We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downtown Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #34 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Appleton, United States
1 review
“Downtown Portland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Room and bathroom too small and had too little surface area for work or storage both on the floor and on desk and tables. Restaurant closed during my stay. NO shuttle service of any kind. Food at the grill was good, tho.' Impossible to get to Sunday because of bicycle race. No accommodations were made for it. Chair in room was impossibly uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Nicholas M,

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback through TripAdvisor. I appreciate your comments and apologize for the challenges you encoutered. The hotel does consciously choose not to have a shuttle as part of our sustainability efforts and due to our very close proximity to the region's light rail which provides wonderful access to many of the area's fantastic attractions and of course our award winning airport.

On behalf of our entire team, we appreciate you giving us a try and thank you sincerely for your business.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    690
    320
    103
    33
See reviews for
247
318
118
975
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I spent six nights at this DoubleTree in Portland because it was recommended by the conference I was attending. It was totally over-priced for less-than-average service. I have been traveling around the world and in the US extensively so I know what the standard is. First, everything was so slow; check-in was slow, elevators were very slow, and even the operator (front desk) answered phone slowly. Second, the room vanities were less than what one would expect from a DoubleTree; no security box and no refrigerator. Third, the Wi-Fi was not fast enough, and finally, the maid was too eager to clean the room even before we checked out the room. In many respect, this room was with much less value than its price at $180/day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank tuanhuadavidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
tuanhuadavidh,

Thank you for your reply. I am sorry to read you were disappointed in your experience with us and did not feel the product and services were a good value. Our goal is every guest leave the property extrememly satisfied with their stay and I apologize your experience fell short. If there is anything I can do to make it right, please feel free to contact me.

I can be reached via email at tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location. It is a large facility. The grounds are well kept. The rooms were clean and appealing, however, very small. There were no refrigerators or microwaves in the rooms; an inconvenience. For the most part, the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel lobby was very congested all day. There were buses, cabs and frequent traffic in the driveways. Not sure we would stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Linda W:

Thank you very much for staying with us Linda and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Our guest's comments are very important to us and we are always looking for way to improve the experience of staying with us. I noted you were in one of our standard rooms, which do tend to be on the cozy side, but should you wish for a little more space we do have several larger room types on property. We have a supply of microwaves and refrigerators on hand to be placed in rooms upon request and would be happy to send them up for you. It certainly can get busy in the driveway with guests coming and going and the lobby can get busy as well especially with convention attendees. Other times we find it can be very quiet in the lobby as our groups often have meetings away from the hotel. I do hope we have a chance to welcome you back next time you find yourself in Portland.

Kind regards,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My stay was for 3 nights. The location was great and the room service was the best I've had. It was a nice stay made better by the good food, good service and great location. I really don't have any more to say, but they won't post my review unless I have at least 200 Characters. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Lauren C:

Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you for the great review. I'm so glad the room service food, our location, and the service from our staff were all excellent. Short and sweet is just fine with me. Your last sentence made us laugh. Sometimes all you need are a few words. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockton, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights for a conference in early July. Check in was efficient and our room was ready well before check in time. All public and common areas of hotel was kept up on and clean. Room was larger than typical, bathroom was bigger than a typical hotel as well. Bed was fine. Food and bar service for lunch and dinner was handled by friendly and attentive service. Front desk arranged cab ride back to the airport for us. No problems or complaints here during our stay. With all hotels, the common and conference areas were chilly but that is typical. Would have liked a fridge in our room, TV was a little smaller than most. We had a room on the 14th floor that provided beautiful views of the area.

Room Tip: High rooms provide good views of the city and landscape around Portland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6-of-us-were-there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
6-of-us-were-there:

Thank you so much for staying with us during your conference and thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. I'm always pleased to read such positive comments about our staff and I'm so glad you had such an all around great stay with us. We do have refrigerators available for delivery to rooms and we'd love to make sure you have one next time around. Hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel located on the light rail system coming from the airport. This made it perfect for getting to and from the airport and for sightseeing. It is not in central Downtown area but it is still close enough to enjoy it. The hotel is older but it has nice big and clean rooms. I would recommend staying here unless you want to pay the higher prices of the central Downtown.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkJ_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
MarkJ_2011:

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you for the review. We love our eastside location and I'm glad you found it convenient for your trip as well. We'd love to have you back again sometime soon.

Many thanks,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
453 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a big hotel, with lots of business clients. There were at least two different groups meeting there during our stay. The room was clean and fresh, and the staff were pleasant to deal with. Breakfast is pricey - about $14-18 for the buffet and ordering from the menu will cost more. Parking is in a separate garage and is about $15 per day. Located on the east side of Portland about 2 miles from downtown, with a giant mall nearby and loads of restaurants within walking distance. Free wifi in the room and common areas.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marblehead750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Marblehead750:

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. It certainly is wonderful to get such great comments from a top contributor. I'm so glad you found your stay comfortable and the staff pleasant. I certainly hope we have the chance to welcome you home again sometime very soon.

Many thanks,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 1000 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Portland
#27 Family Hotel in Portland
#29 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Portland is a full service hotel with two restaurants, a seasonal outdoor pool, executive meeting center, four spacious ballrooms, complimentary fitness room and business center. The hotel is across the street from the one of Oregon's largest indoor malls where you can take advantage of the state's tax free shopping on retail items. The MAX Light Rail runs directly from the airport to our hotel for $2.50. We are Oregon's leading sustainable hotel and just four blocks or two MAX stops for the Oregon Convention Center. It is easy to connect to all of Portland's attractions via the light rail or streetcar systems and stops are across the street or two blocks from the hotel respectively. As with any DoubleTree, we greet all our arriving guests with our world famous DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie with Walnuts, a delightful way to start any stay. Our team looks forward to Passionately Serving you with Excellence soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Portland Hotel Portland
Doubletree Portland
Portland Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing