We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #27 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Hermiston, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Spent three nights at the Marriot Downtown Waterfront in Portland for a conference. I was able to get a waterfront view room at the very top of the building. It was so pleasant! The view was awesome and the room was quiet and very comfortable. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. My only complaint was the food -- it wasn't that great. The meatloaf we had the first day for lunch was overcooked and very salty -- although the mashed potatoes and carrots were tasty. The lasagna -- with very yummy green beans -- the next day was much better.

I wasn't impressed with the menu in the bar -- the restaurant wasn't open for some reason -- the French fries were limp, which was disappointing.

Otherwise, I thought our stay there was very nice. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    548
    203
    69
    24
See reviews for
212
322
81
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Average Marriott in nice location Next to the river. Small Bathrooms/Small rooms @290 sq ft. (most M's are in the 350+ range) Decent furnishings as expected for a Marriott but kind of claustrophobic. Originally planned to be a Hilton Property but later acquired and opened by Marriott. Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel for a river view but good luck... only about 1/3 or the rooms enjoy this view. All the staff i encountered were true Marriott Professionals.

Room Tip: Front of Hotel facing River
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifetimePlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on a brief trip to visit family in Portland. Located near the city's riverfront, it is on the edges of the downtown area. While not a great distance, it is set somewhat away from the downtown core.

On the whole, I found it to be an average property. While it served my purposes, there was nothing especially great about the hotel. The rooms were fairly standard, providing views of either the downtown or riverfront areas. The front desk staff was professional and eager to assist. However, I had to make multiple requests to receive additional towels, something I have not encountered at other Marriott properties.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
637 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

This was our first time here, so we don't know what it looked like before the remodel of the lobby area. But I really liked the open lobby and the bar/dining area was super comfortable, whether you sit at the bar, tables or enjoy the comfortable couches. The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. The down comforters are cozy, but really too hot to use in Portland, even in the winter...no extra alternative blankets in the closet. $32 for covered parking is "ouch" high, but covered parking garages nearby would have been close to $25, some on-street parking round the block at $3 for 3 hours. But our absolute favorite part... the staff. They were so friendly and professional. From the moment we pulled up and were greeted by the valets & doormen to the front desk staff and bartenders and waitresses. Superb customer service here! We loved that it was right across the street from the waterfront and it wasn't too far to walk to downtown...but there is also a trolley nearby ($1) or a cab ride for only ($4-5). Some fantastic restaurants and multiple coffee shops all within a stroll away. (Use the "Around me" app!)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chowa-Rides-Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, N.Y.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

This very affordable (I paid $114 per night on a Conference rate) hotel is located directly across the street from the Willamette River with biking, walking, running, and kayaking happening from dawn until dusk. The rooms are on the small side but exceptionally clean with wonderfully comfortable beds...and soft, clean sheets! There are no in-room safes, but the front desk staff will gladly set you up with a safety deposit box at no charge which you can access throughout the duration of your stay. There are no in-room refrigerators, but there is a one-cup coffee maker. Bathroom is standard but clean. Property is a stone's throw from some nice coffee shops and restaurants along the river. Starbucks is around the corner, but why not support the local businesses when there are so many to choose from? If you don't feel like walking or the weather isn't to your liking, it's about a 6 block walk to the street car ($1) or an $8 taxi ride to the Pearl District with its many shops, restaurants and Powell's Books - about 1.5 miles away. The staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly - and a seeming reflection of the town itself. Rooms with a water view are nice, although they are also subject to the train whistle (which seems to sound regularly around the clock!) The gift shop offers an unusually nice variety of very affordable souvenirs if you need something last minute to take back home!

Room Tip: Rooms with a water view are subject to round-the-clock train whistle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank espang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
198 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I spend 100+ nights per year in hotel rooms and travel to Portland regularly. This was my 4th visit to this Marriott and 1st since thier public areas renovation.
Property and rooms are beautiful and functional with friendly, professional staff. The new multipurpose lobby bar is a welcome addition and huge improvement from the old/dated Champions. Unexspected bonuses like an indoor pool, hot tub and clean/modern gym add to the Marriotts value.
One of the best all-around hotel experiences I've ever had.
Only issue I had was the $8.00 per hour parking/$32.00 valet. By far the most expensive in Portland...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Very typical of large city Marriott. Friendly staff, especially in the concierge lounge. Convenient to downtown shopping areas and also to waterfront shopping area on the waterfront. We always enjoy dinner at Mccormick's across street and jake's fish house downtown. This is our first choice when staying in Portland, never disappoints. Always happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lv2grw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Property: Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Address: 1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Portland
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing