We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic hotel”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #23 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
DC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great historic hotel”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The Heathman lobby isn't that impressive but the wood-paneled room off of the lobby looks like it belongs in an English manor. Rooms vary and although mine was a decent size (it was a corner room), the layout was a bit weird. There was a complete bathroom and then a separate sink/large vanity near the closet. The shower is very, very hard to figure out how to operate and there isn't a sign explaining how to turn the water on/off (pull the handle out from the wall). Although the hotel prides itself on excellent service, the clerks at the front desk often weren't familiar with hotel policies and procedures.

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank YuppieonaShoeString
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    477
    196
    83
    37
See reviews for
341
848
115
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hays, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Loved this hotel, it's location, service & amenities! Would stay here over & over (have twice), plus the Cacoa boutique chocolate store is located in hotel, along w/ an amazing restaurant & bar! If you sign up for the Portland walking your, it meets @ the Heathman & is one of the best ways to see the city! I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elodiejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

The Heathman is one of the classiest places to stay. They do it right. You are greeted at the front door with attentiveness and it never stops. The hotel prides itself on being very attentive and professional. I was so impressed with the coffee and tea service in the room, turn down service, cleanliness and just all the little details. The beds, pillows and comforter were perfect. The rooms are worth the price because it's not just a room. It's an experience. The restaurant is another thing. Not impressed with the restaurant at all but the hotel is fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We have stayed here a few times and we are always impressed with the level of service. We have a company party here every year for the holidays, and they treat us very well.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room. There is a separate sink area with the closet that allows for more room gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carousel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We drove to Portland from Seattle to meet friends from out of town for dinner and booked a room at the Heathman. We have stayed there over the years and have enjoyed it. This visit we found a very different hotel. Our room was very small and drab--the bathroom was the size of an airplane lavatory with a door that opened in--making it even smaller. Perhaps acceptable in NYC but not Portland Oregon.

Our room was not cleaned properly. Our friend who was staying on the same floor found a rotten Kiwi fruit in the teapot and gum under the desk.

When we tried to take showers after driving all day the shower didn't work--the handle was broken and falling off--so it would not turn on the shower. When we called the desk instead of solving the problem they gave us instructions re: using their shower and would not listen to us--very frustrating. Eventually someone came up and explained they have to trouble shoot the showers because they are difficult to use. Then replace them!!! Why do these kids think we care about the explanation. Fix the problem. They said the maintenance man could only come up in the next 15 minutes--then he was off for the evening. OR we could change rooms. We now had 20 minutes until our dinner date with no time to repack and change rooms. The hotel employee seemed very inconvenienced by our plight and impatient. We were looking forward to a nice evening and now it was not so nice. We had to dress and go to dinner as-is without being able to relax and shower. The hotel employees didn't seem very concerned until we checked out. We were told we would receive a discount on the room for our trouble which NEVER happened. Sent a feedback card never heard a word. We will never go back.

Room Tip: Grill the person taking your reservation. Get their name. Ask about the mattress and the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lori v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear Lori,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay. Our standard procedure in this event would be to attempt to correct the issue when it is convenient for you and if there is not an acceptable resolution we would offer to move you to another room. The interaction with our staff member with regards to your comments about the shower is certainly not typical and I will be sure to raise your experience with our entire service team as a training exercise. I have passed on the concerns about the shower and the cleanliness to the appropriate departments.
I would like to discuss this matter further with you and I am sorry I have not been able to reach you after a few attempts.
Please feel free to contact me at lreagan@heathmanhotel.com or by calling 503-241-4100.

Thank you,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2011

My fiance and I went down to Portland for a shopping get away. We stayed at the Heathman and our accomadations were excellent. Once we got there, the front desk Agent helped us with dinner recommendations and called ahead to make our reservations. We eaten at the Heathman as well and its a great dinner experience, but we wanted to try something new. They definitely know where all the great foodie spots are in town. The stay at the Heathman was definitely the cherry on top. The room was very comfortable and it was so nice to sit around and relax in the morning. I definitely recommend staying at this property. Its one of the best downtown Hotels in Portland.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear Matt S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your recent visit to our great city and hotel. I am so glad to hear you had a great trip and we look forward to having you as our guest on your next visit to Portland.

Best regards,

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Its unfortunate that this hotel will give discounts to American AAA holders but not Canadian Automobile Club Card holders (e.g. BCAA). As a result I have decided not to stay here and will book somewhere else.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lhandtoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 142 in Portland
1,369 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 142 in Portland
2,097 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 142 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing