We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big place, close to Lloyd Center, MAX, and Convention center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #37 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Friendly staff, clean accommodations. Great salmon chowder in the restaurant. Couldn't get my room to cool off enough the first night though and the fan seemed to make it worse. The second night I left the fan off and it was actually a little better (cooler). Conference room for business meeting was dark and old.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pseudotsuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,880 - 1,886 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed here for two nights in December, 2012. Our request for an upper floor was granted (we were on the 11th floor) and had a beautiful view of downtown Portland. We could see 4 bridges, the Amtrak station, and alot of the downtown Portland skyline from there. It's also right on the MAX line and two blocks from the Portland streetcar, which means you can park your car and forget it as Portland is extremely transit-friendly.

The room could have used a small refrigerator and microwave as it's certainly big enough, and the coffee maker only made very weak coffee (we just went to Starbucks across the street in Lloyd Center, so that was no problem), but otherwise the stay was delightful.

The room was clean, the staff were nice and even let us stay an extra hour before checkout, and access in and out of the attached parking garage was easy.

It was a wonderful stay and really have no complaints about this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allie_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

Pros: Great location (Lloyd Center is across the street), staff was wonderful (Sara in particular), comfy bed and pillows

Cons: The carpet in my room was dirty/smelly, I didn't sniff the floor per se but there was an odd odor from the floor and the bottom of feet was always dirty from walking on the carpet so I spread towels throughout the floor which made it better lol.

My room location was kinda cruddy because I had a view of the parking garage and I ALWAYS heard the Max running, it was annoying the 1st few hours, but oddly enough I got used to it. However I don't think most people would like that noise.

Not sure if I would stay here again, but at least the staff were kind and the beds were comfy :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5foot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Ride the light rail from the Portland airport directly to the Lloyd Center station which is right across the street from the DoubleTree. For tax-free shopping, the mall stores are half a block away! No need to rent a car because some wonderful restaurants are also nearby. We also took in a movie...two theaters within minutes of the hotel. Very good service, nicely-maintained hotel and good breakfast buffet. All in all, we could not have asked for a better weekend experience, and the price was more than reasonable. We're sure to return :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

I had the best stay in Portland here and I expect this to be the hotel I'll revisit in the area.
Location was great. Walking distance to the mall and restaurants. Stayed on the top floor and had great dual window view of the city.
Fitness center was excellent.
Breakfast buffet was excellent. Plenty of options for picky eaters/dieters.
The staff was very helpful.
Fruit and water in the lobby area/floor - just a very nice touch.
Self parking was available I think $18. Not unreasonable for the location.

I've stayed at other hotels in the area and I found this to be the best considering the rate, location and overall bargain. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I stayed here for just one night, and it was a relaxing, peaceful experience. I will continue to stay at doubletree Hilton. It's the type of service that makes me want to keep coming back. I have stayed at plenty of doubletrees, but this one takes the cake because its right next to a shopping mall and the max that will take u downtown free.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meleeka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSteveF, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Dear Alexis,
thanks for your 'Amazing' review! I'm pleased you had a great, although short, experience, and our team took great care of you!

We hope to see you on your next visit to Portland!

with THANKS,
Steve Faulstick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I stayed here for a night, and upon check-in, I was offered an upgrade to a presidential suite as a Gold member. The suite was great -- with a large living room and fairly sizable bedroom, and a bathroom with a hot tub and shower. The carpet seemed a little worn, but was still kept in decent shape and everything was clean and reasonable. I also received breakfast at the hotel restaurant, and the staff there were very friendly, welcoming, and gave quick service... so quick that everything was cleared away while I went to go get another plate from the buffet. But upon noticing me return to the table, they were equally as quick to get me new silverware and orange juice, so no big deal.

The location is right across the street from a MAX light rail stop, so it's easy to get to from the airport, and the light rail will get you to most places within Portland. It's also across the street from Lloyd Center, which is a gigantic mall. They also have one of those monitors in the front lobby that says when the next trains are coming, so you don't have to wait outside -- which is helpful in the rainy Pacific northwest. A small touch, but a nice one at that!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pseudosphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#28 of 144 in Portland
237 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Address: 1000 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Portland
#27 Family Hotel in Portland
#29 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £72 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Portland is a full service hotel with two restaurants, a seasonal outdoor pool, executive meeting center, four spacious ballrooms, complimentary fitness room and business center. The hotel is across the street from the one of Oregon's largest indoor malls where you can take advantage of the state's tax free shopping on retail items. The MAX Light Rail runs directly from the airport to our hotel for $2.50. We are Oregon's leading sustainable hotel and just four blocks or two MAX stops for the Oregon Convention Center. It is easy to connect to all of Portland's attractions via the light rail or streetcar systems and stops are across the street or two blocks from the hotel respectively. As with any DoubleTree, we greet all our arriving guests with our world famous DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie with Walnuts, a delightful way to start any stay. Our team looks forward to Passionately Serving you with Excellence soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Portland Hotel Portland
Doubletree Portland
Portland Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing