We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way beyond 5 stars” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Way beyond 5 stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel offers the best hospitality you cound ask for. No, or I do not think we can do that is not in their vocabulary. Everyone from the team has a smile with I can do attitude. The condo is beautiful, clean, and room service is spectacular. View if the very best. Very, quiet, romantic, clean, and great amenties. It is magic kingdom of hospitality.

Room Tip: Condo's are the greatest for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
“A magic kingdom of hospitality” Oh my is that good. I’m using that for sure! Thanks for the incredible feedback and thanks for staying at the RiverPlace!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,331
    232
    58
    13
    15
See reviews for
341
775
85
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Recently stayed at the RiverPlace for business. This is a great location -- right on the marina. If you are into biking or running then you can easily access the bike path, as it runs right outside the hotel. The room -- king size - was really nice. Has a large bed, and a large table for working. Really does have quite a bit of space. The bar area is nice, and the food there is good. You can order both off the bar menu as well as the dining room menu. Staff is wonderful and very accommodating. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Wow congrats on hitting the 100 review mark! So glad you had the opportunity to stay and review the RiverPlace. Let’s make it a leisure trip the next time you are in town. See you soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have never been to a hotel that had better costumer service! From the front desk to the valet...I felt so welcomed! The location is perfect. Close to downtown, but felt as if you were miles away. A park next door and the river views were spectacular. There is a great place for a morning run or an evening walk along the river. The room was very comfortable and roomy, even the bathroom. The lack of parking was a concern for me, but the valet was so convenient. I did not want to leave. Loved it and highly recommend this unique little gem!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candpkentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Absolutely love it! I am defiantly sharing your review with all of our staff. Thanks for the great feedback.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I accidentally came across Kimpton properties about a year ago in Seattle, it's the best accident one could have. Portland is the fourth Kimpton property I've visited now. Any city I go to, I look to see if they have a Kimpton property before I book my hotel. This hotel chain is all class and never misses a detail. The experience in Portland was no different. From the warm reception staff to the daily notes left by housekeeping to wish us a warm stay. Thank you Kimpton for giving me a home away from home. Your forever faithful guest, Jim.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jimgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
We are forever grateful that you stumbled upon Kimpton Hotels and thanks for the loyalty! With now 50+ hotels to choose from you shouldn’t have a hard time finding us no matter where you travel. Thanks for the review.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

What an incredible experience! When we arrived Kaitlin at the front desk 1) upgraded us to a suite, 2) offered us a free glass of wine even though we arrived after their nightly wine hour was over, and 3) gave us a Portland map and marked on it all the restaurants and attractions we asked about. Everything about this hotel and staff was great -- free bicycle rental, hot chocolate in the morning, its location right on the waterfront, its convenience to public transportation, and it even welcomes dogs! We were bummed that we had not brought our dog and they offered us a fish bowl for the night if we wanted a pet for our room! You will be happy you stayed here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wdg211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for mentioning Katelin and the wonderful service she provided. She has been an amazing new addition to our team. I thank my lucky stars that we have such incredible caring staff. Let’s get back here soon and be sure to bring your dog!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent experience waiting to to be had. The hotel is nestled on the Willamette river and the views in the evening are simply beautiful. The rooms are very classy and it's up to date with all the desired amenities.

5-6 is happy hour with free. Wine and beer tasting :)

Only issue I had was tv control seems to work well from a distance but tv is not something I care about so it was fine. The staff was excellent and each person has a speciality about the city which was really cool.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackson1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

It is unfortunate that during the 'high' season, I choose other lodgings in the area in order to save my company's expense dollar. Otherwise, I'd always stay at the RiverPlace. From the doorman to the bartender, each staff member understands how to make a guest welcome.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing