We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for Blazers games”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #35 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Corvallis, United States
1 review
“Great place to stay for Blazers games”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Our room was upgraded to a double queen with no extra charge. Is it my imagination or are hotel "queens" getting smaller? The hotel is very nice, spacious, great lounge area, a half block from the MAX although we walked to and from the Moda Center (about a 15-minute walk). Parking was very reasonable in the garage on a Saturday night $10. I would skip the buffet breakfast. Poor quality. We didn't try ordering off the menu, however.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Nancy P,

Thank you for your recent stay and positive review here on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you enjoy the location. I also appreciate your comments. We do hear from time to time that our queen beds seem small, but we have measured and they are the correct size. Also thank you for your comments on breakfast. I am sorry it did not meet with your expectations and I will be sure to share your feedback with the chef.

Please let me know if I may provide any assistance with future reservations and I will gladly provide you with a complimentary upgrade to a breakfast package, so you can give our buffet another try. On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your business and Go Blazers!

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    703
    329
    108
    37
See reviews for
253
339
118
1,001
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

So there was a huge cheerleading event going on so some of these things may have been related to that, though I think hotels should shine when fully occupied!

All of the staff I encountered was friendly and polite. The location vs price seemed pretty good. I think we cabbed it for about $10 to grab drinks. The breakfast buffet would probably have been better on a less busy day, there were lines waiting to be seated and some of the items left empty though multiple tables empty or left uncleaned. Guessing they were understaffed in perpetration for the hordes of cheerleading people. I thought the food was poor at best, though my freind whom I had treated to 5 previous hilton brand buffets this trip said he thought it was the best one we had yet, so there's that...

Our room did have pay per view which I think is becoming more unusual, but I like to mention since I am one of those crazy people that will occasionally drop $15-$20 to see a movie in my hotel room while it's still in theaters. Who has seen a movie in the theater for less than that in the past 10 years?!

One of the elevators was not working, and with all the teenagers there was always a wait for the elevator.

Overall I may give this property another shot on a less busy night. But otherwise I'm not sure it was worth the price...

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HiltonHonorsHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
HiltonHonorsHunter,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review our property here on TripAdvisor. You are correct, we should be at our best when full and I am terribly sorry we were not. I appreciate your open and honest feedback and will be sure to pass on to our food and beverage leadership team.

I do sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you and invite you to please let me know if I may provide any assistance with reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The DoubleTree at Lloyd Center/Portland, Oregon, is conveniently located for business and shopping purposes. Public transit is readily available. Restaurant service is adequate. If there were one thing that could be improved, it would be the noise level during the night. MAX transit trains create rumbling sounds throughout the evening until about 1 a.m., and then resume about 5 a.m.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rodney Adolph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Rodney Adolph A,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland. I am glad to read you had a positive experience with us. On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your business. Please let me know when you are ready to book your next stay and I will gladly pre-assign a room for you away from the trains.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The hotel is in a great location; nearby the MAX. The room we had was very spacious and we had an awesome view of downtown. However, nothing really stood out. The service was mediocre, the room was not "hotel clean," a fridge would have been useful, and pre arrival was kind of frustrating. The elevators are really cool and offer a good view of Mt. Hood.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1361 and had a great view. Try to get high floor rooms with similar odd numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Asher P,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review your experience here on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you enjoyed the location and view, but sorry we did not provide an extraordinary service experience, including during your pre-arrival.

Our goal is that every guest be extremely satisfied with their stay and I am sorry the service we provided was not exceptional. I will be sharing your comments with our staff, so they understand the influence they have to make every guest feel special. Also one quick note, we do have mini fridges available and gladly deliver them when requested. I apologize we missed sharing that with you as well.

I do hope you will choose to stay with us again and invite you to please contact me if I may assist with future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Lovely service, lovely room with a nice view. The room was extremely comfortable, clean and relaxing. Solid professional service all around. The stay was put through Orbitz which usually have very prices. Next time in town will try to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drago672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Drago672,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland and for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read you had a great stay with us and that the staff served you with excellence.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your business. We look forward to your next stay. Please let me know if I may provide any personal assistance with your next reservation.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The room was clean but tiny, very tiny. You could hardly squeeze into the bathroom. We ordered a queen sized bed but it was clearly a full size. The front desk assured me that it was a queen sized bed the tags on the sheets that said "full size" made him look like a liar. We arrived very late so the restaurant was only serving from the Bar menu, which was fine it had decent options. The salads were spicy but good, we ordered drinks to cool the spicy and my wife did not get hers until after we were finished eating. At the end of our meal the waitress stated that the drink order "got lost." Which amazed me since we counted 6 staff members working behind the bar and only one other table besides ours. For a place that charges $18 for a waffle (no joke its on the menu) I expected more. I booked the room 3 months in advance and requested a crib to be in the room for our child. When we arrived there was no crib and the front desk was confused about how to get a crib into our room at such a late time because everyone was gone for the night. I felt maybe it was something that should have been done in the day, like all the other hotels we've stayed at. They eventually send a man in a full blue jumpsuit which appeared to be a maintenance man to deliver the crib. Out of everyone at the hotel I thought this man, as scraggly as he appeared, was the most genuinely pleasant people to be employed by this hotel. Our stay was not horrible but for the money I urge people to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastalFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
CoastalFamily6,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am terribly sorry to read your stay with us was not what you would have hoped. Our desire is every guest experience with us be a positive one and I am sorry that was not the case.

I do want to assure you and others reading, that our beds are in fact queen beds. I myself am confused by the tag you mentioned seeing on the sheets, but we have measured our beds and they are queen size beds. In regards to the other items I would like to follow-up with you personally. Please see the direct message I am sending you. I am hopeful we can find an agreeable resolution that will earn back your trust.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA. USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The accommidations and the service was excellent. We highly recommend this hotel if your are staying in Portland, OR. The breakfast is one of the best experienced in an Ameriucan hotel. The contacts with waiters, housekeepers, the front desk or the concierge all contribute to a memborable experience. E\We have been coming to this hotle for more than six years with a constantly high level of service and satisfaction on our part.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank BoldBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
BoldBear,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland and for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to read that our team consistently serves you with excellence.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for spending the holidays with us and again for your continued loyalty. Please let me know if I may provide any asisstance with future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 141 in Portland
379 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#51 of 141 in Portland
53 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 1000 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Portland
#27 Family Hotel in Portland
#29 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Portland is a full service hotel with two restaurants, a seasonal outdoor pool, executive meeting center, four spacious ballrooms, complimentary fitness room and business center. The hotel is across the street from the one of Oregon's largest indoor malls where you can take advantage of the state's tax free shopping on retail items. The MAX Light Rail runs directly from the airport to our hotel for $2.50. We are Oregon's leading sustainable hotel and just four blocks or two MAX stops for the Oregon Convention Center. It is easy to connect to all of Portland's attractions via the light rail or streetcar systems and stops are across the street or two blocks from the hotel respectively. As with any DoubleTree, we greet all our arriving guests with our world famous DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie with Walnuts, a delightful way to start any stay. Our team looks forward to Passionately Serving you with Excellence soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Portland Hotel Portland
Doubletree Portland
Portland Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing