We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a romantic place to spend the night with the love of my life!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Olympia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a romantic place to spend the night with the love of my life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

I found RiverPlace while searching for romantic places in Portland. This was the spot. Our room was on the second floor, which lead to the roof with a view. My wife and I stayed up there for a few hours watching the sunset, drinking wine, listening to the sounds, and smelling the air. The hotel staff provided a dessert while we celebrated our 18th anniversary. The room was clean and quiet. What a great night sleep. We didnt hear people walking the halls and we didnt hear doors close. There was a couple who just got married and the next morning we met a man who was in a wedding party. Upon our return home, we made reservations for our 19th anniversary. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oakbrook01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    234
    58
    13
    15
See reviews for
345
781
85
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

We recently returned from a 5 night stay at RiverPlace and found the service to be impeccable. Our room was immaculate and mostly comfortable except for the occasional on/off whir of the air-conditioning unit L'Occitane bath products and soft robes added to our pleasure. Our room faced a "city view," which made sleep difficult due to the sounds of traffic, so we requested a quieter courtyard view. And, although the view was disappointing, the room was quiet and peaceful. Everyday from 4pm to 7pm Happy Hour is held inside the bar or outside on the patio, both venues offer panoramic views of the Willamette River. Food choices -- organic salads, "penne" pasta, fresh codfish with cole slaw and chips, to name a few, were delicious. Happy Hour house wine and imported draft beer were perfect accompaniments. Breakfast served in the Three Degrees Restaurant also overlooking the river was equally appealing serving cups of juicy fresh berries and dinner-plate-size pancakes to satisfy the most discriminating of guests. The quality of the food, the ambiance, and commanding views of the river proved so inviting that we ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel during our entire stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutiful Daughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Our room had a great view of the river. The staff was really helpful with every request. The hotel's restaurant had a great menu (with a lot of breakfast options) Overall, I thought it was a great value in a perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copperpenny22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

This was my first time visiting Portland, and staying at the RiverPlace Hotel helped make it a wonderful vacation. Our room exceeded expectation--great armchair and ottoman for reading, a spacious desk and super comfortable leather desk chair, huge flatscreen TV, refrigerator, and deep tub (great for baths) made our stay very comfortable (you can also order custom pillows). We also enjoyed the pretty courtyard on the second floor and using the free bikes available to ride up and down the river walk. What made this hotel stand out for me in particular, however, was the excellent service. Every staff member we encountered was very friendly and eager to help, coming up with creative solutions to meet our travel needs. I will definitely be coming to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mskathlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

The Waterfront Blues Festival in Portland is one of the largest west of the Mississippi. This is our 18th year staying at the RiverPlace. All our friends stay there too during the Blues Festival. This year we brought our adopted Greyhound, Fran. We were pleased to find out the front desk would pet site for a few hours daily. We found the employees to be excellent and in fact we have visited with several of them over the years. It is nice to always see a friendly face.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tere08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed here while attending the Portland Blues Festival, and it was extremely convenient! The service staff was so helpful in changing our train tickets, along with providing us with food donations for the festival. The bar was fun, and the room quite comfy and lush.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyDjango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

Great rooms. Attentive service. Wonderful location. Good restaurant. Free bike availability nice touch

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbmf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing