We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RiverPlace Hotel hospitality excellence takes them to the top”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have used RiverPlace for lodging many times over the past 10 years, although not so much for the past few years due to different business needs. The staff had always shown high levels of personal care and hospitality, and I am happy to report that becoming a Kimpton Hotel has, if anything, moved this up another knotch. The social grace and attention to detail shown to me while resolving a minor bar-billing error convinced me that this fine hotel retains the mantle of excellence I had come to expect. Stay here if you can. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: River-view rooms are delightful. Interiors and bathrooms have been completely re-done in the past f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Van C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you so much for your loyalty over the last 10 years and thank you for your very kind words about our staff. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the Kimpton style of service. Hope to see you soon.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

851 - 857 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

I just love staying here! We frequent Portland for the theatre, shopping, hiking and kayaking. This hotel is close to everything and so comfortable! I just love the rooms and that bed....perfect! Great bar and within walking distance to everything! Get a real feel for the city and stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thanks Audrey! We just loved having you. We also appreciate the awesome review.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel exceeded expectations. From the Staff, the location, and the rooms, everything was First Class all the way! The rooms are very clean, neat and will exceed what you expect. The Front Desk Staff, Valet, Restaurant and Bartenders offer you the first class experience. Everyone we spoke to were are all personable and acccomodating wiith a smile and without complaint. This is very close to the shopping/arts/theater districts you want to go to. The Hotel is on a walkway that goes along the Willamette (?) river and had eclectic shops, gorgeous river views and bridge views. As Las Vegas NV residents, this hotel exceeded anything you could find in Vegas. There is also a coffee/tea/hot choclate bar in the morning that is wonderful (the hot chocolate is divine...liquid heaven) and a wine happy hour from 5-6 pm that is included in your stay. We will most definitely back due to the awesome accomodations and, first and foremost, the great people that work there.

Room Tip: Ask for City View or River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calhobbs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Wow to be compared and exceed Las Vegas hospitality, the Mecca of hotels and restaurants is quite the honor! Thank you. Our staff is smiling ear to ear after reading your review. We appreciate your business and you taking the time to write a review.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I found ourselves pleasantly stranded in portland whilst traveling around the USA all the way from Australia. Upon check in we were warmly greeted by a gentlemen whose name badge stated his name and that he was a "local music shop expert" - I enjoyed these little touches as i looked around and found a name with an accompanying local passion on all the staff.

Check in was smooth the room is a bit small and dated, you can certainly tell it's been renovated, but the location and the character of the premises is beautiful.

The hotel doesn't have the extras you might expect if you were thinking of going 5 star (i.e. pool, gym etc), but it stays true to it's boutique friendly ambience. The daily wine tastings and complimentary morning coffees by the fire are a great touch.

Service was excellent and we even had the hotel organise a car rent for us to explore the sights of Portand (the micro-brewerys, food and nature is wonderful, Portland is well under-rated).

I must commend the staff though, my wife fell ill on our last day and it was quite a serious situation - i mention this only because the staff handled the situation very well, organising a taxi to the emergency room. I was concerned at the time because most of the staff were quite young as to whether they could handle an anxious husband and wife, in a somewhat uncommon situation, but although most of their staff are in their 20's they all held their own and kept their cool.

They gave advice regarding the closest women's hospital and were very accommodating, whilst organising everything for us.

It is a true testament when a team is tested in the highs and lows and i would certainly like to thank everyone from the valet and the admin team at the Riverplace hotel.

and i would certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

We do hope your wife is feeling much better. I am proud that the staff handled your situation with care and compassion. Thank you for staying at the RiverPlace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We arrived from California for the weekend as a group of 9 family members for a family event in Portland. We choose the River Place based on the strong recommendation of a relative who lives in Portland and we were not disappointed. For starters it ended up that our group had grown by a few people and our original reservations were not adequate for our party of 6 adults, two teenagers and a 10 year old boy! The reception staff attacked the problem right away and re-worked all of our rooms so that we would fit with comfort. From our initial interaction with the bellman to our final meal in the restaurant we all were very happy with our experience.

Room Tip: By the way, it is worth trying to get a room with a river view, the view is absolutely great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thanks for bringing up the family to come visit Portland and the RiverPlace. Glad that things worked out accommodation wise and that the staff was able to rearrange things to make your stay more enjoyable. Let’s see you again soon!

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We've stayed here several times and have always had a very positive experience. Great service starts with a great attitude and everyone at RiverPlace has it! We often travel wiht our Newfoundland dog and this is a downtown location with great access to the river front so you pet will enjoy the trip too. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The Courtyard rooms are fine - but if this is a special occasion and you're looking for a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackster777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Based on the high reviews, perhaps our stay was an anomaly; however, our stay was, at best, average. Starting with the good, the room was plenty large and roomy (although the TV was strangely small, and so distant from the bed that you barely use the remote!), especially for an overnight, and the front desk person (Ashley, I think) was very friendly and helpful. And it was nice to have the soaker tub to use before heading out for the evening. We had one problem with the room not being as clean as we’d expect (and I’ve stayed at some pretty bad places), but the worst was when we came back after a late dinner and went to the bar for a drink. There were 3 people at the bar when we walked in and sat at a table, then 2 of them left, leaving only us and the last person at the bar – but the bartender completely ignored us. Kuddos to the front desk, again, who quickly comp’d us a bottle of wine, but it was still strange and insulting to be ignored at the bar. All-in-all, just an average stay for an above-average cost = poor value.

Room Tip: A high floor facing the river is, by dar, the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BradAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

I would like to apologize that we did not exceed nor even meet your expectations. I am so disappointed in the service you received from our Housekeeping staff and Bartender. I will share your feedback with the appropriate employees and we will defiantly use it to improve. Thank you for providing your feedback.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 146 in Portland
1,423 reviews
Downtown
The Duniway Portland, a Hilton Hotel
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £131 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, with complimentary wireless high speed Internet and DVD players. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing