We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend getaway”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #25 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend getaway”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We visited the Heathman for a quick one night getaway for a birthday celebration last weekend, from Seattle. We were greeted by a charming, helpful and friendly concierge who checked us in, took us to our room and even got us ice. The room had all the bells and whistles for a luxurious stay from the delicious french press coffee to the L'Occitance bath products to an incredibly comfortable feather bed. The decor is fun and plush, definitely makes you feel pampered. We topped the experience off the the high tea in the delightul tea room, we couldn't have asked for anything more. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone seeing comfort and luxury when visiting Portland.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kes654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,206
    460
    188
    83
    36
See reviews for
330
821
110
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Due to the Alaska computer challenge last Saturday, we didn't get into Portland until after 11:00pm. We called the Heathman and they were able to get us a room. When we arrived (exhausted), our beds were turned down and we were asleep within minutes. The next day, the concierge helped us look at the ODOT trip check, to determine which pass had the least amount of snow, so we could travels safely back to Bend. Thanks again to the staff at the Heathman!!

Room Tip: Go for the symphony suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I had a great time during my recent stay at the Heathman Hotel. The hotel was a great place to unwind and relax with friends on the weekend and distract me from the stressful week I had planned ahead of me. The hotel staff was great, and very friendly not only when we checked into the hotel, but when we entered and exited throughout our stay. The rooms were very nicely furnished, and even the pullout bed on which I slept felt more comfortable than the bed I regularly sleep on. I was a big fan of the Hotel's location-- it is situated just a few short blocks away from the waterfront and makes you feel like you are in the heart of the city. And to top things off, my party had nothing but great experiences with the staff of the restaurant. We went there for breakfast on the morning of our departure, and were promptly seated even though we had a large group. Overall, our stay a the Heathman was very enjoyable, and I wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend the hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your kind words. I will pass on these great comments to the staff. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the staff. The staff prides themselves on making every guest feel special. Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for assistance.

Best Regards,

Linda Reagan
Director of Guest Services
lreagan@heathmanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle Creek, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Our room was wonderful, the staff was amazing, always ready to make our stay as special as it could possibly be. The decor is beautiful and something that shouldn't be missed when visiting Portland. The location downtown is perfect no matter what brings you to the city. We highly recommend you don't miss the chance to experience The Heathman, we will definetely return and tell all our friends and family to do the same.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami15J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your comments and feedback from your recent visit to The Heathman Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Portland. Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for assistance.

Best Regards,

Linda Reagan
Director of Guest Services
lreagan@heathmanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Exemplary service from the time I checked in. Front desk staff and concierge very helpful with getting me directions around the city especially when there was roads closed off because of a marathon. Had mentioned that I was looking for a massage and they checked the local spas to find me one. The bottle of wine and bath salts were a great bonus from the general manager. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katieofarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Thank you for choosing The Heathman Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let others know how much you liked it here. We hope to see you again soon. Please feel free to contact me for any assistance.

Thank you,

Linda Reagan
Director of Guest Services
lreagan@heathmanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Wow. A few friends and I stayed downtown to run the Portland Shamrock run last week and stayed at this great hotel! The front desk staff was so wonderful. They helped us get a last minute breakfast reservation for our large group without batting an eyelash! The rooms were beautiful, clean and personalized with a welcome card and chocolates. We felt like royalty with the fluffy robes and slippers. I am also a huge fan of the products they provided for us in the rooms, l'occitane is my favorite!

In all we were able to have a great friends weekend downtown, starting with our arrival and ending with our fabulous gourmet breakfast! Thank You Heathman Hotel! I will most definitely be recommending your hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audreyrichardsrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Stayed in the Heathman Hotel with friends and family this past weekend and had a great time. The hotel itself is very nicely put together with every detail thought of. Breakfast the next morning was exceptional with a great wait staff even though the restaurant was very busy. I would highly recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#19 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing