We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Modera(Portland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,785)
Filter reviews
1,785 results
Traveller rating
1,430
258
65
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,430
258
65
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverdegrees restaurantrocking chairsathletic cluba river view roomwine hourcomplimentary winewaterfront parkone bedroom suitewonderful hotelbeautiful roomvalet staffclose to downtownvalet parkingthe entire staffhappy hourthe location is perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,032 - 1,037 of 1,785 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The service at RiverPlace, from the valet parking, bellman, front desk, room service, restaurant staff, and even the engineer to speedily repair the room safe, was excellent and comparable with, and often exceeded, service at such hotels as our local Four Seasons. We upgraded to a river view room, and while does not have items such as a five piece bath, was very comfortable, well appointed, and clean. The bed is very comfortable and the blinds blocked the sun well. The room was quiet, we rarely heard anyone, though we were on the fourth (top) floor. The hotel restaurant Three Degrees is superb, we dined with them for breakfasts and a dinner. Recommend highly, well priced and the plating excellent. The staff was friendly, providing great service and we enjoyed our stay. The Blues Festival was taking place next door to the hotel, which we did not know of upon booking and arrival, but the staff handled the onslaught with aplomb we and we barely noticed the affects other than busy restrooms in the lobby and an energetic bar scene. The upside was that we dined on the patio while Robert Plant performed the final night. There are many fine dining opportunities in walking distance, depending on whether you go half a block along the water to Vie, a fine small French bistro, or 2.5 miles to venture across the river and thru great vaired neighborhoods to the incredible Thai experience that is Pok Pok. Additionally a few blocks away into the city is Veritable Quandry, a gastro-pub with an extensive Oregonian wine list and serving to 10pm, it was recommended by David the valet (thank you!) and we were grateful for his counsel. We look forward to visiting again, and thanks to everyone including the staff who left all the chocolates in our room!

Room Tip: Pay for the river view and top floor. It is worth the expense.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thanks for taking the Blues festival in stride. It was a pretty incredible Sunday night when Robert Plant was belting out Zeppelin songs just a few feet from our front doors. Glad to hear you were able to get a table at the bar to enjoy it. Thanks for the 3 Degree compliments, we have a new Chef and he has done an amazing job for us.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in a number of hotels during our recent trip to the Pacific Northwest and this was number one in all categories. Service was excellent - from check in, to the valet, to the guy who put out the coffee in the morning. Everyone was pleasant, helpful, and friendly. The room was decorated in a very eclectic style - maybe not something I would want at home but perfect for a hotel room. Just funky enough to be cool. The bed was big and very comfortable. The bathroom was updated, and a really good size for a hotel room. We had a room with the river view, and it was a treat to wake up every morning, throw open the curtains, and take in the river. Also, the room seemed fairly well insulated. I hate those hotels where you can hear everything happening out in the hallway - and every door that slams. Maybe we were lucky in our 3 days there, but I barely noticed noise from the hallway.

The hotel was well located - a short walk to pretty much anywhere we wanted to go, although the Pearl District could be a hike - especially after a long day of site seeing. The river walk was nice to have right outside the hotel as well; we enjoyed taking a short stroll in the mornings, and grabbing a drink at one of the little eateries there.

One thing to mention - they will give you a pedometer and for every mile you run, they will donate some amount to charity. My husband and I are both runners, and were disappointed that we had not brought our sneaks on vacation. What a cool idea!! So, learn from our review and pack your sneaks. I think they also loan bikes too - which we noticed on the last day - so that would be worth asking about that when you book if it interests you.

In closing, there is always something - it may be small, it may be big - that you complain about to your significant other about a stay in a hotel. At this one - no complaints! I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The river view was pretty awesome if you can afford the extra $$.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelawareGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Gosh what an amazing review. Thank you for the kind words. Sorry you weren’t able to take advantage of our run for a cause program. Yes we donate a $1 for every mile a guest or employee runs. This month’s charity is Trust for Public Land. I host a guest run every Wednesday at 5PM so I’ll wear the watch today and log my miles for you. Until next time!

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was our second year at the Riverfront for the festival and while we didn't think it could get any better, it did. We stayed in Room 514 and had a front row seat to this years fireworks show! It was breath taking, best place to watch the show ever.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the very professional valet staff who were friendly and very helpful. The bell staff brought all of our stuff to the room quickly, professionally and were also just awesome!

Kanji who was our waitress at breakfast was also so nice, friendly and fun to talk to while we enjoyed our favorite table in the morning over Bloody Mary's and the delicious breakfast!

We highly recommend this hotel for any stay in Portland. We already have our reservation for next year!

Room Tip: For 4th of July you want either 514 or one of the rooms closest to the Waterfront park.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdelkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I have been to Portland several times and this is the first time I stayed at this hotel. We loved the location. It was convienient to everything we wanted to do and yet it felt like we were in a resort location. The riverfront setting was an unexpected treat as was the iced coffee in the morning. Walks along the river were a great start and ending to each day. The staff was extremely friendly and the room was very comfortable. The bed was great and we slept even better.

Next trip to Portland, I am definitely coming back to this hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thanks a million for trying us out during your latest trip to Portland. I love that you had such a great time and the location suited your needs. Also I have to agree our new beds are just amazing. See you soon.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights and really enjoyed ourselves. We did not want to leave. Kimpton really works hard to accommodate its guests, and they do a great job. We have become Kimpton "InTouch" members and would recommend your doing so if you are going to stay at a Kimpton.

Room Tip: We were in Room 406 with a beautiful view of the river.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gammon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

2 great recommendations. Room 406 does have wonderful views and our loyalty program Kimpton In Touch is totally worth signing up for. Free Wifi, upgrades, newspapers, $10 raid the mini bar credit, earn free night stays. Why wouldn’t you? Thanks for the comments!

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews