We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent Guest”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I travel to Portland on a monthly basis, and I always stay at the Heathman. The staff is warm and gracious. They love telling guests about their city and where to go and what to do. The rooms are warm and inviting, and the restaurant / lounge are a wonderful place to eat, drink, meet friends and of course, relax. The location is great for those with a car or not. It is truly my home away from home when I am in Portland.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Brian P,

We love that you make the Heathman your home away from home. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please let the team know if there is anything we can do to assist you while you are in Portland. We will see you soon.

Best Regards,

Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,106)
There are newer reviews for The Heathman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,765 - 1,771 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed 4 nights for business. Room was perfectly sized for one person and the desk functional. Truly appreciate the outstanding free wireless internet, the french press coffee/tea, full-size iron/ironing board. I was asked for my choice of regular or Tempurpedic bed at check-in. Love the Tempurpedic. It is one of those small things that can entice you to return. Lovely reading space on second floor (also excellent wireless) surrounded by great books signed by visiting authors including Nobel Laureates. Did not eat at restaurant but the chocolate store adjoining was fantastic. Was able to pop down to by gifts for visits that were reasonably priced and interesting. The drinking chocolate was a true treat also. The location was excellent. $10 cab to OHSU and a great 10-15 minute walk to the Pearl District for dinners. Staff are great ambassadors for Portland and gave perfect directions for walking. All of the factors make staying easy, pleasurable, and relaxing. Top-notch, well run, welcoming hotel.

Room Tip: Tempurpedic bed
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aequanimitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed here for a week on business. We were upgraded to a suite, which had a sitting room. Some rooms on the 8th floor and below face the mural on the building next store, so no view, but the room was clean, well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. Outstanding location and awesome, if spendy, restaurant. I could see how some rooms could be cramped, so if you are looking for more room, consider reserving more than the most basic room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We were booked here for a group stay/meeting. The hotel is quite nice, and the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome, and the service is great. Rooms are comfortable, although as noted in otehr reviews, the bathrooms are on the small side (they are a LITTLe bit bigger than an airplane restroom)

the knock here is the business support. Wi-fi is erratic at best, and even with diffferent access points for room, mezzanie, and lobby, service is spotty at best. Not sure how much is the buiulding vs just having it be undersized... when several folks trying to use it slows to dial up speed at best.

So if you're staying here as a tourist... it's great. If you're expected to get some work done...well, there are starbucks within a few blocks

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you for submitting your comments. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the staff and service; the staff here are the best in Portland. I am so sorry to hear that you had some issues with the Wi-Fi. We recently upgraded our wireless services and have had minimal issues with connectivity. Our wireless service offers 768KB complimentary and 1.5MB for a nominal upgrade fee. Please feel free to contact me personally about this. I would be happy to discuss this further with you. I would love to have you as a guest in the future and would work with the I.T. department to ensure you have the connectivity that you need to work while you are here. We have many great amenities and options available for our business travelers and were voted as “One of the Top Business Hotels in America” by Entrepreneur Magazine.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Heathman is a wonderful hotel located in the Portland central business district.
The rooms are not large but ample and luxurious.
The staff are very helpful, it's near the transit lines and several very good restaurants as well as the one in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Tardawg,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and Portland.

Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The staff was very helpful and friendly. They always greeted us by name. We booked an executive king suite. The room was comfortable. You have a choice of the type of bed when oyu book. (very nice touch). Although we had a corner room with nice wrap around windows, we were in Room 405, above the hotel gym. The room was very quiet at night and no street noise, however the TV from below in the gym was blaring on a Sunday morning. I would therefore recommend the same line of room but on a higher floor.

NIce Jazz playing on Friday night, and don't miss the chocolate shop attached to the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not book Room 405, which is above the hotel gym and you can hear the TV blaring in the morning...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear ksg12,

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. The "05" rooms are my favorite rooms, they are spacious and the view is great. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us while in Portland. I do apologize that you were able to hear the television from the fitness suite. The fitness suite is slated for a renovation this year and some soundproofing will be added. Until this project is complete I will make sure the staff is checking this room frequently to ensure the television is kept at an acceptable level.
Thank you again for your feedback and we can't wait to have you as our guest again soon.

Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I recently Stayed one night at the lovely Heathman Hotel, it was Jaunuary 7th and a special day to me and a few friends. We were treated with smiling and extremely accommodating staff, and a beautiful, well decorated,CLEAN room!!
I am very impressed with the check-in staff who helped us to our room and explained the amenities of the hotel without being overly informative. The bar staff that evening was so sweet and attentive. we had an extra bed brought to the room that night by a lady Named Dora and she was absolutely a joy to speak with. Not only did she arrange the bed, but brought extra towels and slippers for us all with the biggest smile on her face.
Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Make sure you are specific with what you want, the Hotel has different types of suites, and beds as...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,390 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 144 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#19 of 144 in Portland
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £151 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing