We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel ... but probably not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Hotel ... but probably not worth the price”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My partner, dog and I stayed here for one night. We were able to stay here because we got a decent deal by booking and paying in advance.

I generally enjoy all Kimpton hotels. RiverPlace is excellent for the following reasons:
- Good location on the river but close to downtown
- Friendly and informative staff
- Great style. Although our king deluxe room was not a super large room, the set-up and design made it feel larger and fashionable.
- Free bikes
- Nice wine reception on the second floor terrace.
- Pet friendly. All the staff were very kind to our pit bull. My only suggestion is that there be better treats available for dogs that are readily available (e.g., on the counter, not behind the counter). Kimpton's Hotel Monaco in Portland makes amazing homemade, organic treats that my dog absolutely loves.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. But, the price point is higher than it should be, in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoLeesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks for the 5 star review. No problem on upgrading those dog treats. I know Chef Kyle at the RedStar and will be sure to steal his dog treat recipe! Hope to see you, your partner, and your lovely dog soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,387
    242
    60
    14
    15
See reviews for
355
811
91
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I wanted to stay here but the price of $350 was too steep and they were sold out anyway. I had to check it out since we were nearby at the Oregon Rail Heritage Center to see what we missed. The seaside-style exterior of the building is charming and the locale on the river is very pretty although it is not peaceful due to being in downtown and having lots of traffic and roadways present. The entrance of the hotel has that air-freshener type smell (I prefer just smelling clean air). The doorman/valet gave a friendly greeting. I am glad we stayed in Hillsboro, the downtown has too much traffic, congestion, and high prices.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nJOYing_Lif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks for the review. Sorry that the Portland traffic and prices effected the stay in such a negative way. I would have to say our hotel location maybe the quietest in downtown since we are just removed from the downtown core and situated right on the river. I really wish we could have provided a quieter setting for you. Safe travels.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I can't fault the service. The front desk staff and bellhops were all very nice and helpful. If service was it, I would highly recommend. But the hotel itself is a little worn. Our room was small and cramped for the money. The location is pretty--right on the water, but it is a bit out of the town center, so you need to walk or drive almost anywhere. For the cost, I would expect more. I would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelPAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

wow, disappointed...rooms small, courtroom view is a wall of other rooms,bathroom small, terrible shower, good bed however Retro decor may be ok for some. Stale odor, wine at 5 PM suggest you skip.....overall very disappointed.

Room Tip: quiet rooms, air conditioner good....................................
See more room tips
Green Features: very, environmentally friendly...............................................
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
I am so sorry you felt this way about your recent visit. We offer some of the largest guestrooms in the city and in my opinion some of the best views. I wish I could turn back the clock and make your visit to Portland a much more memorable one.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Location was perfect, water view, walking distance to shops, restaurants. Room was lovely, staff friendly and helpful.. We would definitely stay here again. Restaurant for breakfast was very good with a good view.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Kimpton brand is a bit quirky with decor but they are continuing the tradition of quality Riverplace is known for. We've stayed there many times and part of that decision is based on the fact that it is hard to beat the location on the river, close-by but not in the central business district. Prices have also changed and maybe that is true across the industry but it seems like a lot given what other high-end hotels are charging nearby, including their other two properties. We always enjoy Riverplace but the previous decor was more to our liking. Simplicity & elegance has given way to a heavy, male, "let's tie in to some of Portland's history" over-the-top aesthetic. Such a large expense to provide a look most of us would consider overdone and bulky. The spacious rooms seem smaller. That being said, the staff is excellent, the afternoon casual wine event is lovely, and we will continue to stay there, if we can get in for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: A view of the river is nice but all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Riverplace has typical practices for hotels today. Guests appreciate and expect to see hotels taking the lead on environmental responsibility.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walters43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and had booked a great river view room. Other than the maddening heatwave in Portland, everything was fine except: 1) There's an overlap between Reception and Concierage in that when we were trying to check in, the receptionist was taking an inappropriate amount of time helping one guest with his schedule, resulting in a check-in wait of ten minutes! We also noticed that when we had luggage ready to depart the hotel, the two bellboys were nowhere to be found; one of them was chatting it up with a guest and unaware of our wait. In the restaurant at breakfast, a waitress with the best of attitude did not seem to be aware of our sitting down. In other words, you'd not find this kind of "casual" attitude at a finer hotel. We're used to Uber in cities and RiverPlace apologized several times that taxis that never came to pick us up. All said, though, I'd still choose this hotel over others because of it's perfect location.

Room Tip: Top floor, riverfront
See more room tips
Green Features: Portland is trying to become the world's number one ecological city.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanW188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for the feedback. I am sorry about the slow service you received. From the sound of things we could have been better staffed during your recent visit. I promise we will do a much better job upon your next visit. Hope to see you soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing