We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and rude personnel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The location is great, the food was okay (sot sensational), and most of the staff were friendly.

But most of it was bad. To begin, we thought the hotel was booked for about $300 for a two night stay. It turned out to be $400, not including all the taxes. After $10 a day for internet, $32 a day for parking and two-person breakfast, we left with a bill about $600. For two days!

Even the advertised amount for the room on their own website that day was $159, instead of the $209 we were charged. When we went to talk a woman at the lobby, she was totally obnoxious about it and basically told us to take a hike. Her name is Kaitlyn, don't get in her line.

This was not a good deal for the price paid, and they do not honor any Best Price Guarantee, even with their own company's website prices. They were also rude and have overpriced amenities. Skip this hotel and go to one that will treat customers with respect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauretta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

I'm sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. To confirm, the prices quoted on your reservation were $209 for Thursday Night and $189 for Friday night, (both of these nights the hotel was nearly sold out). On Saturday the day of your check-out, the rate for the night was considerably lower at $159 because our hotel had plenty of rooms available. Our hotel bases it's rates on demand for rooms and therefore may fluctuate from one day to the next. We offer complimentary wireless internet in the lobby areas and our in-room wireless internet and parking fees are below the average rates for full-service hotels in downtown Portland and are advertised on our website. If I can assist you with clearing up any of your concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
William Steinberger
Senior Manager of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

I prefer Marriotts when I travel because I know what to expect from this chain. Hotel room was standard. However, as a long time Rewards member, I was disappointed that I did not receive the extra towels and pillows, as I had noted in my profile.

Service at check-in, concierge and the restaurant were great. Very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area and restaurants.

Valet in the morning is a nightmare. Make sure you call down ahead 20 minutes before you need your car anywhere between 730-845 am.

The location is a little far from the main shopping areas, but if you're ok with a 20 min walk, its doable. The location is easily accessible to and from the freeway on/off ramps.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freqtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Nice conference hotel. Comfortable, spacious rooms that are well appointed. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. The location is great - close to the riverfront park. A 5-10 minute taxi ride to all of the entertainment areas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mysticyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us. Next time, join us for a weekend getaway and leave the work at home. You deserve a break from the day-to-day and our hotel is a great headquarters for enjoying Portland. Start your day with us in the Bistro for a fresh Starbuck's Coffee, then go explore one of the greatest cities in the Pacific Northwest. Take a break in the middle of the day by enjoying a few laps in our pool and have a night on the town after. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Some of the features of this Marriott turned me off. The rooms are not a bargain. I was here with my wife who attended a conference at the hotel. These are little gripes but they add up: No surface treatment on the bathtub to prevent slipping. No memo pads or pens in the rooms. Maids do not vacuum the rooms. Other conference goers, a bunch of sociologists, noted that each maid has to clean 32 rooms a shift so they do not clean the bathrooms during the stay. And the WIFI is not normally free and parking stinks for $32 a day. Best parking answer is to use the next door parking garage for $19 a day, but no in-and-out privileges. Breakfast buffet is $21, which is a little high. Ordering a la carte reaches that price threshold quickly.


The staff is very friendly and attentive. This is a conference hotel. If you don't attend a conference here better local deal would be Marriott's Residence Inn where you get breakfast, refrigerator and microwave, none of which you get here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IA-Bubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry our housekeeping services fell short during your stay and would welcome more feedback from your experience. This would give me the opportunity to follow-up with the staff member responsible for your daily cleaning. It is our procedure that each of our guest bathrooms receive a thorough cleaning every day. Our housekeeping staff cleans 15 to 17 rooms per day and on the days of your conference they were each assigned only 16 rooms. You are correct that our hotel is not a discount property, but we do offer hotels within our brand that offer free wifi and breakfast, like our Residence Inn by Marriott. Regarding our Parking, we are actually on the lower tier for price for parking in Downtown Portland with the average price near to $38/night. As a comparison, Seattle is in the mid-$40 range and San Francisco is at $60 per night. We hope when visiting Portland in the future that you choose one of the Marriott Family of hotels and if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to call or send me an email.

Sincerely,
William Steinberger
Senior Manager of Rooms Operations
william.steinberger@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The willamette waterfront area is one of our favorite places to visit in Portland and the Waterfront Marriott is our usual first choice when we want to visit the city and take long walks on the river.
We were surprise on our arrival to find that the hotel was packed with conference goers. But despite this the hotel staff managed quite well.

We arrived quite a few hours before check in time but were quickly given a room by the front staff. Even though the hotel lounge and restaurants were packed, we were able to be seated and served quickly. As usual the room was excellent and our checkout the next morning was smooth.

Not the most expensive place nor the least, but definitely a top choice for us while visiting Portland

Room Tip: we had a river view room with a lovely view of Mt Hood on the 7th floor. Our advice is to avoid sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoTravelerDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for the rave review of our hotel. Our staff is very proud of the level of service offered to our guests and it is the individual hosts at our property that truely make a difference. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were on a 4-day road swing visiting colleges and the Mariott Waterfront was our last stay. The location in downtown Portland is very convenient. It's located in the southeast corner of downtown near Portland State University. We were able to walk all over downtown from there. However, conveniences that were free at other hotels in Olympia and Corvallis cost extra at this hotel: $32 for valet parking and $10 for wi-fi (e-mail & web access only; $15 for video chat, lg file downloads and video streaming). These costs are all on the Mariott website. There is $19 self-parking (on the Mariott website) one block away but the valet denied that it existed; we found it during our walk. There is no frig or mircrowave (it was the least equipped room but the most expensive on our trip).The hotel and hotel room were clean. This hotel is probably better suited for business travelers who can expense the extra costs. Location and cleanliness are what I would most recommend about this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank poidogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we will pass it along to the rest of the staff. Portland is a great city for fun things to see and do and our hotel is well situated to take advantage of them. We hope you come back to see us again soon and for future reference, we have refrigerators available upon request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Was in Portland for a conference held in this hotel. The property is beautiful with an amazing view of the river and Mount Hood. Customer service was outstanding and the food was great! Staff for the conference, front desk and even the ladies at the gift shop were very kind and helpful. The location is nice, great area for a morning run along the river and close to the Downtown Portland visitors will want to explore.

Room Tip: I recommend a room towards the top with a view of the river! Have your camera ready for sunrise pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank your the excellent review of our hotel. We hope you come back to stay with us again for leisure as well. Portland is a great city and there are plenty of things to do, close to our hotel. The Williamette River, Oregon Museum of Science and Industry and the Keller Auditorium just to name a few.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#24 of 144 in Portland
215 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Address: 1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#33 Family Hotel in Portland
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £102 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan a memorable getaway to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront. Our upscale hotel in Portland, Oregon sits along the Willamette River in the heart of the action offering city and waterfront views. Enjoy our perfect location near Keller Auditorium, Riverplace Marina and Portland State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing