We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #35 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Our first trip to Portland was a good experience with help of the Doubletree! Everyone was helpful and so friendly. We had a beautiful view of the city in a room with a balcony. There was some construction going on but we found it quite interesting to watch.

We used the fantastic public transit the whole time and having the train station across the street made staying here flawless! We went all over the city and met friends in Beaverton easily on the train.

We will be back and will definitely stay at the Doubletree.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisydum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
daisydum,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland and positive review here on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us, including the view of the city.

I do agree the construction project nearby has been interesting to watch. We are very excited about our new neighbor and can't wait to see the improvements the high end residential units and additional retail space will bring to our neighborhood.

I am thrilled to read you will definitely be back and thank you for the recommendation. Please let me know when you plan to return and I will be very happy to assist with any future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    699
    324
    106
    36
See reviews for
251
335
118
992
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We were so shocked to open our room on the third floor to a roach darting for cover. After killing that one, it's friend was in the sink!!! The manager came to the room and said that they did use pest control. Since we had prepaid on Hotwire - no options to move at 10 pm. Although they were nice and moved us to the 6 th floor and gave us free breakfast tickets at $14 each, my family slept all night with the lights on- creeped out the whole time!! Yuck we won't be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splash2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Splash2016,

I am so sorry to read about your experience at our facility. I want to do what I can to make this up to you and your family. I will admit this is a new report I have not received about our property before, and am so sorry it was your experience.

We are taking this very seriously and working to make sure there is no re-occurrence. Please see the direct message I sent you. I look forward to hearing back from you at your convenience.

My sincere apologies again,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel was easy to find and was nicely furnished and clean with friendly, helpful staff. The warm cookie at check-in did it for me. There was secure parking too which made me feel safe about parking there. The location wasn't that great being next to a construction workplace and being further from a lot of attractions. Although it was close to the lightrails which is only a couple minutes to downtown and the Lloyd Centre. It was also within walking distance to some great places to eat on NE Broadway Street. It would have been great if there was a mini fridge in the room too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivienht12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
roxyroseviv1503,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. Our Warm DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookies with walnuts are a great way to start any stay and a favorite for sure.

Thanks for your comments about the nearby construction. We are very excited about the high end residential units and additional retail space that will be a welcome addition to our neighborhood. It has been fun to watch the progress they make each day.

Please let me know when you plan to be back in the Portland area and I will be glad to assist in making reservations, including requesting a mini-fridge and microwave for your room.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It's a bit of an older facility, but they've done a great job updating the rooms, lobby and bar/restaurant. The food in the bar is delicious and the people are super friendly. The breakfast is always good. I love that they always have a huge variety of fresh fruit. It's not the greatest location, but the mall is right across the street and downtown Portland is a MAX ride away. The stop is right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Christine P,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland and positive review here on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to read you had a positive experience and enjoyed our tasty food and the service from our staff.

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for your business. We do hope you have you stay with us again soon. Please let me know if I may assist with any future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California, United States
Level Contributor
231 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

The Lloyd Center Doubletree, with its big, clean nicely decorated rooms and warm cookie is definitely better than your average hotel. But there are some drawbacks. The location, next to a suburban style enclosed mall and a couple miles from downtown, is not all that great. Unless you're interested in going to the multiplex next door, there's not a lot to do around here at night without driving somewhere. The architecture feels like a throwback from the 1970s and the wireless Internet did not work very well. The breakfast buffet, however, was very good and it was free, but that may have only been because I am an HHonors member.

The price, at $180 all in, felt steep for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Pelicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Stephen F,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. I do hope you will stay with us again and I would be thrilled to share with you all the terrific things you can experience within a short distance from the hotel. You are a correct there is often a bit of travel involved, but with light rail, streetcar or cabs you can get just about anywhere in the city in a few short minutes. Some of Portland most popular eateries, including Portland's Top Rated Restaurant according to TripAdvisor, are very close to the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for your business and I do hope to be hearing from you soon to book a future stay.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I attended a conference in Portland this week. When I checked I found that the Hotels Downtown were either full or priced in low interstellar orbit. So the Doubletree at Lloyd Center seemed like a great option.

It may be reached directly from Portland's wonderful MAX light rail and resides on the Red line which originates in the airport. Fare from the airport is $2.50.

Checked into the hotel and found the room and public spaces to be a little tired. Carpets in the halls were frayed etc. Also was a little put off wall mounted dispensers for shampoo etc. Seems like something you'd see in a low end budget motel.

Although an elite HHonors member when there was no itemized bill under the door. When I asked for one they stressed I'd get one via e-mail. I said I'd prefer a hard copy. Good thing I asked as the rate was incorrect (higher). I asked why and was told that (without asking me) they had "upgraded" me to a higher priced room. Since I a print out of my original reservation they (after a little consternation) corrected the bill. Since they had already billed my card they told me the correction might take 7-10 days.

Staff overall was friendly and helpful. Enjoyed three terrific breakfasts in the restaurant. The hotel is three blocks from the convention center and the trailblazers stadium. It is a short trip by light rail anywhere downtown, the Amtrak train station, or on to Hillsboro or Beaverton.

I would stay here again. But I am hopeful they refresh the place and lose all that 1980's era dark colors and furniture.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer views and less road/rail noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: Just the Typical stuff. Low flow fixtures, recycle bins and "reuse the sheets/towel" program. Nothing extraordinary.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
ArizonaArchitect,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your comments and will be sure to share them with ownership as they prepare to make decisions about capital investment in the property for the next calendar year.

I did want to mention the bulk amenities we have in the hotel are only on select floors in the building and are designed as a green initiative to help reduce the waste that is produced by the thousands and thousands of small bottles hotels use for shampoo, conditioner and body wash each year. Unfortunately the size of the bottles makes it difficult to find a company that is willing to recycle them and bulk dispensers are a way of reducing the waste.

I do apologize about the billing error and the hassle you received about getting a hard copy of your bill. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to fix it.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your business. We do appreciate it and are grateful to have had the opportunity to serve you. Please let me know if your travels bring you back our way and I would be honored to assist with making future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW LONDON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Great Location, Great Service, Warm Cookie, Whats not to like? Mall, Movies, Mass Transit, with in walking distance.(1/2 Block) Great starting point for your trip to Portland- the other 200 characters can only be considered filler for review purposes only

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank ElgatoBaldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
ElgatoBaldez,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland and great review here on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to read you had a great experience with us.

On behalf of our entire team, we appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back, warm DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie and all, very soon.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#36 of 141 in Portland
19 reviews
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 141 in Portland
371 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 1000 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Portland
#27 Family Hotel in Portland
#29 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Portland is a full service hotel with two restaurants, a seasonal outdoor pool, executive meeting center, four spacious ballrooms, complimentary fitness room and business center. The hotel is across the street from the one of Oregon's largest indoor malls where you can take advantage of the state's tax free shopping on retail items. The MAX Light Rail runs directly from the airport to our hotel for $2.50. We are Oregon's leading sustainable hotel and just four blocks or two MAX stops for the Oregon Convention Center. It is easy to connect to all of Portland's attractions via the light rail or streetcar systems and stops are across the street or two blocks from the hotel respectively. As with any DoubleTree, we greet all our arriving guests with our world famous DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie with Walnuts, a delightful way to start any stay. Our team looks forward to Passionately Serving you with Excellence soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Portland Hotel Portland
Doubletree Portland
Portland Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing