We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brief encounter”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #25 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A brief encounter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Only stayed one night and was quite tired from Amtrax so can't give a full review. However the reception area was very nice as was the room. The room was well decorated and clean and had great coffee. Mini bar had plenty of choice if you are willing to spend that sort of money! Wandered down to bar area but was difficult to see where you could just get a drink from as found restaurant and lounge area where a jazz band where playing , but nowhere obvious for just a drink. Very near train station which was good for us. Seemed to be in a good location but we didn't wander far and left early the next day. Room was very good for relaxing in. Staff helpful and friendly. It is expensive but then it a higher end hotel , not overpriced. Would like to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmurraymint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Cmurraymint,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and pass on your feedback, even after a long trip. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the staff. I am sorry to hear that you did not find our Marble Bar when you went downstairs to get a drink. We have a great Tea Lounge where there is live jazz; we also have a Marble Bar that is around the corner that is a little quieter for a relaxing drink. On your next stay we will make sure you know where that is located. I hope you have time to explore Portland a bit on your next stay as well. Let us know when you plan to return and our concierge will plan some great activities for you.

Best Regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    454
    184
    80
    36
See reviews for
323
815
108
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

What a great Hotel. (Ok, we were lucky and recieved an unexpected upgrade to the Junior Suite) but every aspect of the Heathman was beyond reproach. Our room was top notch. I appreciate a Tempur-pedic mattress, truly I do. The staff were professional and gracious without ever feeling stuffy. The breakfast was wonderful after an evening on the town. Loaction cannot be better.
As you walk through the door of the Heathman you feel as if your are being transformed to an earlier age of elegance. Be sure to have a glass of wine and listen to a little late night jazz before you head off to bed. I reccomend highly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewportOregonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear NewportOregonian,

I am so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the upgrade as well. We have many great room types including 4 new one bedroom suites that were just added to our room collection. It is great that you had a chance to enjoy the jazz with some wine while you were here; we also have a nice wine reception in our library Monday-Thursday evenings. I hope you have an opportunity to enjoy that on your next stay.

Best Regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just had a wonderful two night Girl's weekend in Portland. We drove from Seattle on Friday night, and arrived late...the Heathman had our beds turned down and welcomed us warmly upon our arrival. We had booked a suite for three women, which was perfect for a roomy, comfortable and posh experience. The central location and amazing service of this hotel cannot be beat. We were looking for a spa in the neighborhood, and they found us three last minute appointments. They are on top of any request you have and immediately delivered special pillows and an order in menu when we asked for them. I can't recommend the Heathman strongly enough for anyone looking for a great downtown hotel.

Room Tip: The suites are huge and plush, if you have more than two people, I highly recommend reserving one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kes654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear kes654,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We are so happy you enjoyed your "Girl's Weekend" in Portland and that you liked your suite. We look forward to helping you plan you next get away weekend.

Best Regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Excellent Boutique Hotel in the heart of Portland that emphasizes attention to detail

Pros:
Excellent service top to bottom
Room are very well decorated and well appointed - coffee presses for example
Excellent restaurant in the hotel
Great location in the heart of the city and next to the Concert Hall
Room was immaculate
Quiet given the location

Cons:
Rooms and particularly the Bathrooms are rather small

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDXcoffeetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear PDXCoffeetraveler,

I am so happy to hear you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you had so many Pros to list about your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Best Regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I travel to Portland on a monthly basis, and I always stay at the Heathman. The staff is warm and gracious. They love telling guests about their city and where to go and what to do. The rooms are warm and inviting, and the restaurant / lounge are a wonderful place to eat, drink, meet friends and of course, relax. The location is great for those with a car or not. It is truly my home away from home when I am in Portland.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Brian P,

We love that you make the Heathman your home away from home. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please let the team know if there is anything we can do to assist you while you are in Portland. We will see you soon.

Best Regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed 4 nights for business. Room was perfectly sized for one person and the desk functional. Truly appreciate the outstanding free wireless internet, the french press coffee/tea, full-size iron/ironing board. I was asked for my choice of regular or Tempurpedic bed at check-in. Love the Tempurpedic. It is one of those small things that can entice you to return. Lovely reading space on second floor (also excellent wireless) surrounded by great books signed by visiting authors including Nobel Laureates. Did not eat at restaurant but the chocolate store adjoining was fantastic. Was able to pop down to by gifts for visits that were reasonably priced and interesting. The drinking chocolate was a true treat also. The location was excellent. $10 cab to OHSU and a great 10-15 minute walk to the Pearl District for dinners. Staff are great ambassadors for Portland and gave perfect directions for walking. All of the factors make staying easy, pleasurable, and relaxing. Top-notch, well run, welcoming hotel.

Room Tip: Tempurpedic bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aequanimitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed here for a week on business. We were upgraded to a suite, which had a sitting room. Some rooms on the 8th floor and below face the mural on the building next store, so no view, but the room was clean, well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. Outstanding location and awesome, if spendy, restaurant. I could see how some rooms could be cramped, so if you are looking for more room, consider reserving more than the most basic room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#18 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing