We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott versus Monaco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Over the last seven years I've made a couple dozen trips to Portland. Most of the time I stay at the Monaco. On this trip, I gave the Marriott a try. It was somewhat less expensive and closer to my company's offices. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortible but I was surprised to be able to hear the people in the adjacent room so clearly through the door that joined the two rooms. My biggest concern was that the Monaco was easy walking distance to Powell's Bookstore and the Marriott was quite far from it. While it was too far for me to walk, the North-South streetcar line two blocks from the Marriott, is a 15 minute ride right to the bookstore. I will definitely consider staying at the Marriott again but I have to say the rooms at the Monaco are nicer and I really missed the Monaco's wine tasting happy hours.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravlinJackVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,152 - 1,158 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

We stay here every year for a sol conference. This year the hotel has completed extensive remodeling. Very modern. The only downfall is that rooms are smaller than midst Marriott's ....probably due to being located downtown. Great beds, excellent decorations.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at this property. The rooms have all been recently renovated and very well appointed. The bed was comfortable, large bathroom, comfy bed. Room was on the smaller side, however we did have a nice waterview. We enjoyed breakfast at the Inn's signature resturant. Food and service was excellent. We also frequented Pursor's Pub, the food was marginal but the waitress/bartenders provided great service. The service at this hotel is top notch, staff was very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return and try the Spa. (I heard wonderful things about it) Tip...Book spa services before you arrive.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view away from resturant, pubs. (They tend to be noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abaykowal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed here for a convention and everything was fine - although the room (river view) was a bit lacking compared to similar hotels of this size and stature. The main complaint is that there was no in-room safe. It's been a long time since I've been in a hotel of this size and name recognition that didn't have a safe. No mini bar, refrigerator or microwave either. The river facing view is ok - but don't be misled. Besides the river there is a huge freeway of overpasses, plus a bridge right there. The traffic noise was constant. Honestly, the river is just not that attractive right in this area because of this. Plus with the balcony door open, the noise was too annoying to have the door open very long. Room service food was decent and the hotel overall is nice.

Room Tip: River facing rooms include LOTS of traffic noise. View includes very busy freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cateyesinthemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed overnight at the Marriott Downtown Waterfront on the concierge floor. The room was nice and faced the riverfront. The location was very good for walking and exploring the downtown area or the riverfront. We had really good access to alot of good restaurant choices all within walking distance. One downside was the hotel was full with convention people. One real positive was the breakfast in the concierge lounge. A full breakfast that was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank French S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Clean, comfortable hotel on the Portland waterfront.

Good, professional staff.

Comfy beds, good sized rooms, decent lighting throughout as well as in the bathroom (which is important for makeup application!).

Nice in-room amenities, including a bathrobe if you're on the 15th or 16th floor. Concierge lounge is on 15. Good television channel variety, nice flat screen.

Lobby bar is fun, has good food and comfy furniture. Great place to watch a game.

Valet is $32 overnight with in/out privileges. Wifi is available in the lobby and there is a nice area to print off your boarding pass. Wifi in the room is *not* free. Bring your own.

Gift shop is overpriced. Starbucks coffee is available in the lobby bar.

Lots of meetings are held here, so it's a busy place. Maybe a better place for business than for families (I was there on business and it was fine with me).

I'd stay there again, although it might be fun to be more 'in the action' of downtown Portland than on the waterfront.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms tend to face the waterfront which provides a nice view. Corner rooms are a bit bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Rooms were clean and staff was great! The rooms are OK in size but the bathrooms are TINY. It was cramped even for one person and don't even think of having two people get ready at the same time. This however was our only complaint. The beds were very comfy! We paid extra for the river view and it was worth it if the view is an important factor in your stay. We enjoyed the walk across the street to the marina where there were several spots to choose from for a bite to eat. Also nearby is the Veritable Quandary which is a great stop for celebrations or a drink.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiffnene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#24 of 144 in Portland
212 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Address: 1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#33 Family Hotel in Portland
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £102 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan a memorable getaway to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront. Our upscale hotel in Portland, Oregon sits along the Willamette River in the heart of the action offering city and waterfront views. Enjoy our perfect location near Keller Auditorium, Riverplace Marina and Portland State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing