We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Husband and I were in Portland for Fall getaway to visit friends. I chose River Place based upon the glowing recommendations and was not disappointed. I never sleep well away from home but the mattress and bed linens were so soft and comfortable that my husband had to drag me from bed each morning of our 4 day/3 night visit. The location was beautiful as well as convenient to all our activities . Coffee, papers and the fireplace in the lobby were a wonderful way to start each day..I will definitely come back to Portland and stay at River Place.

Room Tip: Our outside view was not great but the comfort of the bed and the nice room appointments were wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tm1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Now why would he feel the need to drag you out of that comfy bed? Oh well, next time tell him to get you some voodoo donuts so you can catch up on your relaxing. See you soon!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,331
    232
    58
    13
    15
See reviews for
341
775
85
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

It tries. The staff try. But geez. Tv remote won't work from sitting in bed. Coffee maker is one cup. At a time, and the mugs are just a little too small. Bedside Lamps are massive but don't give off enough light to read a magazine. And the bed - it's sacked out. Can't roll over without waking up.
The decor is so eclectic you wonder if it really tried to be this odd.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sleeperpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Gosh I am sorry we left you a bit disappointed. If you stay with us again please contact me directly I want to make that 3 star rating into a 5. Thank so much for providing your feedback.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The River Place is a typical Kimpton hotel charging high end boutique hotel rates for a usually feeble attempt to do so. This hotel duplicates our experiences with Kimptons. It is a pleasant facility with attempts at excellent services, but always just short of the mark. Our room is an upscale King small suite. Tasteful decor, but very average finishes. Small things that those that may be enamored by the marketing like no plugs available at the table/desk for computers or anything; disconnect a light to do so. A tub/shower, closet door handles filthy, poor drawer storage space. Most annoying is the only access to the internet without paying $12.99 per night is a mandatory membership in their Kimpton "Club" which includes your birth date, sex, email address, etc! They are attempting to market at a level that does not equate to their lower level of quality. They are apparently quite successful and many people are happy with them. They do not meet our expectations for a high quality boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaBunkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
I would like to apologize that your stays at Kimpton Hotels have not left you impressed. I am so sorry that you experienced cleanliness issues in the guestroom you occupied I will address this immediately with my Executive Housekeeper and the Housekeeping staff. I would like to mention that we do offer built in plugs in each bedside table and in each guestroom desk. Each bedside stand is marked with the international power symbol to notify our guest that plugs are available once you open the cabinet door. We can always supply you with free internet access by providing a username and password from the front desk for those that wish not to sign up for our loyalty program. Thank you for your feedback. I promise we will use it to improve upon our product and services.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I were booked to stay at the RiverPlace Hotel in Portland, OR by a travel agency for a quick 2 night stay while on business. Upon checking in I was delighted to find out we were staying at a Kimpton property. We've had nothing but positive stays at other Kimpton Hotels and our stay at the RiverPlace only confirmed why we enjoyed our stay. Everybody was helpful. The services are super. Location is awesome. Rooms are perfect. Make sure to stay here next time you're in Portland.

Room Tip: Water view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcborsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
We were glad to have you! And thank you for being a fan of Kimpton Hotels. We hope to have you and your wife back on a leisure trip the next time around. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was our first time staying at a Kimpton property and we weren't disappointed I am glad to say. The hotel is located on a lovely piece of property with great views of the water. However, here is where my only negative comment arrives. Portland is very walkable/bikeable and that is how we toured the city. At this location you will encounter many homeless in the park adjacent to the hotel. This was fine during the day, but early mornings and evenings were uncomfortable walking past some of them who were obviously drug addicts.

Beyond this, all staff was exceptional and accommodating. I especially appreciated the extra attention they paid to the guest dog they were babysitting behind the desk while its owners were sightseeing. Sweet, right? The hotel has a "Portland" vibe, which was a good thing for us. We wanted to try something out of our comfort zone, and we were happy in our eclectically designed room. Really, the beds were extra comfortable.

Our wedding anniversary was recognized several times and it was much appreciated. I would tell my friends to give this place a try because in general, it’s going to be difficult to avoid the transient population Portland anywhere you go. The River Place was worth the annoyance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelingSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thanks for your amazing comments about your recent honeymoon visit! I am sorry that you found the area near our property a bit unsafe. Truly the RiverPlace Community is one of the safest areas in the downtown Portland area and is not known for having a big homeless problem. The RP community even offers its own security patrol which generally deters the transient population from hanging out in the park. I will share your review with the patrol officers.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We have always loved staying at this hotel, but after retirement our travels did not take us to Portland as much. However, we were recently in Portland, and made reservations. Then unexpectedly, we needed to stay an extra night during a very busy time for them. They accomodated us extremely well. And we were amazed and so happy to see the staff that we once knew were still there with their excellent service, great attitudes, big smiles and caring attitudes. We also loved the new decoration in the room. The Kimpton Hotel is the ONLY place to stay while in Portland.

Room Tip: River View Rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin J, Front Office Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Awww...we are blushing! Thank you so much for the lovely review and your loyalty over the years. We hope it wont be to long until your next visit.
Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

What an amazing stay! When I say Ahhh-Mazing-it truly was one of the most relaxing times I have ever had.

From my first interaction with Doug who greeted me -to Kaitlyn at the front desk- was so polite and professional-she gave me a little information about the surrounding area-. When I got to my Riverview room I was pleasantly surprised, The view was breathtaking, the room was spacious -nice fluffy robes and towels. The bed was like sleeping on clouds, and the turn down service (Maria? Martha?) was a nice touch.

I had a wonderful room service experience- I believe his name was John, came in and welcomed me to Portland-(It was my first time visiting) my food was very, very warm and delicious!

Brett the bartender was absolutely Awesome! He let me taste a few of the local brews-I am not a beer drinker-but for this occasion I was a believer. I really have to suggest the Alaskan Halibut-OH MY GOSH! MELT in your mouth!!

I highly suggest the Lamb Ceviche& Ginger BBQ Shrimp. I have to say that this is now my favorite Hotel to stay at! I travel frequently for business, and I am highly impressed with this property and can't wait to return with the entire family! This is my first time with the Kimpton brand, and I really am IMPRESSED!

The only 2 negatives:
1.It was hard to catch a cab-several flaked out. Maybe if they put in a cab stand or contracted with like 2 companies it would greatly improve. The money these cab drivers miss out on I'm sure is quite a bit.

2. My trip ended too soon :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelCR2D2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin J, Front Office Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you so much for all the staff shout outs! Douglas, Katelin, Martha, John and Brett are so awesome and we are so lucky to have them apart of the team. I am very glad to hear you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Thank you so much for your review!!
Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing