We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, beautiful room. Nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique, beautiful room. Nice staff”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I spent a night their with my family while visiting the west coast. We took a risk and tried priceline and ended up with Riverplace. I'm glad we took the risk, we ended up with a suite so the kids had plenty of room. Highly recommend!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamabear M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,388
    242
    60
    14
    15
See reviews for
355
812
91
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 2 times so far...everything written about this place is true. The rooms very beautiful and clean. The Customer service is the best by far than any hotel we have stayed at. We usually stay at the Embassy Suites Airport location, we have stayed there for 15 years, my husband has meetings at the Embassy airport every month. We do not mind the drive considering the tremendous difference in hotels. This one is First Class...Katelyn is so sweet and very professional and Jill in the mornings is also an great to what makes this Hotel number one in Portland. The staff goes out of there way to make you feel welcome. We will be back very soon. Thank you all for everything and making us feel special.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for all the love! Katelin and Jill are truly amazing and I feel so lucky to have those two working miracles at our front desk on a daily basis. Glad you were able to branch out from the Embassy Suites after all these years, we appreciate your business and review!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was our first visit to a Kimpton property. Friendly staff, warm welcome, a room upgrade and a glass of wine, all before we got to our room. I mentioned a birthday in our reservation form. A birthday card, cupcakes and a bottle of wine were waiting in our room.

We were missing a news paper one morning. They went out and bought us one that evening. The next day they kept an extra at the front desk just in case it went missing again.

Free passes to the athletic club down the street, which features a 25 meter lap pool.

We also had a great meal at the restaurant. The chef is hard at work improving the menu.

Nice location on the river, very quiet rooms.

Thanks for making my wife's birthday a memorable one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Welcome to Kimpton! We have 55 more hotels for you and your wife to experience. Ready, Set, Go!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at the RiverPlace Hotel last week and it was superb. The restaurant menu and food particularly stood out. Right on the water with great walking trail access along the river. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Our new Chef will be so proud to hear his food was one of the highlights. Chef Dunklin is doing so amazing things with that menu. See you soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the Riverplace on two different occasions in Nov/Dec. For the first trip we booked a fireplace suite because we were travelling with our 14 year old and needed more space. The room worked out very well with a pull out couch and a bathroom that had entrances from both the bedroom and living room. We loved the fireplace and used it every evening. Our second stay was in a regular room for my husband and I which was also very nice. We weren't crazy about our one breakfast in the hotel restaurant but there are plenty of options within walking distance. The doormen and bellboys were very nice and welcoming. This is our go to hotel in Portland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
561 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I booked a one bedroom, riverview suite at RiverPlace last weekend. I needed the extra room since my future son-in-law was having his bachelor's party in Portland and I had them over to get their evening started. This specific room was a really a one bedroom apartment with full appliances, a great river view and in a separate building. Everything, from the initial contact with the bellman/valet to checkout was well beyond what you receive at other hotels in the US.

I think I am beginning to see a great pattern by choosing hotels in the Kimpton chain!

Room Tip: All of the river view rooms overlook the marina at RiverPlace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m2swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Wow 3 more reviews to 100! I love the fact we could get the party started for you guys. Please continue to follow that Kimpton pattern, you won’t be disappointed.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have written before about RiverPlace.I have stayed here many times and It continues to be a complete winner. The staff is attentive. The rooms are a little over the top with their new decor from my aged perspective (preferred the NW woodsy feel that it used to have) - but so comfortable,quiet, every amenity, great lighting, wifi. And oh the views - I have stayed in almost every type of room by now and each has something to recommend it. But this last trip I traveled alone and was put in room 302. Great room! Rounded viewing windows so you could see up and down the river. Wonderful morning light. Good bathroom fixtures in the renovation. Really improved the shower experience. Love the wine hour and the coffee and hot chocolate in the morning. They even offer soy milk which delights me as a dairy allergy person. Highly recommend this. One of my favorite hotels as I always feel like I am coming home to my Portland family here.

Room Tip: Room 302 - great views and a junior suite with a rounded window.
See more room tips
Green Features: Terrific attention to recycling and environment friendly products
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranchmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you so much for being such a loyal guest to the RiverPlace. We absolutely love having you! Glad that you enjoyed that Jr. Suite and the views it has to offer. I so wish I had that view from my office but then again I may never get any work done. Hope to see you soon!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,381 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing