We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A First Class Family Friendly Hotwl”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A First Class Family Friendly Hotwl”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We arrived from California for the weekend as a group of 9 family members for a family event in Portland. We choose the River Place based on the strong recommendation of a relative who lives in Portland and we were not disappointed. For starters it ended up that our group had grown by a few people and our original reservations were not adequate for our party of 6 adults, two teenagers and a 10 year old boy! The reception staff attacked the problem right away and re-worked all of our rooms so that we would fit with comfort. From our initial interaction with the bellman to our final meal in the restaurant we all were very happy with our experience.

Room Tip: By the way, it is worth trying to get a room with a river view, the view is absolutely great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thanks for bringing up the family to come visit Portland and the RiverPlace. Glad that things worked out accommodation wise and that the staff was able to rearrange things to make your stay more enjoyable. Let’s see you again soon!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,351
    237
    60
    13
    15
See reviews for
346
789
87
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We've stayed here several times and have always had a very positive experience. Great service starts with a great attitude and everyone at RiverPlace has it! We often travel wiht our Newfoundland dog and this is a downtown location with great access to the river front so you pet will enjoy the trip too. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The Courtyard rooms are fine - but if this is a special occasion and you're looking for a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackster777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Based on the high reviews, perhaps our stay was an anomaly; however, our stay was, at best, average. Starting with the good, the room was plenty large and roomy (although the TV was strangely small, and so distant from the bed that you barely use the remote!), especially for an overnight, and the front desk person (Ashley, I think) was very friendly and helpful. And it was nice to have the soaker tub to use before heading out for the evening. We had one problem with the room not being as clean as we’d expect (and I’ve stayed at some pretty bad places), but the worst was when we came back after a late dinner and went to the bar for a drink. There were 3 people at the bar when we walked in and sat at a table, then 2 of them left, leaving only us and the last person at the bar – but the bartender completely ignored us. Kuddos to the front desk, again, who quickly comp’d us a bottle of wine, but it was still strange and insulting to be ignored at the bar. All-in-all, just an average stay for an above-average cost = poor value.

Room Tip: A high floor facing the river is, by dar, the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BradAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
I would like to apologize that we did not exceed nor even meet your expectations. I am so disappointed in the service you received from our Housekeeping staff and Bartender. I will share your feedback with the appropriate employees and we will defiantly use it to improve. Thank you for providing your feedback.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stay here every year for New Year's Eve. This is the second year we have stayed here since Kimpton to over management. This year was excellent. From checking in/out to the bell service, to the room service, we were treated very well. Everyone was friendly and more than willing to assist us.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with fireplace are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slimjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
What a great tradition! Thanks for ringing in the New Years every year at the RiverPlace.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We recently stayed at the RiverPlace in Portland. It ranks as one of our favorite hotels. The rooms were clean, the staff was incredibly friendly, and we felt welcome from the moment we arrived. It was also very quiet. Many times you hear a lot of noise in the hallways but it was so quiet at the RiverPlace.

Pets are welcome here. We've stayed in hotels that offer pets and you can tell by the overuse of perfume to mask the animal smell. Not so at the RiverPlace. The rooms were super clean and you'd never know pets are welcomed here.

The setting is beautiful. Set right on the Williamette River with little shops close by. You can walk downtown to find something to eat or you can stay at the hotel. Their restaurant Three Degrees has gorgeous views of the river and the outside seating area would be perfect in the spring or summer. We took several walks along the waterfront.

Each night there is wine and cookies in the lobby. They also have hot apple cider infused with bourbon. This was a welcome treat as it was quite cold in Portland. In the morning there is fresh coffee and a hot chocolate bar! Yummy!!

One of the things I loved about the RiverPlace was their charitable contributions they give to charities. If you are a runner you can borrow one of their GPS' from the front desk. For every mile you run they donate $1. Twice a month staff "pay" to wear jeans. In order to wear jeans to work the staff agrees to pay $3 to a charity. What a great way to promote generosity.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a view of the river. We didn't and should have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliTravelBug1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
What a fantastic review! Please come back and visit us in the spring or summer months so you can take advantage of that great outdoor seating and maybe squeeze in another run to help support our charity.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The RiverPlace is in a fantastic location on the waterfront with great views of the city and river. It's also well located for local bars and restaurants (with a wide selection of food and prices) and 4-5 minute walk from a tram stop that will whisk you into the downtown part of the city.

Service was excellent from the attentive front desk to chatty and knowledgeable bellhops. We were upgraded to a suite and it was one of the best rooms I've ever stayed in: which a breathtaking view over the city, a comfortable and thoughtfully furnished sitting room with lovely details such as an open fire; cavernous bathroom with jacuzzi, and a calm and comfortable bedroom.

I cannot fault the experience in any way... except the breakfast. The service was a combination of pushy and indifferent. We were offered mimosas as soon as we arrived but in a way to suggest they were complimentary. it was only after we agreed to them that we checked if they were free or not - and told no, so we declined. After that, our waiter seemed to lose interest and the service was rather lacklustre. It took ages for our order to be taken, there were no coffee refills. When, after a 15 minute wait, the first part of our breakfast turned up - quinoa cooked in coconut milk - it was dry and tasteless. We cancelled the rest of our order.

This was such a disappointment after the rest of the stay was so good and I hope the management look into their breakfast service.

This, however, was only a minor oversight in an otherwise exceptional and comfortable stay and I would definitely choose the RiverPlace if I'm in Portland again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Gosh, I am so sorry we ended on such a bad note. I have shared your feedback with the General Manager of our restaurant and we will be sure to address your breakfast experience. Thank you for the nice comments about the service you received from our Front Desk Agents and chatty Bellman.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Spent the last two nights in the Grand Suite at The Riverplace Hotel in Portland In Portland Oregon. Suite was approximately 1100 square feet and was comfortable with a working fireplace and great river views. What sets this property apart from most of the hotels I stay at is the sensational customer service from a very accommodating staff. Every person I met from the front desk personnel to the valet parking attendants was terrific. Nightly complimentary wine hour and coffee/tea in the morning

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank njnetsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing