very nice. If you can avoid it, don't drive here, as the parking/valet fees are not cheap - I've always flown into Portland and take a taxi from the airport here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view, it is beautiful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDWARDL782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The valet was fast and friendly upon arrival. They and the bellhop handled not only all of our lugage with speed, but cheerfully wrangled the necessary "stuffed animals" our children couldn't live without for the weekend to the room. Check in went smoothly and staff was friendly and helpful with finding Voodoo doughnut's. We had a lovely room with a water view. The hotel is older, yet we found the rooms to be well-appointed and very clean! The children enjoyed the pool. In the morning we just crossed to the street to the waterfront and went right finding lots of lovely places to eat and sip coffee. We used the hotel as a hub for a weekend at the Zoo and Omni Center with the children. Planning to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomanysuitcases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here for a night in Aug 2012. The staff is very courteous and helpful. Rooms are small but clean and new, atleast they look new. The only negative star is for the $30 parking charge for 1 night. This is a little steep for Portland, where parking is $1 an hour even in downtown. Also, the front desk can get crowded and you could end up waiting 15-20 mins.

waterfront park is right outside the main door. Nice dining options just few blocks away. I have been to Portland few times now and this has been the better hotel stay experiences so far.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the gym & jacuzzi and guests washer dryer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DetectiveMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Property: Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Address: 1401 SW Naito Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-5141
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#33 Family Hotel in Portland
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing