We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but not my favorite Portland Kimpton Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scotts Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice but not my favorite Portland Kimpton Hotel.”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

If you prefer to be close to the river when staying in Portland this is a great spot. The hotel gives a wonderful first impression when you enter the lobby. Our large room looking toward the city rather than the river did not disappoint either. I didn't give the hotel a 5 star rating because it is the most expensive Kimpton in the city and I actually prefer the other two Kimpton hotels located downtown. (Seems like they have better happy hour, etc.) Besides that, we stayed three nights and our room only got cleaned once. I guess the hotel was full and housekeeping was extra busy. It wasn't a big deal and we easily got fresh towels, but it was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Gosh, I am sorry about our housekeeping service. That is not like us!! I will share your feedback about only receiving service one of the three days you here visiting with my Executive Housekeeper. We do provide daily service so we will find out what happened those other two days and address it with the staff. Thank you for the feedback. I promise we will use it to improve.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,368
    240
    60
    14
    15
See reviews for
351
798
90
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We live in Portland and our Christmas tradition is to spend a weedkend downtown shopping and taking in all the downtown Christmas Activites. For the last four years we have stayed at The Riverplace Hotel. We are always promptly greeted with a warm and friendly smile ! We want for nothing during our stay. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. We love the view of the Willamette River and enjoy seeing the Christmas ships. We can't wait to go back next year !

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you so much for making a visit to the RiverPlace an annual Holiday tradition! Sounds like a great way to pamper yourself! See you next year but hopefully sooner.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Like many who read these reviews ... I travel quite a bit for business and pleasure. The staff at RiverPlace is simply, consistently, the best I encounter. The location is beautiful and convenient to downtown Portland and the rooms and decor are very nice and comfortable. Portland has an abundance of food options, so beyond room service (which I great) I don't eat at 3 degrees often ... but when I have, it has been just fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Well, Kimpton Hotels, once again you have knocked my socks off. Every time I stay in a Kimpton property, I am so impressed by the friendly staff and beautiful, comfortable rooms. This time we got into Portland in the late afternoon, exhausted. We checked into the RiverPlace where we had never stayed before. I had asked for a room with two beds but were told that we were going to stay in one of their condos. Whatever...But when we opened the door, we realized that we had been given a two bedroom, two bathroom riverside apartment with a big kitchen, fireplace, balcony, and incredible views of the boats and river. My daughter's dog had her own dog bed, silver food and water bowls, treat, and more. Wow!!! I could see myself living very happily in this place. We could only stay one night, but I can't wait to go back.
We also had dinner at their restaurant, Three Degrees, where the food was delicious and the service was warm, professional, and welcoming. The front desk staff even dogsat while we ate so we didn't have to leave the dog in the condo.
As always at a Kimpton property, everyone we came into contact with - front desk staff, valet parker, restaurant staff - was so nice. Our stay was a pleasure from beginning to end.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLibrarian28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
So glad you enjoyed the upgrade to the condo suite! We cannot wait to have you back. Pack another pair of socks as we plan to knock them off again! Thanks for the awesome comments about our staff.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Shasta our Labrador is treated like a real human, its so nice to be able to sit by the fire in the front lobby and have a drink with our pup, and having the convince of being able to walk her on the Willamette walkway is a plus. The rooms are very nice, beds as mentioned excellent as well as the food.

We have the ability to stay @ my brothers townhouse for free, however we choose to stay at the RiverPlace because of its proximity to downtown. The staff pulls out the stops by providing great service and attention to detail.

Room Tip: Water views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgbintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Our location is very ideal for our four legged friends. We have a huge park just outside of our front doors and a ton of walking paths nearby so they can stretch their legs. Glad to hear Shasta received the royal treatment!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My business travels took me to Portland. I was considering my options when I read reviews of the Kimpton Hotels - RiverPlace Hotel. This, by far, exceeded my expectations.
From the reservation person, to the front desk check-in person - who upgraded my room at no extra fee or issues, which is unheard of in the hotel world. Even on arrrival; the valet greeting was so gracious....the entire staff was first class. Will definitely stay at the RiverPlace when in Portland.
Dined in the Three Degrees Grill for two evenings food was very good.
Will definitely stay at the RiverPlace when in Portland.

Room Tip: Hotel is partner with Oregon Athletic Club one block from Hotel. Very nice Fitness Club. If plannin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I've been a fan of Kimpton Hotels for a long time. They are unusually well run and pleasant hotels. Of the several I've stayed in, River Place is the best. The location is perfect, the rooms are attractive, and the staff extraordinary.

My wife and I were recently there, in part to celebrate her birthday. Prior to our arrival, the hotel contacted me to ask if we were celebrating a particular occasion and when I responded, I was asked if I would like wine and chocolate delivered to our room as part of the celebration. And, indeed, a bottle of wine and a bar of chocolate were awaiting us when we returned to the room on her birthday. Celebrations aside, however, everything at the hotel was impeccable and, again, the staff is superb. I won't stay anywhere else in the future.

Room Tip: High floor and a river view--you'll never want to leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardinal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Ranking us as one of the best Kimpton’s you have visited is quite the honor! We have so many fantastic hotels in our chain. Thank you for your amazing review and thank you for staying at the RiverPlace.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 142 in Portland
1,371 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 142 in Portland
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing