We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #35 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The staff was extra friendly which mad e the difference here. I was here for a conference which gave us a discounted group rate and included wifi and parking. Without those extras I definitely would have felt it was overpriced. I think wifi was about $15 a day and parking $18. The room was just average. Good location to convention center, about 1/2 mile walk. Would stay here again if it was on same group rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerryj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    709
    334
    109
    39
See reviews for
258
345
120
1,013
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Awesome customer service. Everyone was very helpful. The only complaint I have is bed. Both of the queen beds needed to be replaced. The mattress were very worn out. I attend a conference so this hotel was a few short blocks from the convention center. The light rail MAX makes it convienent to travel anywhere in Portland. You can take the MAX to and from the airport very easily. It stops right in front of the Doubletree.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here for a night in January because we were going to a Trailblazer's game. The hotel is very close to the Rose Garden-- about a five or ten minute walk. Across the street from the hotel is the Max so it is very easy to get around Portland without a car. I have gold status so we were upgraded to a better room and we also got free breakfast. The hotel was extremely nice, no complaints. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie_Janeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

You are probably going to stay here if you are attending an event or convention down down. I found it to be very comfortable, very predictable and a very good value. Wish the pool was inside but otherwise, no surpeises. Breakfasts buffet is really top notch and highly recommended....quick, excellent choices and very reasonably priced.

Would make this one a regular place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We came out on a combination business trip and honeymoon. The staff does a great job,the room was clean and our view was neat of downtown Portland. Thanks to the staff for the complimentary chocolate covered strawberries they both looked and tasted amazing. The concierge desk was really helpful and had great suggestions and directions. the fitness room was clean and convenient. the food for the meetings was good and the rooms for that always had plenty of water,and coffee liked the whipped cream and chocolate chips for the coffee. It was a great stay and would recommend the Doubletree to anyone .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwiaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

If you need a hotel that you can access easily from the airport with connections to downtown this is a good choice. The MAX drops you right off at the hotel for $2.50. With the train and cable car stops so close you can easily explore all of the city. The staff is very helpful, friendly and give you warm cookies when you check in. Rooms are small but the beds are great! Good choice if you are there to explore the city. So many food choices I would not eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSteveF, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
dear jla123,

Thank you for the great review! You gave a great tip about the easy access to the entire city (and airport) from our hotel. While there are so many fantastic food choices in the city, our very own Gather restaurant is a 'must-dine' while in Portland. Amazingly fresh, local fare that continues to receive rave reviews.

all the best in your travels!
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I've attended meetings at this Doubletree and they have always been wonderful to work with in the meeting room area. I stayed here last week and was quite impressed with all the other parts of the hotel. My room was outstanding - soft pillows, quiet and clean. The restaurant/bar area made the best hotel food I've ever had. Try the grilled cheese and tomato soup - the best.

The fitness room is quite large with several machines so there was no wait for cardio equipment. They provide headphones so you can walk/run/ride away mindlessly while watching tv. I will recommend this hotel to all travelers who come to Portland. The proximity to the MAX is also a double bonus for those going to or from the airport.

Room Tip: I was on the 12th floor and had an amazing view of Portland
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chianti_girl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 142 in Portland
392 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#40 of 142 in Portland
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 1000 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Portland
#27 Family Hotel in Portland
#29 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Portland is a full service hotel with two restaurants, a seasonal outdoor pool, executive meeting center, four spacious ballrooms, complimentary fitness room and business center. The hotel is across the street from the one of Oregon's largest indoor malls where you can take advantage of the state's tax free shopping on retail items. The MAX Light Rail runs directly from the airport to our hotel for $2.50. We are Oregon's leading sustainable hotel and just four blocks or two MAX stops for the Oregon Convention Center. It is easy to connect to all of Portland's attractions via the light rail or streetcar systems and stops are across the street or two blocks from the hotel respectively. As with any DoubleTree, we greet all our arriving guests with our world famous DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie with Walnuts, a delightful way to start any stay. Our team looks forward to Passionately Serving you with Excellence soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Portland Hotel Portland
Doubletree Portland
Portland Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing