We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sentinel(Portland)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel deLuxe(Portland)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Paramount Hotel(Portland)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,793)
Filter reviews
1,793 results
Traveller rating
1,436
258
67
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,436
258
67
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverdegrees restaurantrocking chairsathletic cluba river view roomwine hourcomplimentary winewaterfront parkone bedroom suitewonderful hotelbeautiful roomvalet staffclose to downtownvalet parkingthe entire staffhappy hourthe location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
1,364 - 1,369 of 1,793 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Another great Kimpton hotel! We stayed one night in this hotel, thanks again Hotwire, and we would have stayed more if they had any vacancies. Every single employee that we encountered at this location was overly pleasant, it was so enjoyable. When we first pulled up the Portland Trail Blazers were about to check in, but the staff was so kind to us and we were able to get everything taken care of before they even got off of the bus.

Our room faced an interior courtyard, which was adorable. The rooms are comfortable and warm, but not decorated in the same manner as the Hotel Monaco. They rely on wood fixtures and warm colors, it has a very simple and elegant feel. The bed is beyond comfortable, I was coming down with a cold and slept so comfortably in the soft bed, it was like floating on a cloud. Although there is a wooden ledge instead of a headboard on the bed, which seems a little weird and a bit like wasted space. There was also a cute desk and chaise lounge chair in our room. The bathroom is also nice with a very large shower.

We wished that they had more outlets in the room, but other than that we really enjoyed our stay. We did have to pay for parking which was a bit steep at $31 dollars, but the valet guys are so awesome and you can come and go as you please. Overall, we had a nice room and the staff were beyond friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turtlegirlie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Great feedback! We are currently working on that outlet request for you and we will have additional bedside power installed soon. Thanks for the wonderful comments about our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Staying at the RiverPlace for the second time for a conference. The service staff is very friendly and professional. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. My only complaint is that you can't take the stairs to your room - stairways for emergencies only. I've never been a big fan of elevators and like the extra exercise of going up and downstairs when traveling. Still, there is a wonderful trail along the river, so I can still get my exercise in.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Sorry about the stair thing… The hotel does offer a ton of activities to get the blood flowing though. Free bike rentals, Thursday afternoon jog with the staff, access to a full service athletic club, and free onsite yoga classes every Saturday. We got your exercise needs covered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We tried Riverplace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel for the first time this month. My whole family was so impressed with the first class service we received. The hotel is beautiful and all the staff are so very friendly. My girls were delighted to have fresh baked cookies in the room upon our arrival. The location is right on the river and just a few blocks away from a Max stop. The staff made us feel welcomed. Andrew, who works in valet was great! I look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank europeanbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The rankings on Trip Advisor simply don't begin to describe the Kimpton Riverplace in Portland. The service is outstanding - from check in, to bell service, to check out and throughout our stay, everything was perfect. My wife and I spent her birthday weekend here and they did everything right. We had one of the condo properties adjoining the hotel but there was no skimping on service. If you are looking for a great hotel, with superb service, there is no need to look elsewhere as this is some of the best service we've ever had.

Room Tip: We stayed on the river front in the adjoining condos on a 2nd (top) floor - if you get one of these rooms, you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perigrinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

These comments are amazing. They will be shared with the entire staff. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our daughter starts college in Portland this fall, and whenever we visit, we'll be staying here. We've been staying at different Kimpton hotels lately, and this is the winner. The decor is much more to our taste (more like arts/craft style) than the others. Great atmoshphere, lovely view of the river. Service is fantastic -- couldn't ask any more. When we checked in I asked if the sofabed was made up; the clerk said no but she would notify housekeeping immediately. We dropped our stuff in our room, had an excellent dinner at Three Degrees (hotel restaurant), and when we got back to our room the bed was indeed ready. We left the hang tag out for breakfast, and the next morning it was correct, on time, and delicious. These sound like little things but boy they sure can mess you up when they go wrong. The valets were very helpful with directions and suggestions. Bed was OK, but we are very picky. My only suggestion would be to have a longer curb area to put the car while you wait for valet.

Room Tip: "executive suite with 1 king bed" ours was #416, nice and roomy, sofa bed for kid
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thanks for the great comments! We hope you come to visit your daughter often in Portland and when you do it sounds like we know where you will be staying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews