We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #37 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Disappointed that there was not a refrigerator or microwave in the room, did find out that they can be requested but not until check out. Enjoyed having the hotel close to the mall, walking distance, and it was fun as there was a Haunt Convention (Hauntacon) happening while we were there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

John H:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear we didn't effectively communicate regarding the refrigerator and microwave; we are always happy to deliver them and I wish we had known you were in need. I'm glad you had a bit of a chance to explore the neighborhood and that you enjoyed seeing the Haunters Convention set up. Hopefully we have the chance to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Kind regards,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,397 - 1,403 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

The DoubleTree in Portland on Multnomah is central to many desirable locations. There's very easy access to the Max trains which will conveniently drop you off at many touristy areas. The Gather bar and Multnomah Grill in the lobby are decent enough. The food at Gather is better than the Multnomah Grill. Exercise room is very clean, 24/7 and has sufficient cardio and free weights, etc. equipment. My wife thought the bed in the "King Size Bed Larger Room" was uncomfortably soft, but I thought it was okay - to each their own and in fairness, she's 7 months pregnant so it's not easy to be comfortable for her right now anyway. The staff was able to accommodate our various requests to change the bedsheets after the maid service had already come and other requests like "we forgot our tooth brush, etc". Overall, Very Good!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Jerry D:

Thank you so much for the lovely review and for staying with us here in Portland. I'm glad you had the chance to try both the restaurants and use the fitness room. Congratulations to you and your wife on your approaching addition to your family! I'm always glad to hear that our guests found our staff welcoming and accommodating and I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here while he was in town for business. We found all the staff to be pleasant and helpful. The food at both restaurants was good. Susan at the desk said she would get us a nice room since we were there celebrating our anniversary. The room was very nice and large with a balcony and a view of downtown Portland. The only drawback is the construction going on across the street. It was pretty noisy, and started very early in the morning. I realize this isn't the hotels fault but it does impact the guests . The best part was the closeness of the train, we could get anywhere in the city quickly and easily.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dyat:

Happy anniversary! Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review on TripAdvisor. I'll be sure to share your comments with Susan as well as the restaurant staff. I do apologize for the construction noise; for the most part they have been pretty low key as they put up what promises to be a fantastic addition to our neighborhood, but I suppose it is unavoidable that from time to time they will have noisier tasks to complete. We'd be happy to find you a room facing East next time you visit us. Thank you again for the comments, they really do help us to best serve all of our guests.

Kind regards,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was a great place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. Great location with easy access to the train for transportation to the airport or around the city. The services for business where excellent. The meeting rooms have wifi which is convenient for working meetings. The food is excellent with great buffet style lunches and breakfasts. The only issue is lack of free wifi in guest rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank grobbins42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Grobbins42:

Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you for writing such a glowing review! I'm glad you found the light rail such a convenient addition and that the business services allowed you to get work done with so little hassle. We do offer free WiFi in our guestrooms at the basic level with paid upgrades available. I do apologize that we didn't clearly communicate on that amenity for you and I am working with my front office team to make sure we are being clear during the check in process. I sincerely hope we have the chance to welcome you back again sometime very soon.

Kind regards,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This building is a bit dated, room was a little rough around the edges. Windows made a weird popping sound all night long, which was kind of annoying. Seems as if they've worked to update the rooms, but the building as a whole needs some help. Staff were very nice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Sarah S,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of the hotel here on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read that the staff served you well and appreciate your feedback regarding the building. We have made some improvements to the building in recent years and are excited that we still have some upcoming projects that will make a significant difference in the building. Keep in touch and I will be glad to update you with the scheduled improvements as they are announced.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your business and I am hopeful we have the luxury of serving you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I only stayed one night for a conference, but all aspects of my stay were delightful. The check in staff was friendly and helpful. The chocolate chip cookie was just the right snack after a long day. And the bed provided a snug and sound sleep. Definitely one of my favorite Portland spots.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Regina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Regina R:

We love this city enough to find your review a very high complement. Thank you so much for writing a review and for naming us one of your favorite Portland spots. I do hope we can have you back again soon for several more days. I love how many reviews mention how friendly and helpful our front desk staff is. We're happy to invite you back with a cookie anytime.

Kind regards,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very nice at the front desk. Hotel appeared clean. Food was good. View from the elevator was outstanding. The hotel parking garage was included with the room, which was a nice addition. Small complaint, remote wasn't working and at 9:30 I had no desire to go back downstairs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Tom H:

Thank you very much for staying with us Tom, and thank you for the review. Traveling on business isn't always much fun and we try our best to take care of the details for you. I'm always glad to hear a guest is comfortable and feels well looked after by our front desk staff. However I am very sorry to see the remote in your room wasn't working properly and I apologize for the inconvenience. We are always happy to bring you a new one. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon with a fully functioning array of technology in your guestroom.

Kind regards,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#26 of 144 in Portland
233 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Address: 1000 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Portland
#27 Family Hotel in Portland
#29 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £72 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Portland is a full service hotel with two restaurants, a seasonal outdoor pool, executive meeting center, four spacious ballrooms, complimentary fitness room and business center. The hotel is across the street from the one of Oregon's largest indoor malls where you can take advantage of the state's tax free shopping on retail items. The MAX Light Rail runs directly from the airport to our hotel for $2.50. We are Oregon's leading sustainable hotel and just four blocks or two MAX stops for the Oregon Convention Center. It is easy to connect to all of Portland's attractions via the light rail or streetcar systems and stops are across the street or two blocks from the hotel respectively. As with any DoubleTree, we greet all our arriving guests with our world famous DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie with Walnuts, a delightful way to start any stay. Our team looks forward to Passionately Serving you with Excellence soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Portland Hotel Portland
Doubletree Portland
Portland Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing