We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE Place in Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“THE Place in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We finished a cruise in Vancouver, WA and had a room reserved here for three nights to meet friends. We got to the hotel early Sunday morning, hoping for a room ready to go. Nope. But the desk clerk was very helpful and stored our bags, and said he'd call us when the room opened up. We flopped in the beautiful lobby in front of a welcoming fireplace, had tea and coffee, got books from their library and settled in nicely. Within a couple of hours (seemed like less as we really enjoyed the fire and the chairs in the lobby), we had our room overlooking the river.

Our room was spacious, clean and very well appointed. Very comfortable mattress. The sheets and towels, mats, etc. were all luxurious. There is a mini-fridge. We had plenty of room to spread out. All the soaps and amenities are excellent quality.

The lobby...if you couldn't tell we liked it! There is a nice coffee, tea and beverage area, plus the occasional trail mix goodies in the afternoon, and if that weren't enough, the manager's reception around 5:00 pm includes wine, beer and a featured drink. The lobby has a lot of artwork and is a pleasing and comfortable place to lounge.

There is a health club located about a block away from the hotel. It's a full service place with towels, locker room, cardio, racquetball, weights, the works. Just get a pass at the front desk and head out. There are also bikes (and helmets) available for the asking. For biking and running/jogging, there are excellent paths that parallel the river.

All the staff were friendly, helpful and cheerful. People are aware of what's going on and they make a real effort to not keep you waiting for anything. I'd say management is doing a great job, because this attitude pervades the whole staff. The entire hotel is clean and the use of attractive textiles, art, carpet and furnishings make this a really pleasing place to stay. The location is great as well with great views of the river, marinas and several nice restaurant choices within easy walking distance.

My wife and I love this hotel, and it is THE place to stay in Portland!

Room Tip: We really like the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwhallgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Sorry we kept you waiting for your guestroom. I am relieved to hear we were able to get you nice and comfortable while our housekeeping staff performed their magic. From the sound of things everything went lovely with the stay, thanks for the review!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,341
    235
    58
    13
    15
See reviews for
345
783
85
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I can't recommend this jewell of a hotel enough. From the moment we opened the door of the car for the valet parking until we checked out we were treated like royalty. All the employees were knowledgeable and more than happy to help with any of our needs. The room was super clean and more than comfortable. The wife and I consider ourselves foodies (Hate the term but you know what I mean) so we never eat at the hotel restaurants. Well due to a long day in town we decided to get a quick meal at the hotel. We came to find out that these guys take dining seriously.
We had shrimp that was just flown in from the gulf that was iodine free and just fantastic. I could go on and on but I think you can tell that we will go to a Klimpton again and again.

Room Tip: Get River view.
See more room tips
Green Features: They do everything right. Low energy bulbs, linen reuse program, non-toxic pest control, water efficent water control, organic local food and beverages.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Never pass up a Kimpton Hotel restaurant. Our company is unique where we let hoteliers manage the hotels while the restaurants are managed by food and beverage experts and Chef driven menus. Thanks for dining at 3 Degrees.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I just spent two nights here, love the view, ambiance, friendly and helpful staff. However, the room wasn't cleaned very well...light bulbs out in the bathroom, mildew on the shower curtain liner, for example and on the second day there, clean glasses were not put in the room, the hair dryer was not put away, coffee maker was not put away, Kleenex tissues not replaced, etc. and when we asked that the shower curtain liner be replaced, it was, and promptly, but during that process the bath mat was put on the floor and walked on and left on the floor so when we showered we didn't have a clean mat to use. Hopefully these issues will be addressed...I want to be able to return next time I am in Portland!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Wow I am so sorry to hear about your lack of housekeeping service. That isn't like us. I have shared your review with the Executive Housekeeper and these issues will certainly be addressed. I appreciate you bringing them to our attention and rest assure when you do return our service will be flawless.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the River Place in the past, and were never disappointed! We've always loved the NW artsy feel of this hotel and especially now, after their remodel! This time, we brought visiting family members from NY with us! Wow! We had a great time! From the hotel's fabulous location, to the valet service upon our arrival, to the front desk's welcome....all was perfect! The custodial staff was great and even delayed their tasks in order to take care of our needs! The breakfast was delicious, the servers very friendly and accommodating, and our evening cocktails were again, delivered with a smile! In fact, to quote the bartender, "I really hope you enjoy your drinks, I made them with a bit of love!"
Needless to say, we will return...as will our family!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oksana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Haha where else can you get drinks made with love? I love that line. Thanks for you "perfect" review.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The staff at The Riverplace was extraordinarily friendly and helpful! We felt very special at our stay. The beds were amazingly comfortable! I could have slept all day! Our king suite was large enough to accommodate a couple's massage in the room. They have a complimentary coffee bar in the mornings and a complimentary wine hour in the evenings (every day). I would definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Free wi-if if you sign up for a free Kimpton membership. (Which also gives you $10 credit at the bar...
See more room tips
Green Features: The day we left, they had a sign in the elevator stating it was "clean your own room day" and you could receive a gift for doing so. Not sure what it was since we were checking out.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nannette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
To answer your question about that elevator sign; we saw that it was National Clean Your Room Day on one of those wacky calendars so we decided to have a little fun. If you told the desk staff you didn't want housekeeping service that day we were giving out free cocktails at our bar. Sorry that you missed it but National Tequila day is right around the corner!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, WI, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed at the RiverPlace Hotel in Portland. The hotel is gorgeous, setting on river is beautiful. Beds were extremely comfortable and rooms/hotel were very nice and clean! Free coffee and tea was available every morning, water and lemonade in the afternoon and we especially enjoyed the free wine and beer every evening! The hotel staff was very, very friendly and helpful. In particular, Jacque who works at the front desk, noticed us sitting on a ledge outside the hotel waiting for the fireworks. She came over and greeted us and reminded us that the hotel had reserved seating for its guests to view the fireworks and asked if we would like to join them. We did and were treated to great seats...padded seats and backs...and a perfect view!!! We also enjoyed the free use of the fitness facility a few doors down, visiting several of the shops along the river and even the Blues Festival that was going on right next door!!! Never kept us awake at night. We would definitely return, in fact, we started discussing our next visit hopefully next summer. Great time, great hotel, great staff. Love Portland!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
So glad that Jacque came to the rescue. The spot we set up for the private firework show was the best one yet! The barge was directly across from the hotel and as you got to witness the firework show and Blues festival this year was top notch. Thanks for the glowing review!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We made a trip to Portland in June 2014 for business and pleasure. This was a road trip, so we were taking our Golden Retriever. She only stays at a Kimpton. Of the three Kimpton Hotels in Portland, we chose Riverplace due to its beautiful location on the riverfront and easy access to downtown Portland. You can easy walk to many sections of town or use the traveler friendly local transportation.

This hotel is unbelievably well managed. All staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Kimpton staff are usually this way, but the staff at RiverPlace go beyond the typical experience. We cannot say enough about the staff at this hotel. We simply found them to be as hospitable as if you were staying with family.

The hotel had recently began a small food and drink bar on the riverfront walkaway. The staff there were very friendly to everyone, even those just passing by.

Our room overlooking the inside courtyard and river was fantastic, in excellent condition and very nicely appointed.

We highly recommend a trip to Portland and we especially encourage prospective travelers to stay at RiverPlace Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are the most desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
I just love that your golden only stays at Kimpton's! Best comment ever! Thanks for bringing her to experience the RiverPlace.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing