We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
Ranked #63 of 139 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel several times when we travel out of Portland. We use the Park and Fly option. But I have to say that we won't stay again.
We flew back into Portland on Dec. 28th at 10:15 PM, we were left waiting at the shuttle platform with many others for about 40 minutes in the cold. When we finally got there they didn't really care. We were given a room on 5th floor. When we got there the door was standing open and there was a strong chemical smell. We carefully entered the open room and called, they said they would move us. We were moved to another room in a different hall, the smell was better, but our heat didn't work. Our room was 62 degrees at 3 AM. I was so tired I didn't want to move again. After all of that, they gave us a $5.00 coupon off something at the hotel. One employee even told us that the bad smell has been going on for about 6 months, but they don't know what it is. Really? So you continue to put customers in that wing? Anyway, my husband asked me to never book there again. If they had even tried it would have helped.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nwgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPDXStu, Manager at Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Greetings nwgirl58,

Please allow me to offer our sincere apologies regarding the difficulties during your stay with us. I feel terrible that this was your impression, as it is an absolute departure from what we pride ourselves on most, excellent guest service. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel, so that we may gather more information.

Warm Regards,

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    233
    146
    83
    34
See reviews for
148
159
89
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had an early flight out on Christmas Eve with a baby and so we wanted to stay the night prior close to the airport to avoid a longer travel day. It worked out perfectly. The room rate included up to 10 days of parking so we could leave our car and the shuttle service was great. The hotel itself is a bit dated but the beds were very comfortable and the staff was friendly. We needed two rooms and they accommodated our request to be close together. We had dinner and drinks in the Bar area so the guys could see the football game. The food and drink prices were on the high side but everyone's food was done well. We will stay here again if we fly out of Portland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRStamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPDXStu, Manager at Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Greetings DRStamp,

We are pleased that you were able to join us on our Park and Fly program during the holidays! We hope you had a great holiday, and look back to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best,

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Sheraton at Portland airport provided the worst experience ever. Initially, the front desk agent, DJ, assigned the rooms in 2 different floors (level 1 and 5) when there are many other rooms available. When we requested to have the 2 rooms to be on the same floor, as close as possible, they assigned 2 rooms at 2 separate end of the hall way. We walked into one of the room, and the room was OUT OF ORDER, where the ceiling in the washroom was falling off ----- this was WORST EXPERIENCE EVER. After, we went to front desk to notify the agent, DJ, about the room was in a terrible condition, he was even laughing about the matter, not even apologize about this.... He then gave us 2 rooms side by side - that means they could have assigned 2 side by side room from the beginning but the purposely gave us the 2 rooms on 2 separate end, and one was even out of order. We talked to other agent from the hotel and found out that out of order room should be blocked from the system, which gives us plenty of reason to believe that this incident was not a mistake. The employee named DJ was processing the whole series of incidents on purpose. We were promised to receive a apology email from the manager on duty but it's been more than a week now and we have received NOTHING. I will not recommend anyone staying at this Sheraton as the service standard was even worse than a hostel, it is not acceptable for Sheraton's standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Airport Sheraton in Portland twice in the last week on our way to and from a visit with family in San Diego. We used Park and Fly. It is a fantastic hotel, well appointed and comfortable. The service is simply great, and we thank Rose Bishop, Judy at the front desk and the shuttle driver for their superior friendliness, professionalism, and assistance. "Top Notch" hotel...it's our "go to" spot in Portland. Thanks Sheraton.

Laura P.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Arrived and were checked in promptly and given our keys. We redeemed a gift certificate which they gracious extended for us so that it didn't expire. Our room was on the 5th floor which is the "club" floor. We were not entitled to club benefits which are a complimentary breakfast and evening cocktail hour. The room was large with king size bed.

It included a desk with a office chair, large arm chair, large closet with bathrobe, complimentary bottled water, coffee maker, large screen tv. The bathroom was fairly small and had a single sink.

The building is fairly old, but has been kept up to date. The exercise room is essentially aerobic equipment and the pool is quiet large. The hallways are very wide so that guests with luggage are not squeezed when passing each other.

The airport shuttle service runs every 15 minutes and is complimentary. We also left our car in their parking lot for 7 days at no extra charge which was a wonderful savings!

Room Tip: shop the price as room rates change depending on occupancy at this hotel as well as others in Portla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrRodgers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukie, OR
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have been working with my company for just under a year, and we've hosted 3 meetings so far at this hotel. Ossiy Strickland is professional, friendly, and so incredibly knowledgeable about the property and any issues that come up. Even when I've been stressed, he's always there as a calm voice ready to solve any last minute snafus. This last meeting, I had the pleasure of working with Rose Bishop as well, who was all smiles even though I completely threw her for a loop when my meeting let out an hour and a half ahead of schedule. If you end up having a meeting here, the staff will make sure you're taken care of, and they do it with a smile.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I stay here when I have early morning flights. Not only is it always a pleasant stay but the staff is always top-notch, especially the morning shuttle driver.

On my most recent stay I received a welcome treat with a handwritten note from the hotel's GM, that, even as a SPG platinum, went above and beyond. It would be hard to convince me to stay anywhere else.

Keep up the great work!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sheepssleeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPDXStu, Manager at Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for the kind words! We are happy that you enjoyed yourself. We appreciate your continued patronage to Starwood Hotels! Thank you for sharing, we hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#38 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel

Property: Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
Address: 8235 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Portland
#54 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel is conveniently located just a mile from the airport terminal and is accessible by our 24 hour complimentary shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portland
Portland Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing