We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #36 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Location, location, location.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Double Tree at Lloyd Center for events connected to the Portland Rose Festival and it was the perfect location. The Lloyd Center shopping center is right across the street as are 2 parks and the light rail that takes you into town. The light rail is inexpensive and very easy to use. Getting to a host of great eateries in downtown Portland is a snap. We had a room on the 13th floor overlooking a park and a gorgeous view of Mt. Hood. For some reason, our room was not made up one day. We came back to our room in the afternoon to find it as we left it in the morning. Maid service wanted to clean it then but we were resting for an evening event so we just had them skip it. Also, the car parked next to us in the hotel parking garage had a window broken out. Grateful we sustained no damage but I think the parking garage is not very secure. I would have given this hotel an excellent rating if it had not been for these 2 things.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Darci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Darci W:

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad the location and access to the light rail were perfect for you and that you had a chance to enjoy the view from your room. I apologize for the oversight on your housekeeping service; we do try to have stayover services done earlier, but from time to time our housekeepers have to put them off until the vacant rooms are finished. Unfortunately there isn't a perfect way to do it, but if you ever need your rooms made up by a certain time, we are more than happy to schedule accordingly. I was alarmed to hear about the garage vandalism near you and I assure you we are constantly looking at new ways to ensure the safety and security of the garage. Break ins are rare, but unfortunately they do happen from time to time. Thank you for all your feedback and I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back the next time you find yourself in Portland.

Kind regards,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    709
    335
    109
    39
See reviews for
259
346
120
1,014
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stay at this hotel every year for more than 25 years and noticed a big improvement this last stay. The breakfast buffet Nazis are gone. The restaurant staff has improved. Friendly and helpful. Quick to serve. The check in/out and concierge service is always excellent. I return because of your people, beds & convenience. The elevators doors are too quick to close & don't reopen when a person is partially in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Virginia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Virginia K:

Thank you so much for your loyalty and thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor. I'm so glad the changes you have noticed are positive, specifically in regards to the more relaxed atmosphere at breakfast. I always love hearing that the staff stands out as friendly and helpful. I passed your comments about the elevator doors on to my maintenance staff and they will be making inquiries with the elevator company. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Kind regards,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We visited the Portland Doubletree at the Lloyd Center. We selected this hotel because it's the best within walking distance of the Moda Center; we were there for the Dress to Kill Cher concert.
The desk staff is attentive and the lobby is attractive enough. The rooms need updating. The bathroom - you cannot get into the bathroom very well because there is only inches separating the door and the toilet; it requires some manuvering of your body. The bed was comfortable and the sleep was undisturbed. We wanted to have a night cap a bite to eat after the concert, the bar closes at 11 pm. No alcohol. So, we walked about 1 mile to the local applebees to get a glass of wine and something to eat. I've never heard of a hotel bar closing for alcohol service at 11 pm. The morning bruch has two choices and we went with the continental for $12.00 each. It's a lot of food and of course all you can eat. A good value for $12.00 each. If you are in the Lloyd Center, this is a good place to stay. But if you want to have a late night drink, you'll need to find a place outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
suzanne0109,

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback here on TripAdvisor. On behalf of our entire team I genuinely appreciate it. I am so glad to read the staff served you well and that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. I will be sure to pass your comments about updating onto the owners and am pleased to share we are in the final planning stages for a renovation we expect to start this winter. I will also share your feedback about our evening foodservice with the team. We should have anticipated late night diners after the concert and looks like we missed an opportunity.

I do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again soon and I invite you let me know if I may provide any assistance with reservations. I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
503-331-4993
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, hotel, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay! Pros: Spacious double room overlooking a pleasant park; close to public rail system stop (handy but noise can be a problem for sleeping). Nice outdoor pool. Really excellent breakfast buffet! Cons: very limited menu for lunch and supper/dinner. Also ironing board in room was ancient & very tippy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Susan H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Susan H C:

Thank you so much for staying with us and for the wonderful review. I'm so glad your room and view were enjoyed as well as the pool and breakfast. We try to change the options in our dining room seasonally and should have updated menus soon; hopefully next time you stay with us you will find more things to your liking. I will have our housekeeping manager keep an eye out for any tippy ironing boards; thank you for letting us know it was not in tip top shape. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again sometime very soon.

Many thanks,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week on business in April. The hotel is located next to the light rail and across from the loyd center. Actually, it's only a few blocks from the moda center if you are heading out to a Trailbalzers or Winterhawks game.
The hotel is nice, clean, and felt modern. Check in was quick and they give you a chocolate chip cookie.
My room was in the 14th floor. To get there you ride a glass elevator, which has fantastic views of Mt. Hood on a clear day.
I had a king room which was massive. Honestly one of the largest normal rooms I have ever had. I had floor to ceiling windows which looked out to downtown Portland.
The tv was nice and had a decent selection of channels.
The hotel also has a couple of restaurants. I only ate at the bar, but the food was good and the staff friendly.
I would recommended this hotel for any type if stay.
It is literally steps from the train making it perfect if you do not have a car as the train goes to both downtown and PDX.
Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Jonathan M:

Thank you for staying with us in April and for taking the time to write a review. We love being so close to the Moda center and the Oregon Convention Center as well as having the convenience of the light rail just steps away. I'm so glad you enjoyed the room and your view of the mountain. I love reading that the staff in the restaurant was a highlight during your stay and we would all absolutely love to have you back sometime soon.

Kind regards,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevallo, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at the Doubletree for an in-hotel conference, but it was SUPER convenient to the MAX for exploring. I had a very roomy double queen with a nice balcony view that was private- I could leave the curtains open at night to see the night sky and drink coffee in my jammies looking at the mountains in the morning. Staff is friendly and helpful and catering was pretty good for our events, too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Emily G:

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review here on TripAdvisor. I'm so glad to hear you had such a lovely time and were able to enjoy your balcony and view. I was also glad you found the staff so friendly and helpful - we really pride ourselves on our customer service and I love being able to pass on all the great comments we get. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you find yourself in Portland.

Kind regards,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It was great!! It was wonderful!!! The best stay I've had in a hotel in years. I recommend this to any traveler to Portland, Oregon. Thank you so much for the hospitality and the great customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Jessica B:

I'm so glad to hear it! Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a wonderful review. It was absolutely our pleasure to provide you with hospitality and great customer service. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Many thanks,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 143 in Portland
394 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#39 of 143 in Portland
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 1000 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Portland
#27 Family Hotel in Portland
#29 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Portland is a full service hotel with two restaurants, a seasonal outdoor pool, executive meeting center, four spacious ballrooms, complimentary fitness room and business center. The hotel is across the street from the one of Oregon's largest indoor malls where you can take advantage of the state's tax free shopping on retail items. The MAX Light Rail runs directly from the airport to our hotel for $2.50. We are Oregon's leading sustainable hotel and just four blocks or two MAX stops for the Oregon Convention Center. It is easy to connect to all of Portland's attractions via the light rail or streetcar systems and stops are across the street or two blocks from the hotel respectively. As with any DoubleTree, we greet all our arriving guests with our world famous DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie with Walnuts, a delightful way to start any stay. Our team looks forward to Passionately Serving you with Excellence soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Portland Hotel Portland
Doubletree Portland
Portland Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing