We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were treated like Royalty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We were treated like Royalty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2009

This was our first time at the Riverplace and it won't be our last. We stayed for three nights in early March and would go back to this hotel is a second. The front end and valet staff were attentive and cheerful and the check in and bell service was quick and efficient. The room we had was clean and VERY nicely appointed. What I noticed most about the room was the lack of outside noise, and the coolest thing about the room was definitely the "Bed Menu" - It was a card with a selection of different pillows (soft to firm and different shapes) and blanket types that you could select from and the cleaning staff would make up you bed based on your selections. The hotel itself is centrally located in town on the river and has the city boardwalk outside the rear entrance so morning runs or walks with the family (or dog) in a safe environment was readily available. Our primary goal during the day was to shop and again, the hotel is located within walking distance of several quality stores and restaurants - and the staff recommendations and directions were very helpful and accurate. We were travelling with our teenage daughter so going into the hotel lounge to relax after shopping could have been a problem except the hotel has set up a sitting nook by the fireplace in the lobby where you can sit in comfort and the lounge staff will come and serve you with the full drink and food menu. We booked on line and found the best value for our room (One bedroom suite with separate living room with sofabed - Courtyard view) was the "pay now" option - the room wound up costing us $175 per night for a suite that would have easily been $300 in some other properties. At the end of our stay, we really didn't want to leave and will be back in the future. The only thing you should know is there is no gym in the hotel, but you have complete access to a high end gym located about a half a block down the road.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydazeVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,330
    230
    58
    13
    15
See reviews for
341
774
85
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

Riverplace is an elegant, warm, welcoming, better than home away from home! nestled on the waterfront near some great shops and directly West of Mount Hood!
So many options of close enough to walk to restaurants and enjoying the outdoors!
The rooms are a lovely mix of thoughtful decor, and amenties that were unexpected. The residential suites include everything one would need as well as full-size frontloading washer and dryer! Loved the layout where we stayed...the bedrooms removed to one corner of the suite so any activity in the living area would not interfere with privacy and rest.
All staff members here at Riverplace were exceptionally welcoming and helpful from valet parking to check-in to escort to the room. They love what they are doing, and it is refreshing to stay at such a friendly upscale hotel. The general manager, Dave Murray, sincerely cares that you have the best experience ever, and that culture is carried through the entire staff and the restaurant and bar in-house.
My only complaint is that we were not able to stay longer due to business we had to attend to out of state. But we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bleonha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

"Someplace nicer than home that I didn't want to leave." I've heard travelers utter these words, and here I've finally found that place on my own. The Riverplace in Portland is about as comfortable as home yet on the waterfront in downtown Portland. Our suite had everything I could want amenity wise and was clean quiet and comfortable.

There is usually live Jazz in the bar on weekends and there is a nice restaurant with a sweeping view of the waterfront.

If there is a downside - it's the $28.00 Valet parking, or the $15.00 per night self parking down the street. You might be use to that - I'm not.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bfrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

i enjoyed the kindness of the staff and the promp check in for the rooms.
also the view in the room was charming to look at the beatiful warmth of how kind everyone was to me i will definetly go again the amentities was fun and nice to have personal treatment for your stay away from home
what i liked best is the comfort of my room with all the amenities.
and the least liked was my food at the bar restaurant was undercooked but had friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blanketBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the RiverPlace Hotel in Portland for a combination of business and pleasure trip. The hotel lobby was decorated beautifully with a very Northwest and upscale feel. The staff were friendly and helpful. We got an awesome price for our Parlor Suite through Travel Ticker and it was well worth the price. We ordered room service, which arrived in the time stated and it's available 24 hours a day. We also ate at the Three Degress Restaurant for dinner on Friday night. While the waiter was excellent, the service was a little slow (we attribute it to the day before Valentine's Day). Nice suite, comfortable bed, with a flat panel tvs and Bose radio and CD player.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lululouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

My husband and I (and our dog) stayed at Riverplace Hotel for one night in January 2009. The staff was very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived until we checked out the next day. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was a very nice, comfortable, spacious room with modern decor. The non-refundable pet fee was, we felt, a bit high - and it was not stated on the website so we didn't know how much it would add until after we'd made our reservation. However, we did receive a dog welcome package that included food/water bowls, bottled water, and some dog treats. Valet parking was also quite expensive - next time we stay here we'll park in the parking garage down the block to save money. We did not eat in the hotel's restaurant, however we did order room service which was delivered promptly and the food was fresh and good. The hotel is located right along the river in downtown Portland. There is a boardwalk along the river behind the hotel that is great for walking, running, etc. There are many small businesses along the boardwalk next to the hotel - wine bars, cafes, spas, hair salons, art galleries, restaurants, etc.

  • Liked — friendly staff, pet-friend hotel
  • Disliked — high pet fee and valet parking fee
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sazoo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herndon, virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

We had a river view room and the weather was sunny!

It is perfectly equipped for business stays; my husband had to do quite a bit of business during our stay, and with the exception of no in room ethernet connection, every luxury was available for the business traveler; huge in-room desk, large tv with dvd player, fabulously receptive and accommodating staff.

For a lovely getaway, this hotel was just perfect. The restaurant, Three Degrees has excellent service and food. The bar is very pretty and very inviting. There is a delicious pitcher of fresh water in the foyer with cut fruits for interest, and excellent valet service. Valet is a spendy $26 a day if that's allright with you. We loved it. We called ahead for our car each time we needed it and there it was when we came downstairs.

Best of all, The Bed. Aaaah, this bed was a dreamy, sumptuous, delectable, fabulously beyond comfortable experience. I will always remember how fantastic this bed felt. Clean, loaded with pillows, and a feather bed which just absorbed me completely. We could not stop talking to about how comfortable the bed was as we lay there. You can order up extra pillows from a "Pillow Menu" on your bed of virtually every size, shape, filling and purpose to customize your sleep need.

The staff was warm, friendly, helpful, and classy.

Definitely the favorite for us.

  • Liked — All The Extras; luxury bed set up, valet service, business accommodations
  • Disliked — $26/day valet
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank herndon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing