We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected better with a top Trip Advisor rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I can't fault the service. The front desk staff and bellhops were all very nice and helpful. If service was it, I would highly recommend. But the hotel itself is a little worn. Our room was small and cramped for the money. The location is pretty--right on the water, but it is a bit out of the town center, so you need to walk or drive almost anywhere. For the cost, I would expect more. I would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelPAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

wow, disappointed...rooms small, courtroom view is a wall of other rooms,bathroom small, terrible shower, good bed however Retro decor may be ok for some. Stale odor, wine at 5 PM suggest you skip.....overall very disappointed.

Room Tip: quiet rooms, air conditioner good....................................
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

I am so sorry you felt this way about your recent visit. We offer some of the largest guestrooms in the city and in my opinion some of the best views. I wish I could turn back the clock and make your visit to Portland a much more memorable one.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Location was perfect, water view, walking distance to shops, restaurants. Room was lovely, staff friendly and helpful.. We would definitely stay here again. Restaurant for breakfast was very good with a good view.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Kimpton brand is a bit quirky with decor but they are continuing the tradition of quality Riverplace is known for. We've stayed there many times and part of that decision is based on the fact that it is hard to beat the location on the river, close-by but not in the central business district. Prices have also changed and maybe that is true across the industry but it seems like a lot given what other high-end hotels are charging nearby, including their other two properties. We always enjoy Riverplace but the previous decor was more to our liking. Simplicity & elegance has given way to a heavy, male, "let's tie in to some of Portland's history" over-the-top aesthetic. Such a large expense to provide a look most of us would consider overdone and bulky. The spacious rooms seem smaller. That being said, the staff is excellent, the afternoon casual wine event is lovely, and we will continue to stay there, if we can get in for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: A view of the river is nice but all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Walters43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and had booked a great river view room. Other than the maddening heatwave in Portland, everything was fine except: 1) There's an overlap between Reception and Concierage in that when we were trying to check in, the receptionist was taking an inappropriate amount of time helping one guest with his schedule, resulting in a check-in wait of ten minutes! We also noticed that when we had luggage ready to depart the hotel, the two bellboys were nowhere to be found; one of them was chatting it up with a guest and unaware of our wait. In the restaurant at breakfast, a waitress with the best of attitude did not seem to be aware of our sitting down. In other words, you'd not find this kind of "casual" attitude at a finer hotel. We're used to Uber in cities and RiverPlace apologized several times that taxis that never came to pick us up. All said, though, I'd still choose this hotel over others because of it's perfect location.

Room Tip: Top floor, riverfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanW188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thanks for the feedback. I am sorry about the slow service you received. From the sound of things we could have been better staffed during your recent visit. I promise we will do a much better job upon your next visit. Hope to see you soon.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

On the hotel's defense, we stayed there on a particularly busy summer weekend, which meant very high rates for just an OK room. However, I think even at a better rate and time, we would still have been a bit disappointed.

On the positive side, the hotel has a nice location by the river (although, I think a downtown location is probably better for a visitor), the rooms are comfortable (if rather unexciting), and the staff is generally friendly and tries to be helpful. They offer coffee in the morning and they do complementary wine tastings in the afternoon.

However, I think the hotel needs to work on a number of areas. We were paying $437/night for Room 217, just $5 shy of $500/night when you include taxes and fees. For this price we got a room with no view, right next to a courtyard where a number of parties occurred in which attendees could look directly into our room, forcing us to keep most windows closed. The other windows had a lovely view of the parking lot. When we complained, the hotel offered to give us complementary parking but the fact is that this room was far from a good value.

While the staff was nice, they were often not entirely well trained. Three separate times, I was given directions to locations that proved to be in a different place than the ones marked on our map. Also, after we checked in, we found a bag of dirty socks in our closet from a previous guest. The housekeeper who brought the baby crib (a standard pack'n'play) did not know how to set it up and nearly hit our daughter with it.

Overall, the hotel was average. I will certainly explore other options next time I am in Portland.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a river view (or get low rate) when you make the reservation. Avoid room 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alberto625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

After reading your review I can see how you would be disappointed. We have an all manager meeting today and I will be sure to share your review with our staff. We feel challenged to make everyone's stay a memorable one and clearly we left you disappointed in the value. I promise we will use your feedback to improve upon our services.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

On our first trip to Portland we were unable to book at the Marriott our favorite home away from home and found River Place Hotel on line. On arrival I was excited to see its beautiful location riverside downtown. On entering our room overlooking the Willamette I told my wife "we have a new winner"Until then the nicest stay we have had previously was at the San Francisco Mandarin Oriental top floor corner overlooking both the Bay Bridge,Golden Gate and Alcatraz. They are in second now.If the hospitality,professionalism and attention to detail did not match the room this would be a different review. It did. An effortless joyous stay that ended too soon.We are new to Kimpton but now loyal.

Room Tip: get a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tobyjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Welcome to the Kimpton family! So glad you enjoyed that grand suite and it is now on the top of your list! I am also really excited to hear the service matched the great room with the view. See you soon.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 144 in Portland
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 144 in Portland
1,414 reviews
Downtown
The Duniway Portland, a Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £138 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, with complimentary wireless high speed Internet and DVD players. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing